Stealing an escort

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
Post Reply
fungineer
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 7836
Joined: July 9th, 2012, 6:02 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI. USA
Holotable username: fungineer
GEMP Username: fungineer

Stealing an escort

Post by fungineer »

If a Droid is escorting a captive, and that droid is stolen, what happens to the captive? Similar question if some DS character is converted (like Lando) or crossed over.

For example, if ig88 is escoring a captive, then stolen by a Jawa firing an ion gun, does the captive escape or is he still escorting it, or is it some how transferred? Assume other DS characters are still at site. I would assume he's released as LS cannot capture, but can they escort? The AR seems to only say captive is released if escort is removed from table or inactive. Is he crosses the table, neither are the case.
Image


* Congrats if you read through my whole post. Have a cookie, it's in your cache.
* https://gemp.starwarsccg.org/gemp-swccg Play for free, even if you don't own good cards. Then play in real life, with real people, even if you aren't any good.
Image Image Image
Sagnet wrote:At this point, I think your posts are more unclear than the rules are.

User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 20003
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by Gergall »

Great question. I will check with the team.

In the meantime, here is my best guess: as a LS card, it is not eligible to escort captives, so I would treat it as though the escort had been removed - in other words, the captive is released and may Escape to used or (if at a site) may Rally to the site.
Greg Zinn

Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Update to this ruling: the result of the ruling is unchanged, but the ruling itself has been added to the AR under the "Captives - Releasing" entry in Appendix C.

The ruling can be found near the end of this post in the current rulings/errata thread: viewtopic.php?p=977214#p977214
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

fungineer
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 7836
Joined: July 9th, 2012, 6:02 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI. USA
Holotable username: fungineer
GEMP Username: fungineer

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by fungineer »

Just noticed the ruling didn't include the "converting/persona replacement" or cross-over addition, only stealing. Was this intentional?
* Congrats if you read through my whole post. Have a cookie, it's in your cache.
* https://gemp.starwarsccg.org/gemp-swccg Play for free, even if you don't own good cards. Then play in real life, with real people, even if you aren't any good.
Image Image Image
Sagnet wrote:At this point, I think your posts are more unclear than the rules are.

User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 20003
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by Gergall »

fungineer wrote:Just noticed the ruling didn't include the "converting/persona replacement" or cross-over addition, only stealing. Was this intentional?
Thanks, that is an oversight and will be patched. Crossing over / converting will work the same way - it's as though the escort has been removed, so the captive rallies or escapes.
Greg Zinn

Image

User avatar
Advocate
Advocate
Posts: 36378
Joined: October 29th, 2002, 5:18 pm
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
GEMP Username: advocate

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by Advocate »

Hey, can a character take an escorted captive on a ship?

@swccg
Image
@swccg - Twitter
@swccg - Instagram
swccgpc - Twitch

User avatar
Gergall
Member
Posts: 20003
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by Gergall »

Advocate wrote:Hey, can a character take an escorted captive on a ship?
Yes, capacity permitting - the captive must occupy a passenger seat (even if the captive is a pilot).

If the escort/captive pair is on a starship at a system and the escort is removed (for example, forfeited during battle), the captive cannot rally to the light side. The captive must escape to the Used Pile.

If the escort/captive pair is on a starship or vehicle at a site, and the escort is removed, the captive can rally out of the vehicle and over to the light side, or escape to Used.
Greg Zinn

Image

fungineer
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
Posts: 7836
Joined: July 9th, 2012, 6:02 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI. USA
Holotable username: fungineer
GEMP Username: fungineer

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by fungineer »

So if the starship is forfieted before the escort, they can't rally right?
* Congrats if you read through my whole post. Have a cookie, it's in your cache.
* https://gemp.starwarsccg.org/gemp-swccg Play for free, even if you don't own good cards. Then play in real life, with real people, even if you aren't any good.
Image Image Image
Sagnet wrote:At this point, I think your posts are more unclear than the rules are.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by Aglets »

fungineer wrote:So if the starship is forfieted before the escort, they can't rally right?
Correct. This creates an 'all cards' situation where all cards aboard the ship must be lost.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Stealing an escort

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Gergall wrote:
fungineer wrote:Just noticed the ruling didn't include the "converting/persona replacement" or cross-over addition, only stealing. Was this intentional?
Thanks, that is an oversight and will be patched. Crossing over / converting will work the same way - it's as though the escort has been removed, so the captive rallies or escapes.
I just updated the ruling to add crossing over/converting the escort.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”