Current Rulings and Errata

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Please note that all previous current rulings may be found in the main rules archive section.

The rules advocate, Tim Simon, will update this forum topic as needed with newer rulings until the next rules update and then this topic will be reset.

Rules Team EDIT: Rulings issued in this thread from August 2012 through December 2015 have been published in the new Advanced Rulebook 3.0, which was released on January 18th, 2016.
Because they are now part of the AR, those rulings have been removed from this thread and placed in the Rules FAQ/Archives subforum.


Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here is a big ruling dump of pending stuff left over from post AR 3.0 rules questions. They are effective immediately. They are ordered by the Chapter and Appendix in the AR. Unless otherwise noted, new text is underlined and removed text is crossed out in strikethrough.

Chapter 4

The following is an update to the 2 bullet points under "Force Drain" on page 4-1 of the AR:
-All of your cards characters, vehicles, starships, weapons, and devices at the location of the Force drain are considered to participate in that Force drain.
-Unless stated otherwise, each of your cards characters, vehicles, starships, weapons, and devices may participate in only one Force drain per turn.
This change clarifies that an Effect such as Presence Of The Force could potentially affect outcome of multiple Force Drains in a single turn, by strategically relocating it via a card like Surprise.

The following is a revision to a part of the Prepositions entry in Chapter 4 of the AR.
"A character, starship, vehicle, weapon or device is "aboard" (or "on") a starship or vehicle if it is: (1) Present At any site related to that starship or vehicle. (2) At the bridge, cockpit or cargo bay of that starship or vehicle. "
This is just to clarify that if a character is aboard a vehicle that is itself aboard a starship, then that character is also aboard the starship in question.

Chapter 6
Participating In Battle
...
Cards which participate in one battle may not normally participate in battle again during the same turn, , with the following exception: a captive who has just been released will rejoin a battle they were previously participating in.
[remainder of entry unchanged]
This change is being made to prevent an issue where a captive captured during a battle (or a captive who is released and then captured and released again in the same battle) would not be able to participate.

Appendix A
Corellia
LIGHT: Your Falcon (with one pilot) and your Corellian corvettes may deploy here as a 'react.'
DARK: Each of your starships are hyperspeed +1 when moving from here.
The “with one pilot” parenthetical is being removed because it was rendered superfluous by to starship deployment rules and gave the impression that only unpiloted Falcon cards could be used with this game text.
Emergency Deployment
If opponent just initiated a battle where opponent has more than double your power, reveal up to 3 cards from your Reserve Deck. Of those 3, deploy anywhere (for free) any characters, starships, vehicles, devices or weapons. Any others are lost.

Panic
If opponent just initiated a battle where opponent has more than double your power, reveal up to 3 cards from your Reserve Deck. Of those 3, deploy anywhere (for free) any characters, starships, vehicles, devices or weapons. Any others are lost.
The above 2 cards are being tweaked to “reveal” 3 cards from reserve deck rather than “draw” to prevent any issues with verifying cards in hand. They are also receiving an addition to their corresponding entries in Appendix B to clarify what “any others” means (see the Appendix B ruling for Emergency Deployment further down in this post).
R3-T2 (Arthree-Teetoo)
While aboard your capital starship, adds 1 to power and 2 to hyperspeed, and that starship is immune to attrition < 4. While at Central Core, Death Star requires +2 Force to move.

R3-T6 (Arthree-Teesix)
While aboard your capital starship, adds 1 to power and 2 to hyperspeed, and that starship is immune to attrition < 4. While at Death Star: Central Core, hyperspeed of Death Star system = 2.
These errata prevent these astromech droids from affecting the power and hyperspeed and immunity to attrition of an opponent's starship.
Stormtrooper Cadet
Deploys free to same site as an Imperial leader. Once per turn, may target a non-unique Imperial warrior present; target is power +1 for remainder of turn. When forfeited at same site as an Imperial leader (or non-cadet trooper), also satisfies all remaining attrition against you.

Rebel Trooper Recruit
Deploys free to same site as a Rebel leader. Once per turn, may target a non-unique Rebel warrior present; target is power +1 for remainder of turn. When forfeited at same site as a Rebel leader (or non-recruit trooper), also satisfies all remaining attrition against you.
The above 2 cards are not receiving a gameplay change; they have been slightly tweaked so that the power bonus is now an action and has a duration, whereas before, it was unclear when an how the power bonus could be used.
Maul's Double-Bladed Lightsaber
Deploy on Maul. Adds 1 to Maul's lightsaber combat total. May lose 1 Force to add 2 to Force drain where present. Twice per battle, may target a character. Draw two destiny. Target hit, and its forfeit = 0, if total > defense value. While on Maul, may not be stolen.

Move Along
If a battle was just initiated at a site where your Jedi is present, use 1 Force to draw destiny; that number of opponent's characters with ability = 1 (your choice) must each move away (for free), or be lost.
The above errata is to clarify the ambiguous wording on the original card.


Appendix B
B'omarr Monk
This alien only cancels the Dark Side game text of the location called Tatooine: Jabba's Palace.
The following is an addition to the current Emergency Deployment entry in Appendix B of the AR. (The Panic entry referencing this one remains unchanged)
Emergency Deployment
The phrase 'any others are lost' refers to any cards that were revealed and not successfully deployed.
Expand The Empire
This Effect does not expand game text that has been canceled.
Human Shield
When the Used function of this Interrupt is played to make a captive 'hit' instead of an Imperial, any other effects from being 'hit' (such as forfeit=0 or “may not be used to satisfy attrition”) will affect the captive instead of the Imperial. Because captives do not participate in battle, the 'hit' captive is then immediately lost. The Lost function of this this Interrupt allows you to take advantage of the full forfeit value of characters you have captured to satisfy attrition and battle damage, including forfeit modifiers from cards such as Lieutenant Sheckil.
Walker Garrison
The second function of this Interrupt does not require the AT-ATs to be piloted. This is a specific exception to the Unpiloted rules.
Well-earned Command
This card is not a hologram.


Appendix C

The following is a modification to the Dejarik Rules entry in Appendix C of the AR (new text in bold):
"...Vehicles, characters, starships, Utinni Effects etc. cannot be deployed or moved to a holosite. Only dejarik and hologram cards can exist at a holosite (and cards specifically permitted to deploy there). Dejarik and hologram cards must deploy as a dejarik or hologram to a holosite; any deployment text not specifically referencing holosites may not be utilized there. [continue original entry]"
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22857
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata is from the Rules team, and is effective immediately:
•R2-D2 & •C-3PO [How Did We Get Into This Mess? (V)] 3
[Virtual Set 3 - Premiere - U2]
Lore: Stranded in the Dune Sea, R2-D2 insisted on heading into rocky canyons where he thought settlements were likely to exist. Threepio had other ideas.
CHARACTER - DROID
POWER 2 ASTROMECH & PROTOCOL
Text: If about to leave table (even from Overwhelmed) from Tatooine system and Stolen Data Tapes deployed on this character, may instead be relocated to Dune Sea. Immune to A Gift, Firepower, devices, and opponent's Interrupts.
DEPLOY 4 FORFEIT 7
Set Icon 3 [Nav Computer icon]
The purpose of this change is to add immunity to Firepower, so that LS does not lose 2 for using this card as it was designed to function in the Diplomatic Mission to Alderaan deck. The immunity to A Gift was added to clean up text constraints while retaining the original intent of not being targeted by opponent's interrupts (since A Gift was the only viable way to get this character undercover anyway).

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following ruling is an addition to Appendix B, is effective immediately, and addresses a concern regarding Matching Pairs.

Theron Nett (v)

This character is a matching pilot for Red 10.

NOTE: Rules is looking at cleaning up the "Matching Pairs rules" to potentially include lore so that this ruling is no longer necessary, but in the interest of doing due diligence a short term 'patch fix' ruling was deemed best to fix this interaction in the short term.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Time for a bit of a rulings dump. This isn't everything backlogged in our system but it is a good chunk of it. Hope to get more out in the next couple of weeks. Enjoy!

The following is a revision to Chapter 1 of the AR and is effective immediately.

The Defined Destiny Values entry on page 1-22 of the AR is considered stricken and replaced by the following entry, entitled Defined Values.
Defined values

When a card has a value that is defined in its game text (e.g. it has an asterisk (*) instead of a numerical value where one would be expected) its actual value is determined whenever that value is being checked by an action (even if the card is inactive, supporting, or a unit of Force). A value represented by an asterisk may never be considered to be a 'printed value' or 'printed number.'
This rule was deemed necessary to deal with extremely rare situations where cards with * for values might need to have those values checked by other cards (ie, forfeiting a stolen Septoid droid with Mantellian Savrip).

