Mind What You Have Learned - Yoda (Luke?) to Dagobah Cave?

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
Post Reply
User avatar
Solidsnack3
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: January 6th, 2020, 6:58 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA!
GEMP Username: Solidsnck

Mind What You Have Learned - Yoda (Luke?) to Dagobah Cave?

Post by Solidsnack3 »

I know there are a lot of special circumstances granted to deploying to Dagobah from Mind What You Have Learned. Some questions:

[Front Side]: Deploy Dagobah system (may not be converted).
While this side up, during your deploy phase, may deploy Luke, Yoda (deploy -2), Yoda's Hope, At Peace and/or Luke's Backpack to Dagobah from Reserve Deck; reshuffle. Whenever you draw training destiny, draw two and choose one. Place Luke's completed Jedi Tests on table. Your cards at Dagobah may not Force drain or contribute to Force retrieval. Add 4 to each player's destiny draw for Sense and Alter.

I believe you can deploy any luke or yoda from reserve deck even if they specifically do not say deploy to dagobah. The AR even says at peace can deploy during deploy as opposed to beginning of your turn. Do you also need to obey Icon restrictions when deploying to Dagobah? As a specific example, could you deploy Luke and or Yoda to Dagobah Cave (without any presence there) using this objective?


-Solidsnack3
Gemp: Solidsnck

"Yeah. I'm responsible these days. It's the price you pay for being successful."

User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 20803
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Mind What You Have Learned - Yoda (Luke?) to Dagobah Cave?

Post by Gergall »

MWYHL does not have any text that would support deploying a non-spy Luke or non-spy Yoda to the Dagobah Cave, sorry.
Greg Zinn

Image

User avatar
ketwol
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: February 22nd, 2017, 8:09 am
Location: Munich (Germany)
GEMP Username: ketwol

Re: Mind What You Have Learned - Yoda (Luke?) to Dagobah Cave?

Post by ketwol »

Gergall wrote:
January 13th, 2021, 9:17 am
MWYHL does not have any text that would support deploying a non-spy Luke or non-spy Yoda to the Dagobah Cave, sorry.
This works in Gemp though. A bug then?

User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 20803
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Mind What You Have Learned - Yoda (Luke?) to Dagobah Cave?

Post by Gergall »

Yes that looks like a bug to me. Just so we're all official, here is what the AR has to say about MWYHL deployment:
Deployment Restrictions
The Side 0 text on this card permits you to ignore
Dagobah deployment rules and location deployment
restrictions listed in the game text of any version of the
Luke or Yoda persona when deploying them to
Dagobah using the objective. It also permits you to
deploy At Peace during your deploy phase (overriding
its printed requirement to deploy at the beginning of
your turn.
-You can ignore Dagobah rules and deploy premiere Luke Skywalker to Dagobah.
-You can ignore gametext restrictions and deploy Commander Luke Skywalker ("Deploys only to Hoth") to Dagobah.

But nothing in there lets you deploy a non-spy to Dagobah Cave without presence or Force icons.
Greg Zinn

Image

User avatar
Solidsnack3
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: January 6th, 2020, 6:58 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA!
GEMP Username: Solidsnck

Re: Mind What You Have Learned - Yoda (Luke?) to Dagobah Cave?

Post by Solidsnack3 »

Thanks Greg! Part of what was throwing me off was the next item in the AR:

The Side 7 text does not permit Luke to deploy without
presence or Force icons; this is a specific exception to
the location deployment restrictions rule.

I see why that entry is in there reading the location deployment restrictions rule, but figured I would just ask on the 0 side to confirm since the objective needs a whole host of rules all by itself :)
-Solidsnack3
Gemp: Solidsnck

"Yeah. I'm responsible these days. It's the price you pay for being successful."

User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 20803
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Mind What You Have Learned - Yoda (Luke?) to Dagobah Cave?

Post by Gergall »

That 7 side rule is a whole separate, unrelated discussion :) Doesn't affect the answer in my previous post.
Greg Zinn

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”