Holotable instructions

Everything you need to know as a new player or new person to our site.
Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Holotable instructions

Post by Psychobabble »

install the following files in this order to get holotable working and fully updated.

.83 installer (full installer up to v.17)
large images(258mb - optional but highly recommended)
GTK runtime environment


If you get a .dll error when launching the program, it is almost certainly because you haven't installed gtk.
Last edited by Psychobabble on September 11th, 2008, 7:13 pm, edited 8 times in total.



Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Post by Psychobabble »

This tutorial should get you up and running after installing the program.

Creating decks

Open Holodeck. Then choose File->Open, which will bring up a file selection dialog box. From here you need to open the card data file (.cdf) for the deck you wish to build (either light or dark side).

To add a card, select it from the list of cards, then click "Add card". The card will show up in the deck listing at the bottom. You can add more of the same card by clicking "Add card" again.

You can flag cards as "starting" by clicking on the + symbol underneath "delete card". Cards marked in this way will load in your "starting cards" pile when you load the deck in Holotable. It is suggested that you use this feature for your defensive shields and starting effect.

The arrow buttons control the order of cards in the deck when it loads. Cards at the top of your deck list will be at the bottom of the deck when it is loaded and vice versa. So if you have cards that you will use at the start (such as an Objective, a Starting Interrupt, Effects etc.), it is best to put those cards at the bottom of the deck listing.

You can search for the card you want by typing its name (or part of its name) in the "Name contains" field and clicking enter. You can search for other fields such as "Lore" and "Gametext" in a similar way. If you do not need the advanced search features, you can turn them off by clicking on the "Advanced Search" button. You can also filter the entire list by "Card type" or "Set" by selecting the type you want from the appropriate drop-down menu, at the bottom of the advanced search area.

You can save your deck by choosing File->Save.

Holotable: the basics

Once you've built a deck and saved it, you can load that deck in Holotable. Go to File->Load deck and pick your deck file. By default all cards (except those flagged as starting) will load in your Reserve Deck. This can be changed to loading in hand in Table->Options if you want. It is recommended that you do this to prevent your opponent from possibly seeing your objective before they load their deck.

When playing a game, your opponent cannot see any of the cards in your hand; he can only find out how many cards are there. Your cards will load facedown. Your hand is the blue field at the bottom of the screen.

You can flip the entire stack of cards over by holding the Control key and either right-clicking on the stack or pressing the 'f' key with the cursor over the stack. Flipping the whole stack is not like picking up a stack of cards in real life; it's like individually turning each one of them over. So whichever card was on top is the one that's still on top after the flip.

Now that your cards are faceup, you can look through your stack to find your starting cards. Using the 'n' and 'p' keys to go to the next and previous card in the stack, respectively. When you find one of your starting cards, click on it (and hold), then drag the cursor fully to the 'table' area and release. Your card will move with the cursor. If you want to move a stack of cards, hold Control, then click (and hold) on any of the cards in the stack and drag the cursor to wherever you want the stack to go. A stack is defined as any cards that overlap with the card you click on, plus any that they overlap with, etc.

Once you have some cards on the table, you may want to rotate some of them using the 'r' key while the mouse is over the card you want to rotate. Holding Shift changes the direction of rotation. If you want to straighten up any stack of cards, put the cursor over the stack and press 'c'. To shuffle a stack, put the cursor over it and press 'Shift-s'. You'll see an image appear briefly over the stack, which indicates that it has been shuffled. You should do this to your Reserve Deck before you start playing.

You can manipulate cards in-game in one of two ways. You can either use and remember the key commands (found in Help->Key Reference or use the command window. To open the command window click Table->Command Window. The command window is recommended for first timers, though key commands are quicker if you can remember them!

Getting connected to an opponent

It is possible to play a game against yourself (Shift-q to switch sides), but not as fun for obvious reasons! The easiest way to find an opponent is to connect to the central server. This can be done through Server->Connect. If it does work, you should immediately be prompted for a password. The server is secure and to connect you need to have set up an account at the Holotable forums. You use the same username and password for the server as you did for your forum account (set your username in Table->Options->Connectivity).

Once you've connected you will be waiting in the lobby. This is a good place to wait if you are looking for an opponent. If anyone else connects to the server, the program will flash in your task bar, so you can go and do something else and leave Holotable running in the background. If there is another person there, you can request a game by clicking on their name and hitting "Request game". If they accept, you will be prompted to set a password for the save game for this game and, once both players have done this, you will be in-game.

Once you are connected to your opponent, each player's deck should be loaded. It is very important to have a clear table at this point. Decks should be loaded one at a time; one person should wait until the other person's deck loads before loading theirs. Once decks are loaded, you can begin playing.
Last edited by Psychobabble on November 7th, 2007, 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Shadow 40
Sealed Deck
Sealed Deck
Posts: 299
Joined: November 2nd, 2002, 7:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by Shadow 40 »

Thanks Jeremy!

A couple of friends wanted to switch over Holotable and I won't have to go through it all with them. I'll just guide them to this link! :wink:
Patrick Dinelle
My Decktech's Page

Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Post by Psychobabble »

good :). I should sticky this, last time I posted something like this it got eaten by the forum "archiver".

Ant
Enhanced Product
Enhanced Product
Posts: 709
Joined: February 10th, 2007, 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by Ant »

Thank you for this, installing it all now.