And now for a revision to the All Cards Rules in Chapter 4 of the AR. The 2nd paragraph of the "All Cards / All Characters" entry in Chapter 4 of the AR has been amended as follows:
"Any weapon or Interrupt that causes "all cards" to be lost, (or missing, captured, or otherwise leave the table) from a location only affects characters, vehicles, starships, weapons and devices. [continue original entry]"
This ruling clarifies that the all cards rules apply regardless of whether the 'all cards' situation sends the cards lost or not.

------------------------------------------------

Now some modifications to the way battles work in Chapter 6 of the AR.

Page 6-1
Battle
A conflict you initiate during your battle phase in an
effort to deplete your opponent's Life Force. Battles can
occur at a location only if both players occupy that
location - i.e., they both have presence there. (But note
that if all presence is completely removed from either
side before the battle's powerdamage segment, the battle ends.
This happens instantly, not as an action, so there is no
time between the exclusion and the end of the battle for
anything to take place. Events that occur at the end of
battle -or last until end of battle- happen at this point, so
long as they do not depend on the battle successfully
completing. If all presence is removed during or after
the power segment, the battle will continue as normal;
however, see Explosive Charge, Ap B.)
And now the Totaling Power entry on page 6-2
Totaling Power
Each player increases their total power by the amount of their total battle destiny (if they drew any), then places their battle destiny card(s) on their Used Pile. (Battle destiny draws also create attrition in the damage segment, so make a mental note of the battle destiny totals.) Occasionally a card will specify that you "add one destiny to power only" or "add a destiny to total power." Although you draw such a destiny at this time (before drawing any battle destiny), this is not considered a battle destiny and does not add to attrition. Add all that up with your power from before any destinies to total power and your total battle destiny to your total power calculated at the battle's location to get your total power in the battle.
And now the Battle In Brief section on page 6-4
........If all presence is removed from either side of the battle (e.g., because of tauntauns 'reacting' away from the battle, or a card play such as Hit And Run) prior to the damage segment, the battle ends. [continue original entry]
And now the Battle Destiny - Modifying The Number Of Destinies entry on page 6-6 of the AR
.........Automatic modifiers to the number of destinies are checked immediately before you draw battle destiny in the power segment. [continue original entry]
---------------------------------------

The following is a revision to the Movement rules "Unlimited - Moving Between Capacity Slots" in Chapter 7 of the AR.
During your deploy phase and your move phase, you may 'move' any character aboard your starship, combat vehicle or shuttle vehicle from a pilot capacity slot to a passenger capacity slot or vice versa (capacity permitting). See Starships - pilot, Ch. 9. Similarly, anytime during your deploy or move phase you may designate any character aboard your transport vehicle as the driver or as a passenger. Also, any starfighter or vehicle that is capable of taking up either a starfighter slot OR a vehicle slot may change slots at this time.[continue original entry]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The following is a revision to the Related Locations entry in Chapter 9 of the AR.
Related locations
Sites, cloud sectors, and Death Star II sectors that are deployed to the same
system are
- related to that system;
- related to other sites and cloud sectors deployed to
that system; and
- part of that system. [continue original entry]
And now for a slight addition to the Starships - deploys like a starfighter entry on page 9-14 of the AR.
Cards that "deploy like a starfighter" must follow all rules and game text that apply to the deployment of starfighters; this is never optional. For example, Bright Hope can deploy to the clouds, but will only be able to deploy -1 to Light Side Dantooine (it does not get the choice to use the capital starship deployment reduction at that location). Also, non-starfighter cards that 'deploy like a starfighter' may not deploy to starfighter slots aboard a starship. See also Movement - moves like a starfighter, Ch. 7.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Appendix B

The following Appendix B entry is considered stricken from the AR effective immediately.

Explosive Charge - No longer necessary thanks to the revisions made to Chapter 6 of the AR above.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Appendix C
React
This is a special form of deployment or movement (granted by cards that say 'react') that may occur during your opponent's turn. A react occurs just after your opponent initiates a battle or Force drain, and allows you to deploy or move one or more cards to the location of the battle or Force drain (at normal use of the Force).
All Force costs required to move or deploy as a react are considered to be part of the initiation of the react action, and thus cannot be recovered even if the react is canceled. Cards such as CZ-3 are not intended to imply that all of the movements or deployments are one big 'react.' Thus, each opponent's Sense card may cancel only one card's deployment or movement.
Reacting to a Force drain cancels the Force drain if you bring presence to the location (even if a card states that the Force drain "cannot be canceled). All cards involved in a react (including cards deployed as a react, or that embarked on or disembarked from a card moving as a react) are prevented from being involved in another react during the same turn (even if it was canceled). Additionally, when a non-unique card is deployed as a react, and that react is canceled, no copy of that card title may be deployed as a react during the same turn.
NOTE - this change was accidentally left out of AR 3.0. It is included again here as a reminder that it is still in effect and should be added to future revisions of the AR.

This change is being made to address a possible judging issue that could occur with reacts and non-unique cards. Previously a "card" that was part of a react (even a canceled one) was not allowed to react again that turn, creating an issue where the validity of an action (trying to deploy a copy of a card that was either already part of a react that was canceled or was returned to where it was deployed from after being deployed as a react) would only be legally verifiable by calling a judge to check the opponent's hand (or in some cases, their reserve deck or other piles). Note that movement reacts are still handled the same way they were previously, and unique cards could (and still can) only be part of one deployment react per turn (even if canceled) due to uniqueness rules.

And finally, some additions to the Sabacc rules in Appendix C.

The following is considered a revision/addition to the first paragraph in the Sabacc rules.
.........Both players temporarily set aside their regular hands while playing sabacc, although on rare occasions you may access your hand in order to initiate a 'response' action during the game (such as in response to an insert appearing). If the character used to initiate sabacc is lost mid-game for some reason, sabacc immediately ends with no result, and each player places their sabacc hand cards in their Used Pile.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

And now for some Errata / Appendix B issues.

The following errata are considered added to Appendix A of the AR and are effective immediately.
Antipersonnel Laser Cannon

Use 3 Force to deploy on your transport vehicle. If your warrior aboard here, may target a character or creature using 3 Force. Draw destiny. Target hit if destiny +2 > defense value. May fire repeatedly for 2 Force each time.
This errata ensures that this weapon can actually function as intended onboard enclosed vehicles.
Dark Rage

If opponent just initiated a duel, use 3 Force to cancel it. OR Take Deep Hatred into hand from Reserve Deck; reshuffle. OR If Maul has no combat cards, target a Jedi to place one of their combat cards (random selection) in opponent's Used Pile. (Immune to Sense.)
This clarifies more explicitly how the last function of this Interrupt plays out.
Double Laser Cannon

Use 4 Force to deploy on Jabba's Sail Barge or your sandcrawler; it is power +3 and immune to attrition < 5. If your warrior aboard here, may target a vehicle using 2 Force. Draw destiny. Target hit if destiny +2 > defense value.
Same rationale for errata as the Antipersonnel Laser Cannon.
Imperial Trooper Guard Dainsom

Deploys only aboard Executor or on any Death Star site. Cannot move. May cancel opponent's Force drains at adjacent Death Star or Executor sites.
This errata was made for competitive balance / unintended interaction reasons.
Ket Maliss

Deploy on your non-warrior character (except droids) to give that character warrior [Warrior] skill. OR Deploy on your warrior. That character is power +1. (Immune to Alter.)
Clarifies to match errata on numerous other Decipher cards. It seems to go against intent to potentially allow this Effect to deploy on an opponent's character.
Lightsaber Proficiency

Deploy on your character with ability > 2 and a lightsaber. That character is power +3 in battles or may add 1 to Force drain where present. Effect is lost if character loses lightsaber.
Same rationale as Ket Maliss.
Run Luke, Run!

