Blarg wrote:There was a ruling a while ago about when characters had to be piloting if there were open passenger slots available. I think it was that when you initially deploy them, they had to be in the pilot slot. Is that correct?
Yes - see the bottom of this post for the AR quotes. When a pilot
deploys or moves onto a starship, he must initially use a pilot
slot if available. You can then immediately transfer them to a passenger slot (even during your deploy
phase). Basically this rule is weird and mostly pointless. However, I managed to think up a weird/stupid scenario where it would be gameplay relevant:
Dark side deploys Danz Borin to the Devastator. DS wishes for Danz Borin to be in a passenger so that he can use his "add 1 to weapon destiny" text. However, DS must initially deploy
Danz Borin as a pilot
as per the rules. LS plays Rebel Barrier, preventing Danz Borin from transferring to the passenger slot (the transfer is considered to be an unlimited move, and Rebel Barrier prevents movement).
Another similar scenario is that if LS initiates a battle against a DS player, and DS has an opportunity to deploy
Danz Borin as a 'react', Danz must deploy
to a pilot
slot if there is one available on the ship he is deploying too. DS will not be able to move Danz into a passenger slot until his own deploy
or move phase.
Is there anything that stops you from moving a character to a passenger slot if you have open passenger slots?
Aside from cards like Rebel Barrier and Imperial Barrier, please note that moving a character between pilot
and passenger slots can only occur during your own deploy
phase and your own move phase.
Can you move every character to a passenger slot, so that there are no pilots?
You may do that if you would like.
If a starship is landed, and can only hold one pilot, can I put a non-pilot character there (because the slot acts as a passenger slot), or does the character have to be a pilot?
If a starship is landed, the pilot
slot is still a pilot
slot. The character inside behaves like a passenger, but it still only holds pilots. See the AR quotes below.
If you have, say, a ship with one passenger slot and one pilot slot, both of which are filled with pilot characters, can you switch who is piloting? Or can you not switch, because you would first have to move the pilot to a passenger slot, or a passenger to a pilot slot, and there are no extras?
Each movement is a separate action, so you need to move them one at a time. In your scenario, you won't be able to swap them without some extra help (like ship-docking with another ship that has room so you can move stuff around).
AR, Page 7-4 wrote:
Unlimited - Moving Between Capacity Slots
During your deploy phase and your move phase, you
may 'move' any character aboard your starship, combat
vehicle or shuttle vehicle from a pilot capacity slot to a
passenger capacity slot or vice versa (capacity
permitting). See Starships - pilot, Ch. 9. Similarly,
anytime during your deploy or move phase you may
designate any character aboard your transport vehicle
as the driver or as a passenger. If a slot may be used
for multiple purposes, you may also change it at this
time (such as designating a filled pilot/passenger slot in
a Y-Wing as a pilot or a passenger). This movement is
AR, Page 9-17 wrote:
Starships - pilot
Aspect of characters that allows them to control and
move a starship, combat vehicle or shuttle vehicle
(indicated by a pilot icon on the character card). In
addition, many starships, combat vehicles and shuttle
vehicles have built-in permanent pilots as indicated by
the pilot icon on their card. See permanent pilot.
When a pilot character is deployed or moved aboard a
vehicle or starship, that character is considered to be
acting as a pilot if sufficient pilot capacity is available.
You may designate which characters are acting as
pilots (that is, you may relocate them between pilot and
passenger capacity) at any time during your deploy or
your move phase (if the capacity offers a choice, you
may also change it between pilot and passenger as
well). Any pilots aboard a starship or vehicle in excess
of its pilot capacity are passengers and thus may not
enhance the starship or vehicle. Any modifiers to a
pilot’s personal power do not increase the bonus that
pilot grants to a starship or vehicle. While all characters
aboard a starship or vehicle apply ability normally, on
enclosed vehicles and starships only the pilot (or driver)
applies their ability towards drawing battle destiny.
AR Page 9-17 wrote:
Starships - Landed
A starship at a site location (or a starship or vehicle in a
capital starship's "cargo hold") is "landed". Landed
starships and vehicles are considered unpiloted, thus all
rules applying to unpiloted starships also apply here
(see Unpiloted). There are a few additions and
exceptions to this; for one, the game text of the starship
also includes identity and ability of any permanent
pilots. Also, while a pilot (or permanent pilot) is aboard:
• Landed starships may take off from a site or
disembark from a starship.
• Landed starships and vehicles may use any weapons
and devices that indicate they may be used while
landed (such as Surface Defense Cannon).
• Game text also includes any text that indicates it
functions when the starship or vehicle is landed (such
as Bravo Fighter or Trade Federation Landing Craft).
Pilot characters and permanent pilots function as
passengers aboard landed starships and vehicles
(though they still occupy the pilot capacity rather than
passenger capacity), but return to functioning as pilots
once they are no longer landed.