immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
Post Reply
jerome
Booster Pack
Booster Pack
Posts: 59
Joined: August 15th, 2010, 5:03 am

immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

Post by jerome »

Hello

anakin skywalker is immune to attrition < 4.

there is a battle and dark side draw Battle destiny of 3.
we suppose anakin is the only character in that battle for the light side

light side has no battle damage.

Can Light side player forfeit Anakin ?

i found in AR :
Any card which is immune to attrition may still be voluntarily forfeited to satisfy attrition or battle damage

thanks a lot ^_^



User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 19921
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

Post by Gergall »

I think LS can forfeit Anakin but I am going to ask the rules team to review.

My basis for saying it's allowed is as follows:
AR Page 6-3 wrote:Damage Segment - Attrition
Gameplay mechanism that simulates battle casualties (mandatory forfeitures) determined by battle destiny, regardless of which player wins or loses the battle. Attrition represents inevitable losses in battle that occur regardless of who wins the battle. (For example, in Episode V, the Dark Side clearly won the Battle of Hoth, yet they still lost some Imperial walkers to attrition.) Attrition against you equals the total battle destiny drawn by your opponent. This attrition against you requires a mandatory forfeiture of your cards from that battle location. For example, if your opponent's total battle destiny was 3, the attrition against you will be 3 and you will be required to forfeit (if possible) one or more cards whose forfeit values total at least 3. Since hit cards are forfeited, you also apply their forfeit values toward satisfying attrition. If forfeiting all your hit cards does not satisfy all of the attrition against you, then you must forfeit additional cards until your attrition has been satisfied (unless all of your remaining cards are immune to the attrition, in which case the remainder may be ignored). If you have no cards left to forfeit, any remaining attrition against you is ignored. Sometimes you have to forfeit cards with a total forfeit value in excess of your attrition; for example, if your attrition is 5 and your cards that participated in the battle each have a forfeit value of 3, to satisfy your attrition you will have to forfeit two of those cards for a total of 6 forfeit.
If your opponent does not draw battle destiny, then there is no attrition against you (meaning that this amount cannot be modified, such as cards that "add 1 to attrition).
Since the remainder "may" be ignored when you are immune, it sounds like you have the option of not ignoring it.
AR Page 6-8 wrote: Your Lord Vader and one Stormtrooper (forfeit = 2) are in a battle and the attrition against you is 4. You do not have to forfeit Vader because of his immunity to attrition < 6, but you must still satisfy as much attrition as possible; thus you must forfeit the Stormtrooper. (Because you forfeited all cards which were vulnerable to attrition, you may ignore the remaining attrition.)
Further evidence that it's optional.
Greg Zinn

Image

jerome
Booster Pack
Booster Pack
Posts: 59
Joined: August 15th, 2010, 5:03 am

Re: immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

Post by jerome »

thanks for quick answer

waiting confirmation

^_^

jerome
Booster Pack
Booster Pack
Posts: 59
Joined: August 15th, 2010, 5:03 am

Re: immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

Post by jerome »

in 6-4 we see

"If you have no cards left to forfeit, or if all your cards remaining are immune to attrition, any remaining attrition is ignored"

so where is the truth ? ^_^

User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 19921
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

Post by Gergall »

From the Rules team:
It's optional, LS can forfeit Anakin, and the quote you found is being corrected in the next version of the AR.
Greg Zinn

Image

jerome
Booster Pack
Booster Pack
Posts: 59
Joined: August 15th, 2010, 5:03 am

Re: immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

Post by jerome »

thanks :yes:

have fun playing Star Wars CCG

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: immune to attrition and voluntary forfeited

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

This ruling has been formally added to current rulings/errata thread as a slightly amended version of the "damage segment - attrition" entry posted above, and can be found here: /viewt ... 14#p977214
Damage Segment – Attrition
If you have no cards left to forfeit, any remaining attrition against you is may be ignored. [rest of entry unchanged]
It is now explicit that immunity may be ignored, instead of being automatic.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”