At any time, move Luke as a regular move (using landspeed for free) to a battle just initiated at an adjacent site. Luke is power +2 during that battle, unless Vader is present or adjacent to the battle site. OR You may cancel Vader's Obsession.
Errata done simply for clarification purposes.
Rycar Ryjerd

Deploy on your non-smuggler to give that character smuggler skill. OR Deploy on your smuggler. That character is power +1. (Immune to Alter.)
See rationale for Ket Maliss.
Sai'torr Kal Fas

Deploy on your non-warrior character (except droids) to give that character warrior [Warrior] skill. OR Deploy on your warrior. That character is power +1. (Immune to Alter.)
See rationale for Ket Maliss.
Special Modifications
Use 1 Force to deploy on your starship to add 2 to its armor or maneuver. If on Falcon with Han, Lando or Chewie piloting, also adds 2 to power and forfeit.
See above.
--------------------------------------------------

Appendix B

The following are additions to Appendix B of the AR and are effective immediately.
A Remote Planet

This card refers to the "Padme Naberrie" version of the Amidala persona only.
Captain Jonus

This character must be piloting a TIE/sa in order to use his text to satisfy all remaining attrition and battle damage.
The following is an update to Princess Leia Organa in Appendix B:
Princess Leia Organa
This version of the Leia persona enters play either by deploying as a captiveor, on rare occasion, by replacing a different Leia using the persona replacement rule (only if that other Leia is a captive of Jabba or a bounty hunter). Leia must still obey all normal deployment rules (e.g., she cannot deploy without presence or Force icons or to an opponent's starship or vehicle). All of this character card's game text should be applied whenever appropriate, even when she's a captive (this is a specific exception to the rules).
This change brings Princess Leia Organa in line with the Persona Replacement rules, which allow for the replacement of active characters and undercover spies, but do not allow for the replacement of captives, missing characters, or other types of inactive characters.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Time to dump a few more rulings........next time there will be updates relevant to Set 4, I promise!

The following is a revision to the "Peeking at Cards" rule in Chapter 1 of the AR.
Peeking At Cards

A game action that allows you to peek at a card (or cards) allows you (and only you) to look at that card and then place it back where it came from (unless stated otherwise). If you're peeking at any cards in your opponent's hand, however, they are revealed to both players. When you peek at (examine, glance at, look at etc.) a card, you are entitled to see the entire card, and the intention is that you limit yourself to a reasonable amount of time to gather information (note: older cards stated that you had [X] seconds to peek; this text is obsolete by this rule and should be disregarded). See Empty Deck Or Pile, Empty Hand,
Ch.1.
Clarifies that when you peek at a card in your opponent's hand (i.e. Free Ride) the information is shared between both players.

Also, the following sentences are considered stricken from the AR in the "just lost" rules section in Chapter 1. (the rest of the entry remains unchanged)
Actions - Just Lost
The exceptions to this rule are the cards All Wrapped Up and We Have A Prisoner. Refer to their individual entries in Ap. B.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
The following is an addition to Drawing Destiny in Chapter 1 of the AR, at the end of the first paragraph:
Automatic modifiers to the number of destinies are checked immediately before you draw the first destiny.
And the following is a clarification to one sentence in Battle Destiny - Modifying The Number Of Destinies in Chapter 6 of the AR:
Automatic modifiers to the number of destinies are checked immediately before you draw the first battle destiny in the power segment.
These clarifications are intended to show that if, for example, the first battle destiny triggers an event (e.g. Program Trap) that removes cards from the battle, any automatic battle destiny adders on those removed cards would already have been counted and "locked in" by that point.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Below is a small tweak to the Participating in Battle entry on 6-7:
Participating in Battle
All characters, starships, vehicles, weapons, or devices at the location where a battle takes place (whether present or not) is participating in that battle (unless they are excluded). A card is considered to be participating in a battle as soon as the battle has been initiated, or as soon as that card is introduced to the battle location as long as that card is introduced before the power segment begins. Any card introduced after the power segment has begun may never participate in that battle.
[continue original entry]
This entry was left out of AR 3.0 by mistake and will be included in future versions.

The following is an addition to "Participating In Battle - Excluded From Battle" in Chapter 6 of the AR:
Participating In Battle - Excluded From Battle
Excluding a card from battle removes a card from participating in the current battle in progress. Cards that are excluded from battle are considered inactive for the duration of the battle (remember that when a card is inactive, then all cards deployed on and aboard it are inactive as well); however, being excluded will not cause objectives to flip or other cards to be canceled or otherwise removed from table (these are specific exceptions to the rules). When a battle ends, all cards that were excluded from that battle are simultaneously reactivated as an automatic response to that "battle just ended" event. See Battle Just Ended, Ch. 6. [continue original entry]
--------------------------------

The following are new errata additions to Appendix A of the AR and are effective immediately.
All Wrapped Up
Deploy on your side of table. We Have A Prisoner and Oo-ta Goo-ta, Solo? play for free and are immune to Sense. If opponent's character is about to be forfeited, your bounty hunter present may capture that character (character is first restored to normal). Immune to Alter.
MSE-6 'Mouse' Droid
Landspeed = 3. Deploys to same site as a character targeted by a Utinni Effect (except Kessel Run). If this droid 'reaches' Utinni Effect, may relocate it here. Upon delivery, 'mouse' droid returns to your hand.
Sniper
During your control phase, fire one of your weapons. If URoRRuR'R'R firing, may add 2 to each weapon destiny draw. (A seeker may be targeted by a character weapon, as if a character with defense value of 4.) Any 'hit' targets are immediately lost.
Sorry About The Mess
During your control phase, fire one of your weapons. If Han firing, may add 1 to each weapon destiny draw. (A seeker may be targeted by a character weapon, as if a character with defense value of 4.) Any 'hit' targets are immediately lost.
We Have A Prisoner
Use 1 Force if opponent's character is about to be lost or forfeited from battle. It is captured instead (character is first restored to normal). OR Use X Force to capture all characters on board a captured starship, where X = twice the number of characters.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And now for a plethora of Appendix B entry updates, mostly brought to you thanks to GEMP. :)
Access Denied
This ‘insert’ card, when found face-up in your Reserve Deck (whether by being inserted or because of a card such as Through The Force Things You Will See), is treated as a deployed Effect and does not count as part of your Life Force.
This actually just restores a missing link that has been present in the AR since its inception.
All Wrapped Up
When capturing an 'about to be forfeited' character using this Dark Side Effect, that character is captured after applying forfeit value but before being placed on the Lost Pile. When captured, the character's values that would normally be restored upon leaving table (e.g., forfeit being reduced by 2, power being reduced to 0) have those values reset. In this way, cards deployed on that character (for example, Bounty or a weapon) are not placed in the Lost Pile. Additionally, if the card was 'hit', it is no longer 'hit'. However, if any responses to the character being lost remove a card (or cards) on that character prior to this card being used to capture them, any removed card(s) would not return to the character and would stay where they were placed when removed. This is a specific exception to the just lost ruling.
This card merely requires that the bounty hunter be present at the location. He need not be present with the forfeited character.
<> Farm
This card may be used to deploy a Hydroponics Station or Vaporator from Reserve even if it is not a Tatooine location (overriding their typical deployment restrictions).
Forced Landing
A starfighter targeted by this card may not move (or be carried) from the related system to any other system or asteroid or Death Star II sector; it may not move (or be carried) from any cloud sector to the system (or to any cloud sector of higher-altitude); and may not move (or be carried) to any site other than the docking bay where Forced Landing is deployed.
Let The Wookiee Win
When Disarming an opponent’s character, this Interrupt is placed on that character to indicate that the character is Disarmed. Therefore, once Let The Wookiee Win has had its result, it is “on table” but may not be targeted by Sense because it is just used as an indicator that the character is Disarmed.
This Interrupt must be stacked on a character after it resolves to have its effect (i.e. if it's stacked on a 'grabber' or goes out of play there is no result).
Meteor Impact?
A character targeted by this Utinni Effect may not move (or be carried) to any other system; may not move (or be carried) to any site of greater distance (number of adjacent sites) from the Utinni Effect than the current site; and may not move (or be carried) to the related system or cloud sector.
Program Trap
[previous entry remains unchanged]...Program Trap doing a "check" is an automatic action to every destiny draw. If the check passes, the trap then continues with the rest of its text (it explodes immediately). If the check fails, it does not explode, and it won't check again for that destiny draw, even if that draw is then modified.
We Have A Prisoner
When capturing an 'about to be lost or forfeited character' using this Dark Side Interrupt, that character is captured after applying forfeit value (if applicable) but before being placed on the Lost Pile. When captured, the characters values that would normally be restored upon leaving table (e.g., forfeit being reduced by 2, power being reduced to 0) have those values reset. In this way, cards deployed on that character (for example, Bounty or a weapon) are not placed in the Lost Pile. Additionally, if the card was 'hit', it is no longer 'hit'. However, if any responses to the character being lost remove a card (or cards) on that character prior to this card being played to capture them, any removed card(s) would not return to the character and would stay where they were placed when removed. This is a specific exception to the just lost ruling.
This Interrupt's first function may capture a character about to be lost or forfeited from a system or sector, if you have a potential escort available aboard a vehicle or starship at that location.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Thanks for your patience everyone! Now, without further ado:

RULES CHANGES TO ACCOMPANY THE RELEASE OF SET 4

New Starship Types added to Chapter 9 of the AR.
Starships - First Order
A Dark Side starship with the First Order icon. A First Order starship that has been stolen is considered a Resistance starship.

