What a grievous predicament.

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
Post Reply
Bib Fortuna
DS Region: Endor
DS Region: Endor
Posts: 1780
Joined: October 31st, 2002, 2:58 am
Location: Springfield, OR
Contact:

What a grievous predicament.

Post by Bib Fortuna »

Scenario:

Light side has a character with a lightsaber in battle. Grievous is also there. LS swings the saber (result of the swing doesn’t matter), and then DS hits that character with their own weapon, and the Sniper combo makes that character lost. Grievous then steals that same saber from the lost pile.

Can Grievous use that saber right away, even though LS already swung it during that battle?


They fly now!

User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 19465
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: What a grievous predicament.

Post by Gergall »

Because the lightsaber left table entirely and then re-entered play from the Lost Pile, it's treated like a whole new instance, and may be swung again.

That is similar to an old question where Luke is lost in battle, Ben Kenobi revives that Luke, Luke uses Nabrun to go to a new location, and then battles again in the same turn (it's allowed, because Luke completely left table then returned).

Note that if the lightsaber had stayed on table and was stolen in a more direct manner, it could not be fired again by the new owner in the same battle. This is explained on AR Page 6-1:
Weapons Segment - Firing Weapons It is a special rule of battle that any weapons in the battle may be used once (and only once, unless specifically permitted otherwise - this applies even if the weapon is somehow on a different card during the battle than the one who fired), and that it must target a card participating in the battle. (see Weapons - When Can I Fire?, Ch. 9).
Greg Zinn

Image

User avatar
chriskelly
Design Advocate
Posts: 20795
Joined: January 28th, 2003, 2:13 pm
Location: New York

Re: What a grievous predicament.

Post by chriskelly »

What if LS deployed the lightsaber the same turn that Greivous stole it? Could it renter play despite being unique? Or does that not matter because it wasn’t explicitly re-deployed?

User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 19465
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: What a grievous predicament.

Post by Gergall »

Stealing is not deploying so it will be allowed.

If DS used some hypothetical interrupt to steal the weapon into hand first, and then some other hypothetical interrupt to deploy the saber on Grievous mid-battle, you're right - it can't be deployed by both LS and DS in the same turn if it is unique.
Greg Zinn

Image

User avatar
Madmanwithabox
Member
Posts: 1824
Joined: October 13th, 2014, 2:25 pm
Location: Ireland
GEMP Username: Tardis

Re: What a grievous predicament.

Post by Madmanwithabox »

Gergall wrote:
March 26th, 2020, 7:02 pm
Stealing is not deploying so it will be allowed.

If DS used some hypothetical interrupt to steal the weapon into hand first, and then some other hypothetical interrupt to deploy the saber on Grievous mid-battle, you're right - it can't be deployed by both LS and DS in the same turn if it is unique.
Good job there’s nothing like that in the movies. Imagine a lightsaber teleporting from Rey to Ben Solo (for example), it’d be a rules nightmare.
New or returning player? Click here for the information you need to know.

Beat me mercilessly on GEMP: Tardis
Say hello at an event:Darren
Image

Image

Berm
Booster Pack
Booster Pack
Posts: 59
Joined: May 26th, 2019, 5:43 pm

Re: What a grievous predicament.

Post by Berm »

Cards exist to make it work for LS potentially?

LS has Tauntaun bones on table.
LS has LSJK at cantina with Solo.
DS has Grievous with luke's lightsaber (previously stolen) with P-59 at Lar's Moisture farm.

DS: Loses 1 force to take Grievous and luke's lightsaber into hand
DS: Deploys Grievous and luke's lightsaber to Cantina
DS: Deploys P-60 to Cantina
DS: Battles at Cantina (Grievous w/ luke's lightsaber & P-60 against LSJK & Solo)
DS: Grievous swings luke's lightsaber at LSJK, drawing a 6,6, plays Sniper & Dark Strike to put LSJK in lost pile
DS: Targets solo with P-60, draws a 5
LS: takes an immediate action to deploy Luke with lightsaber using Tauntaun Bones (wouldn't be allowed because luke's lightsaber is unique and was deployed once this turn on Grievous already???)

User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 19465
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: What a grievous predicament.

Post by Gergall »

Berm wrote:
March 26th, 2020, 8:36 pm
Cards exist to make it work for LS potentially?

LS has Tauntaun bones on table.
LS has LSJK at cantina with Solo.
DS has Grievous with luke's lightsaber (previously stolen) with P-59 at Lar's Moisture farm.

DS: Loses 1 force to take Grievous and luke's lightsaber into hand
DS: Deploys Grievous and luke's lightsaber to Cantina
DS: Deploys P-60 to Cantina
DS: Battles at Cantina (Grievous w/ luke's lightsaber & P-60 against LSJK & Solo)
DS: Grievous swings luke's lightsaber at LSJK, drawing a 6,6, plays Sniper & Dark Strike to put LSJK in lost pile
DS: Targets solo with P-60, draws a 5
LS: takes an immediate action to deploy Luke with lightsaber using Tauntaun Bones (wouldn't be allowed because luke's lightsaber is unique and was deployed once this turn on Grievous already???)
In your example, Luke's Lightsaber is already on the table, so we cannot have a 2nd Luke's Lightsaber on the table at all. Even if LS waits another turn, they still cannot deploy EPP Luke.

However, lets suppose that Solo shoots Grievous and made him immediately lost with Blaster Proficiency. Now the saber is off the table. LS is unable to use Tauntaun Bones to deploy EPP Luke because the saber has already been deployed this turn.
Greg Zinn

Image

User avatar
marines28
Member
Posts: 3841
Joined: December 12th, 2009, 10:35 pm
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
GEMP Username: marines28

Re: What a grievous predicament.

Post by marines28 »

chriskelly wrote:
March 26th, 2020, 6:23 pm
What if LS deployed the lightsaber the same turn that Greivous stole it? Could it renter play despite being unique? Or does that not matter because it wasn’t explicitly re-deployed?
What if Tom Brady won another Super Bowl in Tampa Bay.....

;)
Steviegets112 wrote:The same 5 people are going to win consistently and there really isn't much any of you can do about it.
3MW0J8 wrote:
xblack: from now on it will be
xblack: gl/hf/nr
better damn believe it.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”