Page 1 of 1

deploying pilots as passengers

Posted: September 18th, 2014, 1:37 am
by Saladas
luke's speeder can carry one pilot and one passenger. Can i deploy commander luke, who is a pilot, to the passenger seat if there are currently no characters on the speeder and then move him to the pilot seat?

Here's the AR excerpt: When a pilot character is deployed or moved aboard a vehicle or starship, that character is considered to be acting as a pilot if sufficient pilot capacity is available. You may designate which characters are acting as pilots (that is, you may relocate them between pilot and passenger capacity) at any time during your deploy or your move phase (if the capacity offers a choice, you may also change it between pilot and passenger as well). Any pilots aboard a starship or vehicle in excess of its pilot capacity are passengers and thus may not enhance the starship or vehicle.


i'm thinking the answer is no but want to make sure.

Re: deploying pilots as passengers

Posted: September 18th, 2014, 10:30 am
by Gergall
A literal interpretation of the rules indicates that if both seats are empty, Luke must deploy to a pilot seat first. Then you can "move" him to a passenger seat (during your deploy or move phase) if you would like to.

I always thought this rule was a little strange, but it's still the rules.

Re: deploying pilots as passengers

Posted: September 18th, 2014, 12:49 pm
by Saladas
Gergall wrote:A literal interpretation of the rules indicates that if both seats are empty, Luke must deploy to a pilot seat first. Then you can "move" him to a passenger seat (during your deploy or move phase) if you would like to.

I always thought this rule was a little strange, but it's still the rules.
couldnt u also interpret it that u couldnt move the pilot to the passenger seat cuz he'd bounce right back to the pilot seat? i dont like this rule btw.

Re: deploying pilots as passengers

Posted: September 18th, 2014, 1:10 pm
by Gergall
Saladas wrote:couldnt u also interpret it that u couldnt move the pilot to the passenger seat cuz he'd bounce right back to the pilot seat?
No, it only automatically sticks him in a pilot seat when he deploys aboard, or when he moves aboard. Switching him from pilot to passenger doesn't qualify as either of those things.

I'm adding a note to the rules team to at least take a look at this. Although the SWCCG Reset does not include a full-blown rules cleanup, it's still a reasonable time to look at weird little things like this.

Re: deploying pilots as passengers

Posted: September 24th, 2014, 8:04 am
by Lukes Bionic Hand
While we were tweaking the Starships - Pilot entry for your other question, we decided to change the deploying as a pilot rule as well. It seemed like the intent of the rule was to prevent players from getting blown out by not declaring that they were deploying a pilot character as a pilot, and NOT to prevent players from deploying a pilot on an empty ship as a passenger if they really wanted to. Thus the entry has been modified slightly so that a pilot character just deployed aboard an empty ship or vehicle only defaults to piloting if a player does not specify which capacity slot they are occupying.

Ruling is posted here: /viewt ... =5#p914470