Starships -Resistance
A Light Side starship with the Resistance icon. A Resistance starship that has been stolen is considered a First Order starship. Note that simply having "Stolen" in a card's title does not mean that it is considered 'stolen' for gameplay purposes. That rule is referring to Resistance starfighters stolen by the Dark Side player.
New Character Types added to Chapter 9 of the AR.
Characters - First Order
A type of Dark Side character, representing individuals that are loyal to the First Order.

Characters - Resistance
A type of Light Side character, representing individuals that directly support the Resistance.
New Global Card Type added to Chapter 9 of the AR: Double-Sided Cards

(note, that the current Objectives section in its entirety is moving to a subsection under this new heading)
Double-Sided Cards
Double-Sided Cards are simply cards that have text on both sides. They have a "0 side" and a "7 side" and always first deploy with the 0 side facing up.
Double-Sided Cards - Starship & Vehicle Combo Cards
A card type that typically represents a ship that is capable of both ground and space combat. These cards may never be placed in the owner's Life Force or Lost Pile. If they are the target of an 'all cards' situation that would send them to one of those places, treat the card as you normally would when it leaves the table. For all intents and purposes, when the "starship" side is face up, the card is considered to be a starship and must be targeted as such, and a similar rule applies for the "vehicle" side. This means:

-Effects (of any kind) that are deployed on or target the combo card as a starship (and cannot target vehicles) are lost when it becomes a vehicle, and vice versa.
-Devices that deploy on or target the combo card as a starship (and cannot target vehicles) are lost when it becomes a vehicle, and vice versa.
-Creatures that attach to starships will immediately detach when it becomes a vehicle.
-All starship weapons deployed on the card will be immediately lost if it flips and is no longer a starship.
-All vehicle weapons deployed on the card will be immediately lost if it flips and is no longer a vehicle.

In addition, the owner of the card may only utilize its 'flipping' mechanic a total of one time per turn. Also note that even if the card is on table as a landed starfighter (and therefore unpiloted) or as an unpiloted vehicle any text related to flipping the card is still considered active, as well as any text that tells a player where to place the card when it is lost or leaves the table. Also, in rare cases, after flipping this card it may be possible for it to be aboard a starship without appropriate capacity for it (no available starfighter or vehicle slots). In these situations the card would be lost (which will typically result in it being relocated somewhere else, such as out of play).
The following errata/rulings are considered effective immediately with the launch of Virtual Set 4.

Appendix A
Captain Raymus Antilles
This character's lore should now read: Alderaanian leader.
Local Trouble
Use 1 Force at the beginning of your battle phase to allow any two of your Stormtroopers in the Cantina to battle any one opponent's character (your choice). You may add one battle destiny. No other battles may occur in Cantina this turn.
Simple little tweak to prevent undesired interactions for LS with Finn in the Cantina.

Appendix D

The following is an addition to the Specific Rulings section on page D-2 of the AR.
All Character versions of Leia and Tycho are Alderaanian.
Scavenger is now officially a new characteristic and considered added to the corresponding list on Page D-3 in the AR.

The following is an addition to the Character Persona Examples on page D-4 of the AR.
Rey (refers to the female scavenger from Jakku)
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Few little minor errata that I think it's time to get out there.

The following are two revisions/additions to Appendix A of the AR and are effective immediately.
Crash Site Memorial
Deploy on your side of table. If you just lost a vehicle, droid, weapon, or device, may stack it here. Once during your deploy phase, you may exchange any one card in hand with one card stacked here. Any cards stacked here are considered 'supporting.'
Eliminates some odd issues where cards stacked on Crash Site Memorial could be in multiple different 'states' at the same time. No cards stacked on this Effect will be considered inactive anymore going forward.
Jakku: Starship Graveyard
DARK: Unless you occupy, your non-scavenger characters deploy and move to here for +1 Force.
And the following is an addition to an Appendix B entry in the AR and is effective immediately.
Credits Will Do Fine
There is no gameplay difference between cards that refer to cards stacked "on," "under," or "beneath" this Effect.
Just clarifies that all cards that currently reference Credits Will Do Fine work as expected.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Leftover rules issue regarding Theron Nett (v) (as referenced in the May 18 ruling) has now been resolved. No new rule or tweak is going to be made to the Matching Pairs section after much deliberation.

Instead, this is going to be dealt with via a simple errata.

The following is an addition to Appendix A of the AR and is effective immediately.
Theron Nett (V)
Adds 2 to power of anything he pilots. While at a battleground system, opponent's starships may not 'cloak.' May lose 1 Force (free if piloting Red 10) to cancel a just-drawn weapon destiny targeting a starship he is piloting.
This ensures that he will match with his corresponding X-wing as intended. Of course the May 18 ruling is now considered obsolete and stricken from the AR.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Also, the following is a 'restored' Appendix B entry in the AR that was accidentally omitted when the AR was first created.
Double Back
This Interrupt does not require you to announce in advance which character you are taking or retrieving, but once you make your choice you must reveal it to your opponent. See Taking Cards From A Deck Or Pile.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Couple more leftover rulings to knock out here.

First a slight revision to the All Cards / All Characters rules in Chapter 4 of the AR.
All Cards/All Characters
Any game text or rule that causes "all cards" (or "all characters," etc) to be lost, missing, captured, or otherwise leave the table will affect cards on both sides.......[continue original entry]
The end result of this is that certain functions of Oo-ta Goo-ta, Solo? and We Have A Prisoner are now considered "all cards situations" and cannot be prevented. Note that the May 31 Current Rulings entry here has also been edited/updated to match this wording.
------------------------------------------------------------------
Also, the crashed rules entry is being revised to be more intuitive. The following is a revision to the Vehicles - crashed rules and is effective immediately.
Vehicles - crashed
Some cards can cause a vehicle to crash. A crashed vehicle is considered unpiloted (see Starships - Unpiloted); thus any permanent pilots (or drivers)
aboard function as passengers that provide presence but may not use their ability towards drawing battle destiny. Note that they still occupy pilot/driver capacity on the vehicle however. Pilot characters are treated as passengers (though they still occupy the pilot capacity), thus any text that only works while piloting would be useless.
If the 'crashed' vehicle is enclosed:
- any character aboard may not use game text related to battle or apply ability towards drawing battle destiny. Characters aboard (even pilots) may not apply their ability towards drawing battle destiny (although they still provide presence normally).
- embarking or disembarking from the vehicle requires 1 Force per character
This is to make crashed vehicles behave a little more similar to landed starships, and also remove potential for awkward situations where a player might reasonably expect a part of their character's game text to still function (ie Grand Moff Tarkin still being in battle with Vader) but be surprised to learn that it does not. Only text directly related to piloting is blocked from working.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also we have an addition to the rules governing Objectives in Chapter 9 of the AR. The following entry will be inserted immediately before the paragraph in that section that starts with: "If a card is deployed on (or stacked on) an Objective..............."
Sometimes both sides of an objective will allow you to perform the same action (typically in the "While this side up" section). If this action is subject to some limit (such as 'once per turn' or even the One Rule), flipping the objective does not allow a player to perform that action an additional time if it would violate that limit. For example, Light Side deploys a Tatooine battleground site using Diplomatic Mission To Alderaan, and then deploys some Rebels and flips his objective. Light Side is not entitled to use the flip side, A Weakness Can Be Found, to deploy another Tatooine battleground site that same turn.
And there are some corresponding errata that we are issuing that tie into this rules clarification so everything should be crystal clear. The following are considered additions to Appendix A of the AR and are effective immediately.
Imperial Entanglements / No One To Stop Us This Time
Deploy Tatooine (with Devastator there) and a Tatooine battleground site.
For remainder of game, you may not deploy Sandwhirl, Jabba’s Palace sites, non-Imperial characters, non-Imperial starships, or systems. Once per turn, may \/ a Tatooine battleground site.
While this side up, opponent loses no Force to Tatooine Occupation or your Force drains at Tatooine system. Once per turn, may \/ a Tatooine battleground site.
Flip this card if you control three Tatooine sites and opponent controls less than three Tatooine sites.