I was going to ask where to find the program too but ya beat me to it.

laetfut
Booster Pack
Booster Pack
Posts: 94
Joined: April 6th, 2007, 12:41 pm

Post by laetfut »

Has anyone using a Linux OS successfully used a Windows Emulator (Wine) to install and run the windows version on their Linux CPU? I ask in particular because some of the latest Holotable updates have not yet been made available in Linux format.

moonkyl
Booster Pack
Booster Pack
Posts: 124
Joined: October 11th, 2006, 12:54 am
Location: Hurst, Tx

Post by moonkyl »

Whenever i click on any of these links, from here or the Force.Net, all i get is "web page cannot be displayed messages".

User avatar
Shadow 13
Member
Posts: 16489
Joined: October 30th, 2002, 6:34 pm
GEMP Username: shadow13

Post by Shadow 13 »

try right-clicking and selecting "save as"
ryan french
rebel strike team founder
two-time washington state champion
rhendon wrote:why not just elect a puppy as president, or mikefrench.

Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Post by Psychobabble »

no, the server is down so these links are currently dead :(

Jim Jerriko
Sealed Deck
Sealed Deck
Posts: 272
Joined: May 23rd, 2005, 4:55 am
Location: I wish I had more time.

Post by Jim Jerriko »

Any idea when it will be back up? Any help needed?

Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Post by Psychobabble »

we're doing all we can but it's largely out of our control (theforce.net hosts the server).

DORTH VADOR
Starter
Starter
Posts: 5
Joined: December 6th, 2007, 6:25 pm

Post by DORTH VADOR »

Good day-

I've gotten all the programs installed but i am afraid it isn't connecting me to the network. Any suggestions?

Thanks
Nobody has gotten a hand job in cargo shorts since 'nam!

User avatar
Darren Pilbeam
Member
Posts: 2077
Joined: September 27th, 2006, 6:11 pm
Location: Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK.

Post by Darren Pilbeam »

You need to go into the Options menu (under Table) and then on the Connectivity tab change the server IP address to www.holotable.com.

You also need to register on the Holotable forum and make sure you use the same Username and password that you use when you try to log in.

If that still doesn't work then the server might be down. If that happens to me I always check the website to see if anyone is logged in and playing a game so at least I know if the problem is on my end or theirs.
Three time UK Champion - 2009, 2010, and 2013

Online League Chairman (emeritus) / UK Flight Leader

Recipient of the Lifetime Acheivement Award (sic) for service to the SWCCG Online Community

Angel Of Death
Starter
Starter
Posts: 9
Joined: November 19th, 2003, 3:58 am
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

Post by Angel Of Death »

Update:

Yesterday saw the release of a Holotable v0.8.2 full installer with VS14 included, and a Large Images installer with VS14 included.
Angel Of Death

Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Post by Psychobabble »

and the people rejoice! Installation is now a simple one .exe install. Untill the next v set/erratas :).

LtPage2
Holotable
Holotable
Posts: 890
Joined: August 18th, 2003, 9:16 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by LtPage2 »

laetfut wrote:Has anyone using a Linux OS successfully used a Windows Emulator (Wine) to install and run the windows version on their Linux CPU? I ask in particular because some of the latest Holotable updates have not yet been made available in Linux format.
Sorry about the very long delay in getting the Linux stuff updated. I added something like 5 or 6 new downloads for Linux users on 1/6. It should all be as up to date as the Windows version now.

Matt

Harpster
Booster Box
Booster Box
Posts: 1166
Joined: January 27th, 2007, 7:37 pm
Holotable username: Harpster
GEMP Username: Sharpy
Contact:

Post by Harpster »

Psychobabble wrote:we're doing all we can but it's largely out of our control (theforce.net hosts the server).
Is there anyway I can contact you so you can walk me through the installation steps with me I am cpu dummy ;p

Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Post by Psychobabble »

Harpster wrote:
Psychobabble wrote:we're doing all we can but it's largely out of our control (theforce.net hosts the server).
Is there anyway I can contact you so you can walk me through the installation steps with me I am cpu dummy ;p
you can email me (think the email link below has it) but have you tried clicking on the three links in the original post in that order? That should download the only three files you need to get the program running. run all three and it's installed with large images (if you have a slow net connection, skip the 2nd one and the prog will still work it just won't look as pretty).

Harpster
Booster Box
Booster Box
Posts: 1166
Joined: January 27th, 2007, 7:37 pm
Holotable username: Harpster
GEMP Username: Sharpy
Contact:

Post by Harpster »

Psychobabble wrote:
Harpster wrote:
Psychobabble wrote:we're doing all we can but it's largely out of our control (theforce.net hosts the server).
Is there anyway I can contact you so you can walk me through the installation steps with me I am cpu dummy ;p
you can email me (think the email link below has it) but have you tried clicking on the three links in the original post in that order? That should download the only three files you need to get the program running. run all three and it's installed with large images (if you have a slow net connection, skip the 2nd one and the prog will still work it just won't look as pretty).


I try to install the holotable and it says the file is incomplete or may have a virus it is Holotable 8.2

Psychobabble
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 2453
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 6:25 am

Post by Psychobabble »

Harpster wrote:I try to install the holotable and it says the file is incomplete or may have a virus it is Holotable 8.2
i've had this issue too, i'll speak to matt to see if he can fix it as it's an odd problem to come up consistently like this.

what's happened is that the file got corrupted while downloading (if you check the file on your computer i can almost guarantee you that it's smaller than 15.19mb and has a blank icon). try downloading it again. If it doesn't work then lmk and I'll try to host an alt link for you to download.

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Guidelines and New Player Info”