Page 1 of 1

Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 12:22 am
by sybrwookie
His text: "When piloting a Star Destroyer at a battleground system, adds 1 to your Force drains here and at each other battleground system controlled by a Star Destroyer within 2 parsecs of Chiraneau."

Have a look here: https://gemp.starwarsccg.org/gemp-swccg ... jvgi59t946

Turn 8, I deploy him, as a pilot, onto a Star Destroyer to a battleground system. I control the system he is deployed to along with 2 others within 2 parsecs. He does not add to my force drains at that or any other system controlled by a Star Destroyer within 2 parsecs.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 2:49 am
by chrknudsen2
Replay freezes for me on LS turn 8 after revert.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 9:04 am
by sybrwookie
Not sure if there's much of anything I can do about that, is there?

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 9:08 am
by chrknudsen2
No, unfortunately not. Reverts sometimes mess up playback. They also sometimes cause bugs (which is likely why the replay freezes), so the Admiral Chiraneau issue might have been a result of a revert messing something up. I play Admiral Chiraneau myself and have never had a problem with him on GEMP.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 9:26 am
by sybrwookie
Fair enough. A friend and I are just getting back into playing a bit after 20 years of not playing, so we both mess up a LOT and have been very liberal with allowing reverts.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 10:51 am
by arebelspy
chrknudsen2 wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 2:49 am
Replay freezes for me on LS turn 8 after revert.
Whenever a replay freezes you just restart it. It's a problem with your computer, not the replay. Works fine for me.

And it does appear to be a bug. I don't see anything stopping it (like motti v), and no drain bonus cancellers (flip of syc working fine).

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 11:22 am
by chrknudsen2
I did restart and it froze at the same spot. Maybe changing browser would’ve helped, I don’t know.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 11:23 am
by arebelspy
At full speed?

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 11:24 am
by chrknudsen2
Full speed, normal speed, doesn’t matter. I’ll try my other computer.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 12:14 pm
by TacoBill
arebelspy wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 10:51 am
chrknudsen2 wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 2:49 am
Replay freezes for me on LS turn 8 after revert.
Whenever a replay freezes you just restart it. It's a problem with your computer, not the replay. Works fine for me.

And it does appear to be a bug. I don't see anything stopping it (like motti v), and no drain bonus cancellers (flip of syc working fine).
Same. I wonder if there's something going on with flipped SYCFA (which is not something seen very often) that isn't allowing it to stack.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 2:11 pm
by chrknudsen2
Replay didn't freeze on my other computer. :)

There was a bug some time ago where you didn't get the deploy modifier when deploying a Victory-class SD to Death Star system. Then the attempt to fix that made no SDs (or maybe just non-Victory-class SDs) get the deploy modifier. I wonder if something similar is now going on with the SDs not being recognized as such for Chiraneau?

I've also experienced the objective not flipping back at end of turn when using Inklink, so SYCFA just seems to be kinda bug-ridden.

Re: Admiral Chiraneau doesn't seem to work

Posted: May 23rd, 2020, 3:47 pm
by seitaer
chrknudsen2 wrote:
May 23rd, 2020, 2:11 pm
Replay didn't freeze on my other computer. :)

There was a bug some time ago where you didn't get the deploy modifier when deploying a Victory-class SD to Death Star system. Then the attempt to fix that made no SDs (or maybe just non-Victory-class SDs) get the deploy modifier. I wonder if something similar is now going on with the SDs not being recognized as such for Chiraneau?

I've also experienced the objective not flipping back at end of turn when using Inklink, so SYCFA just seems to be kinda bug-ridden.
I had a game a good time ago with inkling where I had two competing end of turn responses, the flip back and maintenance cost, after which the objective didn't flip back the rest of the game. I've never been able to replicate it.

The bug thread is on here somewhere.