While this side up, once during your control phase, may peek at up to X cards of your Reserve Deck, where X = number of Tatooine locations you occupy; take one into hand and shuffle your Reserve Deck. Opponent’s characters require +1 Force to move from Tatooine sites using their landspeed. Once per turn, may \/ a Tatooine battleground site. During your draw phase, you may retrieve one trooper.
Flip this card if opponent controls more Tatooine sites than you.
Diplomatic Mission To Alderaan / A Weakness Can Be Found
(0 side is unchanged.)
... While this side up, your total battle destiny is +X, where X = number of battlegrounds occupied by Rebels of ability < 4. Once per turn, may \/ Alderaan or a Tatooine battleground site. Once per turn, if you just won a battle, may retrieve 1 Force. (remaining text unchanged)...
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is an update to the errata for Han's Toolkit in Appendix A of the AR and is effective immediately.
Han's Toolkit
Use 1 Force to deploy on one of your characters, vehicles or starships (free on Falcon or Han). While aboard a vehicle or starship, you may use 1 Force to cancel any Interrupt or Effect of any kind (except those immune to Alter or Control) which targets that vehicle or starship.
Meant to help avoid any shenanigans where Effects that are immune to Alter could technically be canceled by this device.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Alright, time for a rules dump for some things that have been in the pipeline for a little bit. I promise this will be the last one until I post again.

The following is an update to the rules governing Resets on page 1-19 of the AR.
Reset
The changing of a value to a specific new value (such as power = 0), even if the new value is numerically equivalent to the original. [continue original entry]
Clarifies that a numerical does not have to actually change per se in order for it to count as a reset.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#1) The following is a revision to the Force Drains Modifier rule on the page 4-1 and is effective immediately.
Force Drain Modifier
Any game text that directly adds to, subtracts from, or
multiplies, or divides the amount of a Force drain. [continue original entry]
This is to make this section consistent with "Modifiers" on Page 1-18.

#2) The following is a revision to the Force Drains May Not Be Modified Example on the bottom of page 4-1 and is effective immediately.
Force Drains May Not Be Modified Or Canceled By Opponent
"May not be modified by opponent" prevents your opponent's game text from modifying (adding, subtracting, multiplying, or dividing) your Force drain. See Force Drain Modifier for examples. This text does not prevent them from attempting to modify your force drain (it simply fails to do so), nor does it prevent your opponent from resetting your Force Drain (as this is not modifying).
  • "May not be canceled by opponent" prevents your opponent from initiating any action (in response to your initiated Force drain) that would directly cancel that drain without also providing presence. For example playing Control, placing a non-unique alien on the Den Of Thieves, or using the 'canceling' text on Hidden Base/Systems Will Slip Through Your Fingers. This text does not stop a player from canceling a Force drain using a 'react'.
[continue original entry]
This entry is to make this section consistent with "Modifiers" on Page 1-18, as well the Implied Target Rule.

#3) The following is a revision to the Unmodifiable Values Rule on the bottom of page 1-19 and is effective immediately.
Unmodifiable Values
A value that cannot be changed by modifying. See Reset. This value is not prevented from being targeted to be modified (it simply fails to modify that value). See Implied Target Rule.
This entry is to make this section consistent with the Implied Target Rule.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following is an update to the Prisoner transfer rules in Chapter 7 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Unlimited - Prisoner Transfers
During the Dark Side's move phase, that player may perform any of the following "prisoner transfers." These are unlimited moves for both the escort and the captive (See Capturing Characters, Ap. C) and are free:
-An escort present at a prison may transfer (deliver) its captive to that prison. Place that captive face-up below the prison. That captive is 'delivered' and 'imprisoned.'
-A bounty hunter, battle droid, or warrior present at a prison may take a captive imprisoned there into custody.
-An escort present at any site may leave a frozen captive he is escorting at that site. That frozen character is now "unattended" and is no longer considered to be escorted.
-An unattended frozen captive may be taken into custody by any Dark Side bounty hunter, battle droid, or warrior present.
Remember that since prisoner transfers are movement, a captive that cannot move may not undergo any type of prisoner transfer.
This entry just ties up some loose ends leftover from Appendix C when it's clear the intent was for battle droids to be eligible escorts for captives.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPENDIX A ERRATA

The following are updates to current Appendix A entries in the AR and are effective immediately.
Blast The Door, Kid!
If a battle was just initiated at an interior site, use 1 Force; for remainder of battle all characters of ability > 2 and all leaders (on both sides) are simultaneously excluded from that battle.

Stunning Leader
If a battle was just initiated at an interior site, use 1 Force; for remainder of battle all characters of ability > 2 and all leaders (on both sides) are simultaneously excluded from that battle.
Note that the corresponding Appendix B entries are considered stricken from the AR. Those entries were clarified as part of the new errata text (so it's clear that any characters joining the battle after these Interrupts are played are still subject to the same exclusion condition). Also, it's been clarified that the exclusions all occur simultaneously, so no rules lawyering will occur to trigger specific actions by excluding characters in a particular order.
Death Squadron
Deploy on any system. Adds X to your total power at that system, where X = number of your starships present. Your troopers and combat vehicles may shuttle to related sites for free.

Rebel Planners
Use 1 Force to deploy at Massassi War Room or any docking bay. Adds X to your total power at the related system and related sectors, where X = the number of your starships present there.
Just clarifying these entries that Decipher gave us to make more sense given the way we word things now.

The following is an addition to Appendix A of the AR and is effective immediately.
Tarkin (V)
Adds 2 to power of anything he pilots. When deployed, may draw cards from Reserve Deck until you have up to six cards in hand. During battle, if present with two other ISB agents, may cancel an opponent's just drawn destiny.
This errata clarifies that Tarkin (V) cannot be considered an ISB agent unless Dark is playing the Objective ISB Operations.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPENDIX B RULINGS

The following is an addition to Appendix B of the AR and is effective immediately.
Blaster Deflection
When re-targeting a blaster with this Interrupt, you must re-target it to an opponent's character present at the same location as your character that was originally targeted.
The following are new entries to Appendix B of the AR and are effective immediately.
Bring Him Before Me / Take Your Father's Place
The deployment modifiers for the Emperor and Luke on the 0 side of this Objective only apply when those characters are being deployed from the player's Reserve Deck.

Mind What You Have Learned / Save You It Can
The deployment modifier for Yoda on the 0 side of this Objective only applies when that character is being deployed from Light's Reserve Deck.
The following are new current rulings for Appendix B of the AR and are effective immediately.
Sniper
Cards that are immune to Sniper are protected from being made immediately lost during battle via Sniper & Dark Strike, and are also protected from being targeted by any weapons during the opponent's control phase using any version of Sniper.

Sorry About The Mess
See Sniper.

Obi-Wan Kenobi, Jedi Knight
See Sniper.

Queen Amidala
See Sniper.
The following is an update to an existing Appendix B entry in the AR and is effective immediately.
The Shield Doors Must Be Closed
This Effect stops prevents: all movement (of any kind) to the Hoth: Echo Docking Bay, unless the movement is from another site with "Echo" in title; and all movement (of any kind) from the Hoth: Echo Docking Bay, unless the movement is to another site with "Echo" in title.
This was done to clarify the previous Appendix B entry which was not specific enough to show that all other types of movement are restricted.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPENDIX C

The following is an update to the Captives - Releasing entry in the AR and is effective immediately.
[Previous entry unchanged.]
...
In this case, the escort and the captive both suffer the effects of the action as appropriate - both of them are lost, or missing (in this case the captive is released before going missingmomentarily released, but does not become active, before going missing and cannot escape or rally). [continue original entry]
This addresses an obscure loophole and clarifies that a captive character that is immune to a card that sends other cards missing (ie Ice Storm or Sandwhirl) is not able to take advantage of that game text while he or she is a captive.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Time for another rulings dump. Rulings on your screen may be closer than they appear.

The following is an update to the Empty Deck or Pile rules in Chapter 1 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Empty Deck Or Pile
[original entry unchanged]...An empty Reserve Deck does not stop you from drawing destiny, that destiny draw simply fails (see 1.E. Failed Destiny Draws). An empty Force Pile does not prevent a player from using "0 Force" or his "entire Force Pile."[continue original entry]
Meant to clarify that you can still deploy cards for 0 Force with an empty Force Pile, and also clarifies that cards like Treva Horme can still work if the opponent has no Force Pile.

