RE: Luke's Bionic Hand and implied targeting

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
Post Reply
Karrdeshark
World Champion
World Champion
Posts: 2606
Joined: February 1st, 2003, 3:50 pm

RE: Luke's Bionic Hand and implied targeting

Post by Karrdeshark »

This was ruled for years that it could only deploy on characters with immunity. Two similar Legacy cards, Revenge Of The Sith and Mercenary Armor v, had similar clauses and were also ruled and played that way. So no Revenge of the sith on EPP Vader, no Bionic Hand v on EPP Luke, etc.

Also, see Focused Attack example in the Implied Target section.


Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: RE: Luke's Bionic Hand and implied targeting

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

We all tried to dig up some old rulings on both of those 2 cards and could find none. That's not to say it wasn't ruled that way, just that we have no record of a discussion about it in any of our rules correspondence from that time, and anything from back then on these forums has likely been pruned into oblivion.

However, I would rule now that any of 3 cards mentioned (Lukes Bionic Hand v, Revenge of the Sith, and Mercenary Armor v) that add to immunity would be deployable on characters without immunity. The difference between those cards and Focused Attack is that their text modifying immunity are automatic modifiers, which are not actions, and thus do not have to obey the implied target rule, whereas the immunity canceling part of Focused Attack is an automatic action, so it does fall under the implied target rule.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”