The following is a minor revision to the "For Each/For Every" section of Chapter 1:
Actions - For Each/For Every
Any time game text permits you to use, lose, activate, or retrieve Force "for each" (or "every") of a certain card, characteristic, etc., that action is performed as one action for the full calculated amount. For example, if you occupy 3 Tatooine battleground sites, then Tatooine Celebration will permit you to initiate an action to retrieve 3 Force during your control phase (not three retrieval actions of one Force each). Whenever something happens “for each” or “for every” of X, and there are no X’s that qualify, the value is treated as an unmodifiable zero (this is a specific exception to the Implied Target rule).
For instance, the Force loss from Vengeance Of The Dark Prince is based on “opponent loses 1 Force for each battleground location occupied by Xizor or Emperor.” If there are no battleground sites occupied by Xizor or Emperor, then that Force loss is 0 and cannot be modified.
This revision clarifies that this section does apply to activation, such as for Endor Celebration. We also specifically noted that this section is an exception to the Implied Target rule. It already was, but now the AR explicitly calls attention to this fact.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following is a revision to Chapter 1, Section A on Page 1-3 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Removing Cards From A Hand, Deck, Pile, or Stack
When a card removes (takes, plays, relocates, exchanges, retrieves, replaces, draws, etc.) any card(s) from a hand, deck, pile, or stack, do not reveal the card(s) unless instructed to do so, or in the following situations:
• If the card(s) being removed was face up, either by itself, or as part of a face up deck, pile, or stack, it may be seen by both players.
• If the card was face down or hidden (e.g. a card in hand), it may be seen by its owner if they were allowed to look at the card(s) normally.
• If the card will be played or deployed directly, it must be revealed to both players.
However, if the removing card uses the word “unseen,” then neither player may view the card(s) being removed.
The following is a related revision to Chapter 1, Section B on Page 1-3 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Section B. Taking Cards From A Deck/Pile
… Whenever a card or rule allows you to take, play, or deploy, exchange, relocate, retrieve, etc. a card from a deck, pile, or stack, and there are any criteria for what kind of card you may take, you must reveal that card after it is obtained (reveal the entire card) regardless of initial face-down or face-up orientation. In this way, your opponent can check that you took a card matching the criteria specified. However, when allowed to take "any card" you do not have to reveal the card chosen, unless you retrieve obtained that card from your Lost Pile a face-up condition (see Removing Cards from a Hand, Deck, Pile, or Stack). ...Continue Original Entry
These changes have been made to clarify that anytime a card is removed from a face up stack or pile (such as lost pile) it must be revealed to both players regardless of how it is removed. Previously, it may have been interpreted to being only retrieval.

These changes also have been designed to define what "removing a card" from a stack or pile really means, as this was previously left ambiguous into the "standard English definition".
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following clarification has been added to the end of the entry for "Unlimited - Embarking And Disembarking" in Chapter 7.
Unlimited - Embarking And Disembarking
[original entry unchanged]
-moving a character between a starship or vehicle in the cargo hold of a carrying starship to the "bridge" of the carrying starship.
A card may never embark or disembark another card (using movement) unless using one of the types of movement listed above, and this movement always occurs as a separate action from any other type of movement. For example: Nabrun Leids, the text on Tatooine: Mos Eisley (Light), and shuttling (without a shuttle vehicle) do not permit a character to embark or disembark a vehicle as part of that movement. However, certain non-movement actions (such as a character going missing) will cause a card to disembark, and other appropriate non-movement actions (such as seizing a captive) could cause a card to embark.
And a related update to the rules for Shuttle Vehicles.
Regular - Shuttling
[original entry unchanged]
A shuttle vehicle like the Bespin Motors Void Spider or the T-16 Skyhopper can shuttle characters to or from any starship (even a starfighter, as they are specially equipped to deal with smaller starships) at the related system. In this case, this is considered to be a regular move for the character (who is aboard the shuttle vehicle as a passenger) and the shuttle vehicle itself. This movement is free (and unaffected by intervening cloud sectors). The vehicle conceptually makes a round trip, and thus remains at the site. The passenger(s), as a simultaneous action when shuttling using a shuttle vehicle from a site, will disembark the shuttle vehicle, and embark upon the targeted starship. In reverse, the characters will disembark the starship and embark upon the shuttle vehicle as part of the shuttle movement. (This is a specific exception to the Embarking and Disembarking Rules).See Vehicles - shuttle vehicle, Ch. 9.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPENDIX A ERRATA

The following are additions/revisions to Appendix A of the AR and are effective immediately.
[Attack Run
[...Previous entry lines unchanged]

Pull Up!: All starfighters now move to Death Star system (for free). If (total destiny + X + Y - Z) > 15, Death Star is 'blown away.'

X = ability of lead pilot or 3 if Targeting Computer is present(or 3 if Targeting Computer aboard) just before Pull Up!.

Y = total sites at largest Rebel Base (Yavin 4 or Hoth).

Z = highest ability of opponent's TIE pilots in trench just before Pull Up!.

*Your Proton Torpedoes are immune to Overload.
This errata has been created to prevent a LS player from being penalized for using "Stolen First Order Tie Fighter" or any stolen TIE as a wingman during an attack run. Also clarifies that X is defined before the lead pilot leaves (or attempts to leave) the Trench.
Darth Vader (V)
Adds 3 to power of anything he pilots. While aboard a starship, it is immune to attrition < 5. During battle at same system (twice if with a your Black Squadron pilot), may cumulatively subtract 2 from a just drawn destiny. Immune to attrition < 5.
This errata is intended to prevent unintended interactions with possible future "Black Squadron" starfighters found in Episode VII. It also is to prevent the unlikely occurrence that Vader will help in battle against a Black Squadron TIE that has been stolen.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPENDIX B RULINGS

The following are additions or revisions to Appendix B of the AR and are effective immediately.
Endor: Bunker (Dark)
Light can only move to this site if they at the Back Door when they are initiating their movement.
Clarifies that characters with extra landspeed cannot move 'through' the Back Door to get to the Bunker.
Motion Supported
When substituting a draw with this Political Effect, use the destiny value of the card in hand, then place it on the Used Pile after it resolves. The destiny value of the card in hand is a substituted destiny draw, but the physical card itself is not a destiny draw nor is it considered "just drawn."
Just clarifying to try to make this card work a little more like other cards that substitute destiny draws.
The Republic No Longer Functions
This Defensive Shield protects against attempts to remove cards from a player's hand (such as Defensive Fire, Scanning Crew, or I Will Make It Legal) and also against attempts to force you to lose specific cards from hand (such as with M'iiyoom Onith). It does not protect against cards like Fear that could require you to lose Force from hand.
Vote Of No Confidence
See The Republic No Longer Functions.
Weapons Display (V)
This Defensive Shield targets characters that were 'just excluded from battle.' Thus it will see characters excluded from battle that would otherwise be considered inactive. In addition, if excluding said characters from battle removes all presence from one side of the battle's location (causing the battle to end immediately) this card will still target those characters as 'just excluded from battle.'
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPENDIX C

The following are updates to current Appendix C entries in the AR on C-2 and are effective immediately.
Blown Away - Death Star
[Previous lines unchanged...]
When the Attack Run ends for whatever reason, move
all starships in the Trench back to the Death Star
system location as an unlimited move for free.
Generic sites do not count towards Epic Event totals,
and so are not a factor in determining Y on Attack Run.
If blown away, the dark side player loses 2 Force for
each dark side Force icon at all Death Star locations
(regardless of who deployed it) including all modifiers to
the number of icons (such as Presence of the Force)
See Blown Away - Mobile Systems, Ap. C.
Blown Away - Death Star II
[Previous lines unchanged...]Once the light side's starships are finished moving from
a sector, the dark side follows the exact same process
(including drawing movement destiny using the lightside
game text) until all their starships have finished moving
from that sector. This process repeats for the ships at
the next sector, and so on until all starships reach the
Death Star II system.
If blown away, the typical damage is doubled per the Epic
Event. See Blown Away - Mobile Systems, Ap. C. the dark side player thus loses 4 Force for each
dark side Force icon at all Death Star II locations
(including all modifiers to the number of icons)
.
The following is a new entry in Appendix C before Blown Away - Planet Systems and is effective immediately.
Blown Away - Mobile Systems
If a mobile system is blown away, the dark side player loses 2 Force for
each dark side Force icon at the mobile system and related mobile locations
(regardless of who deployed it) including all modifiers to
the number of icons (such as Presence of the Force).
These revisions were made to close a long-standing omission in the AR which never defined the base value of 2 force for each icon for which "That Thing's Operational" targets to "double".

The following is a revision to the Hoth Energy Shield Rules entry in Appendix C of the AR.
Hoth Energy Shield Rules
See Hoth: Main Power Generators, Ap. B.
The Hoth: Main Power Generators site produces an energy shield which is "strong enough to withstand any bombardment." This shield protects much of Hoth for the Light Side by preventing many forms of Dark Side deployment and movement; however, the Dark Side may deploy or land beyond the shield and "march in" to Echo Base. When the Main Power Generators site is face up on table, the energy shield covers all Echo Base sites and the first three marker sites. If the 5th marker is on table, the shield will reach the 4th marker, and if the 6th is on table it will reach the 5th marker. The shield will never extend beyond the 3rd5th marker.
[remaining entry unchanged]
Note: This is an intentional change to the Hoth Energy Shield Rules. It was intended to simplify the rules to be more intuitive. The shield will now always cover all Echo Base locations, as well as the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd marker sites....but will never extend further out. This means that the Dark Side player will no longer be able to make the shield extend to the 4th or 5th markers by deploying his own Hoth locations.

The following is a revision to the React - Move section on the page C-14 and is effective immediately.
React - Move
[Original entry unchanged]
When moving as a react, the reacting cards must observe all normal movement rules or game text, such as being within range, obeying the Unpiloted rule, having a nav computer if moving through hyperspace, paying normal costs (unless stated otherwise), and so on. A card that may move as a react to a battle or Force drain may not react if it is already at that location. As such, a card moving as a react may not 'disembark' from a starship or vehicle to a battle or force drain at the same location as that starship or vehicle. A card moving as a react may, however, disembark once before departing its current location, and embark once after it arrives at the final location.

The following forms of movement are legal moves for
the reacting card (not other cards):
- using its landspeed or hyperspeed;
- landing or taking off;
- embarking on or disembarking from a vehicle or starship;
- performing any regular sector move;
- moving between a mobile system and the system it is orbiting;
- entering or exiting a vehicle or starship site to the adjacent site where the vehicle or starship is located.
Other cards may embark on the 'reacting' card just before it leaves, and disembark just after it arrives.
These revisions have been made to allow additional types of reacts which seem reasonable but were not actually defined, (and thus not allowed) previously without interpretation. More importantly, these revisions limit and define the number of movements a reacting card can make so that a starship that moves as a react cannot first embark upon a capital at its location to pick up more pilots, disembark, move (as a react), then embark multiple times to distribute those pilots among multiple capital ships at the final location.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following rules are specifically issued to ensure that all new cards/mechanics presented in Set 5 are working properly:

-Pirate is now officially a new characteristic and considered added to the corresponding list on Page D-3 in the AR.

And the following are additions to Appendix B in the AR and are considered effective immediately:
Commander Wedge Antilles (V)
See Jodo Kast.
Han, Chewie, And The Falcon (V)
See Han, Chewie, And The Falcon.
Luke Skywalker, The Emperor's Prize
See Jabba's Prize.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following is a revision to the Unpiloted Starships (or Vehicles) rules in the Chapter 9 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Starships (or Vehicles) - Unpiloted
A starship or vehicle that is not piloted.
Conceptually, any starship or vehicle that isn't actively being piloted (or driven) has been "powered down," and is useful for little more than something to hide in or behind. An unpiloted starship or vehicle: - has power, maneuver (if applicable), and hyperspeed (if a starship) or landspeed (if a vehicle) equal to an unmodifiable zero (if it has armor, armor = 2)
- may not move (other than the exceptions listed below)
- may not utilize weapons or devices
- may not utilize any card that would logically require the vehicle or starship to be powered or operational (e.g., Dark Maneuvers, All Power To Weapons,
Attack Pattern Delta, Trample).
Also, the starship or vehicle's game text is considered suspended, except game text related to: - deployment (either its own or to deploy cards on board itrelating to its own deployment or to the deployment of other cards [even if from a deck or pile]); [continue original entry]
Cleans up the intent of this wording a bit....especially with respect to the new Jabba's Sail Barge (V).
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following are recently published errata that are considered added to Appendix A of the AR effective immediately:
Anger, Fear, Aggression (V)
Deploy on table with any number of Defensive Shields from outside your deck face-down here. Four times per game, may play a card from here (as if from hand). Unless canceling your Interrupt, opponent may not play Uncertain Is The Future until the end of your first turn.
Knowledge And Defense (V)
Deploy on table with any number of Defensive Shields from outside your deck face-down here. Four times per game, may play a card from here (as if from hand). Unless canceling your Interrupt, opponent may not play Recoil In Fear until the end of your first turn.
Jabba's Prize (V)
Jabba’s Prize is a Light Side card and does not count towards your deck limit (but subtracts one from the number of cards you may place under your Starting Effect). Reveal to opponent when deploying your Starting Effect. [rest unchanged]
F-11D Blaster Rifle
Deploy on your First Order warrior. May target a character or vehicle at same or adjacent site for free. Draw destiny. Target hit, and may not be used to satisfy attrition, if destiny +1 (+2 if fired by a stormtrooper) > defense value.
First Order Stormtrooper
Deploys free to same site as a First Order leader. Opponent’s characters here are cumulatively defense value -1 for each First Order stormtrooper (limit -3).
Dengar With Blaster Carbine (V)
This card is receiving a slight tweak to clarify that his permanent weapon is called "Dengar's Blaster Carbine."
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following are some additions/revisions to Appendix B of the AR and are effective immediately.
Double Back
The first function of this Interrupt is a top-level action that may be initiated at any time to search your Lost Pile for a bounty hunter, even if it is known that no bounty hunter is in the Lost Pile.
Han's Back
See Double Back.
Leia's Back
See Double Back.
Luke's Back
See Double Back.
Artoo, Come Back At Once!
See Double Back.
Return Of A Jedi
See Double Back.
Yoda, You Seek Yoda
See Double Back.
Star Destroyer: Launch Bay
Although this site is not a docking bay, starfighters may deploy, land, or take off here as if it were a docking bay. The site's game text is clarified as follows: Shuttle - Your cards that may shuttle to this site's star destroyer may instead shuttle here; likewise, your cards here may shuttle to a site related to that star destroyer.
Transfer - You may dock another starship with this site's related star destroyer (following the normal rules of moving between docked starships) and transfer cards between that starship and this site (when doing so, the cost of docking is free).
Embark - Your starships may land at this site as if it were a docking bay (treat as an 'embarking' unlimited move).
Disembark - Your starships may take off from this site as if it were a docking bay (treat as a 'disembarking' unlimited move). [remaining entry unchanged]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following is an addition to the Combat Cards entry in Appendix C of the AR and is effective immediately.
Lightsaber Combat - Combat Cards
[original entry unchanged] Combat cards can be used to replace a single lightsaber combat or duel destiny draw. The destiny value of a combat card is a substituted destiny draw, but the physical card itself is not a destiny draw or just drawn. When a combat card is a substituted destiny, it can only be modified, canceled, or reset by other cards that specifically target combat cards. [continue original entry]
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22857
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

Please note the updated errata to the Starting Effects, effective immediately

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

Just a few more rulings to push out before the MPC.

The following is an addition and revision to the beginning of the entry on page 7-6 of the AR for Movement - moving through locations:
Movement - moving through locations

Some types of movement allow a card to make a move 'through' (or across) a location to get to another final destination, such as a character, vehicle, etc. moving using landspeed (>1), or starfighter sector movement. To initiate a long-range movement from location A to C (through location B), the full "path" is considered in order to confirm if it is within range (see Regular - Landspeed), and that nothing is at the final location preventing you from moving there based upon the initial location (such as the game text of Endor: Bunker). The final condition which must be met is the ability to move from location A to Location B. If anything prevents a card at A from moving to B (such as Ephant Mon preventing opponent's spies, gamblers, or thieves from moving to his site) the movement cannot be initiated.

Movement costs are paid based upon moving from the initial location to the final location. Any movement costs for locations passed "through" to get to that final destination are considered to be "free" and, thus, may not be modified or reset.

Once all conditions and costs for long-range movement are met, the movement can be initiated. At each point along the path, the movement from one location to the next in the series is reviewed to verify movement can continue.
A character, vehicle, etc. moving 'through' (or across) a location is considered to be at that location as it passes through it. This can trigger automatic actions (for example, an Utinni Effect) and can satisfy conditions (for example, control of a location). If any of these triggered actions or conditions force the vehicle to stop at an intermediate location (for example, a Sandwhirl makes the skiff driver go missing), or gametext prevents moving to the next location in the series (such as if Captain Bewil is in the midst of a series of mobile sites), the movement ends at that location. It should be noted that new (non-automatic) actions may not be initiated until the movement action is finished. For example, a Dark Side player can only play The Circle Is Now Complete if Vader ends his movement at Obi-Wan's location, not if Vader simply "passes" Obi-Wan.
The following is a revision to Weapons - Starship And Vehicle Weapons in Chapter 9 of the AR and is effective immediately:
Weapons - Starship And Vehicle Weapons
A kind of weapon that deploys on a starship or vehicle (it may only be used by that starship or vehicle). Your starships and vehicles may fire weapons so long as they are piloted (or driven). This counts as the starship or vehicle firing, not the characters or permanent pilots on board, even if the weapon's game text mentions that a character is required in order to target with it (thus, a Nikto alone on a Skiff may use his Mos Eisley Blaster the same turn the Skiff fires an Antipersonnel Laser Cannon).
This revision helps to clarify that, for example, when Han Chewie And The Falcon fires a starship weapon, it does not count as Han (permanent pilot) firing a weapon.

-------------------------------------------------------

The following are additions/updates to Appendix A of the AR and are effective immediately.
Come Here You Big Coward (Special Edition)
This Effect is now unique (*) and should be read as "(*)Come Here You Big Coward". The exclamation point has also been removed from the title.
This change is to go along with the precedent of all other Effects and Defensive Shields that share a card title: they all should have the same uniqueness and card title.
**Floating Refinery
Deploy on a cloud sector (limit one per sector). Force you activate may be drawn into hand (one per turn for each of your Floating Refineries on table). Each cloud sector or gas miner drawn in this way by this device may be revealed to retrieve 1 Force.
Just clarifying that if you have two of these devices out you do not get to retrieve twice for each sector or miner drawn.

And lastly, a new Appendix B entry that is effective immediately.
Jabba's Prize (V)
If Light elects to use this card against Carbon Chamber Testing while starting the You Can Either Profit By This... Objective and Dark starts with Jabba's Prize, the virtual version still replaces Dark's version once it is placed in the Security Tower. All of the subsequent instructions on Dark's Jabba's Prize (after the first sentence in italics) simply do not take effect. LS would then deploy and resolve his Objective normally.
Just clarifying a potential obscure but confusing interaction that could occur should Light attempt to use Jabba's Prize (V) while playing Profit.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is a revision to Chapter 1, Section A on Page 1-3 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Placing Cards Into A Hand, Deck, Or Pile
When a rule or game text allows or requires a card to be placed into (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) a player's deck, pile, stack or hand, (either individually or as part of an exchange) and that text does not specify which player's hand, deck, or pile it should be placed in, the card is placed into (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) the hand, deck, or pile belonging to its owner. Also, when an action places multiple cards into a player's hand, deck, or pile, and the card's game text does not state which player may decide the order of those cards, placing each card is considered a competing automatic action, and the order is decided by the player whose turn it is. When a card is placed into (or on, on top of, on bottom of, exchanged with a card within, etc.) a hand, deck, pile, or stack, do not reveal the card(s) unless instructed to do so, or in the following situations:

• If the card(s) is being placed into a face up condition, either by itself, or as part of a face up deck, pile, or stack (but not a hand) it may be seen by both players.
• If there are any criteria for what kind of card you may place into a deck, pile, stack, or hand, you must reveal that card regardless of initial face-down or face-up orientation
However, if the action placing a card in a deck, pile, stack, or hand uses the word “unseen,” then neither player may view the card(s) being placed (although the player of the card will likely have this knowledge if it came from hand).

Note that if a card was revealed when removing it from a stack, it need not be revealed a second time (if appropriate) when moving into another deck, pile, stack, or hand.
The following, related entry is being placed at the end of the "Exchange" section on page 1-3 of the AR, effective immediately:
When exchanging cards, the cards placed into or removed from a deck, pile, or stack shall be revealed to player when appropriate. (see Removing Cards from a Hand, Deck, Pile, or Stack and Placing Cards Into A Hand, Deck, Or Pile)
-the final result of this change is that when exchanging cards from Lost Pile the cards are now revealed when being placed both IN the Lost Pile and when they are removed FROM the Lost Pile.

The "Substituted Destinies" section of Chapter 1 has been reorganized to answer the most common questions first (explaining that substituted draws cannot be modified/canceled/reset and do not count towards limits).
A clarification has also been added (underlined in the below entry) to help players distinguish the difference between the substituted value and the physical card that provides that value.
These Substituted Destinies updates are merely for clarification/readability purposes and do not represent any form of gameplay impact.
Substituted Destinies
A destiny you have not physically drawn. A substituted destiny value cannot be modified, canceled, or reset and does not count towards limits on the number of destinies that may be drawn. With those restrictions in mind, a substituted destiny value is considered a "destiny draw," has been "just drawn," etc. However, the physical card (if any) used to provide that substituted value is NOT considered a "destiny draw", "just drawn", etc. For example, a substituted destiny value may trigger Tauntaun Bones or R2-D2, but the physical card providing that value cannot be 'jammed' by Joh Yowza.
If you are using a value from a different card (such as a starfighter's maneuver with Darklighter Spin) the destiny value is determined the moment the substituted action takes place (using all existing modifiers). Note, however, that all you are using is the destiny value, no other aspects.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following is an addition to the Permanent Weapons rules in Chapter 9 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Weapons - Permanent Weapons
[original entry unchanged]'Scanning' or copying the game text of a card with a permanent weapon does not enable the scanning card to use that weapon, and the scanning card is not considered to possess that weapon. Cards that modify, reset, or otherwise change the destiny number, deploy cost, or forfeit value of a specific type of weapon (e.g., a blaster, bowcaster or lightsaber) have no impact on cards with permanent weapons.
The following is an addition to the end of the "Weapons - hit" entry of Chapter 9:
Weapons - 'hit'
If a successful weapon firing has multiple results (such as "target hit and opponent loses 2 force" or "target hit and is forfeit=0"), and one of those results is for the target to be hit, then anything that prevents the target from being hit also prevents all of the other results.
-one example of an impact for this is that destroyer droids shooting low ability folk at the Chasm Walkway (with Weather Vane out) or at the Theed Generator Core, the opponent no longer has to suffer the direct damage after a successful draw. This was done mostly because of odd interactions with Weather Vane where characters could relocate there, then relocate back to a site while still being under some other lingering weapon effects.

The following is a minor update to "Starships - passengers" in Chapter 9:
Passengers aboard an enclosed vehicle or starship (except characters "below decks" at vehicle or starship sites or in a vehicle or starship in the cargo hold) participate in battles at the location of that vehicle or starship normally, except that they may not apply their ability toward drawing battle destiny there.
And the following is a minor update to "Starships - enclosed", also in Chapter 9:
On an enclosed vehicle or starship, all characters may use ability, forfeit and game text (when appropriate), but only pilots and drivers –not passengers– may apply their ability toward drawing battle destiny there.
These two updates are intended to clarify that, in the extremely rare circumstances where a character or permanent pilot can apply their ability towards drawing battle destiny elsewhere (e.g. via the card Help me Obi-Wan Kenobi), the fact that they are a passenger would not prevent them from doing so.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following is a revision to an Appendix B entry in the AR and is effective immediately.
Carbon Chamber Testing / My Favorite Decoration
When deploying a Rebel (as a prisoner) to the Security Tower at the start of the game, it deploys regardless of location deployment restrictions (this is a specific exception to the start of game rules). If there are no Rebels you can legally deploy, this objective plays (for remainder of game) as if there were no Rebels in the Light Side player's deck. You may verify your opponent's Reserve Deck at this point as you would after any other failed search. [rest of entry unchanged]
The following is an addition to an Appendix B entry in the AR and is effective immediately.
Noble Sacrifice
[remaining entry unchanged]On rare occasions, when this Interrupt attempts to place a character out of the play, another action may cause the character to instead end up at a different location, or returned to hand, or to a stack or pile. In such cases, this Interrupt simply 'fails' and is placed in the Lost Pile.
The following are new entries added to Appendix B of the AR and are effective immediately.
Visored Vision
This Interrupt is initiated when the Light Side player names the Interrupt card. "Response" actions (such as Sense) may then be played, before the opponent's Used Pile is revealed and the USED or LOST function is selected.
Voyeur
See Visored Vision
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is an addition to the "Up to" entry in Chapter 1 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Up to
Treat the phrase 'up to X' as '1 to X.' Thus zero is not a valid choice (unless, obviously, X is 0). Also, the phrase 'up to X' cannot exceed the number of cards available in the deck or pile that will be used to complete the action.
Hopefully a common sense clarification. If you are allowed to peek at "up to 5" cards in your Reserve Deck for example, but the Deck only has 3 cards in it, you may not attempt to peek at 5 cards. This prevents some silly unintended loopholes from occurring when the action would have 'failed.'

The following is an addendum to the "Interrupts - Starting" entry in Chapter 9 of the AR and is effective immediately.
Interrupts - Starting
[previous entry unchanged]In addition, an Interrupt performing a 'Starting' function may not be targeted to be 'grabbed.'
Hopefully self-explanatory here.

And lastly, the official errata listing here for Chief Bast.

The following is an update to an errata entry in Appendix A of the AR and is effective on March 1st.
Chief Bast
Adds 2 to power of anything he pilots. Power +1 at same site as Tarkin. If a battle was just initiated at a system where Bast is present with your non-droid character, may 'evacuate' (relocate) both to a related site.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19194
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings and Errata

Post by Aglets »

We have a small build-up errata here (and one incredibly minor clarification) that probably should get pushed out. All errata are additions to Appendix A of the AR and are effective immediately.
A Dark Time For The Rebellion (V)
[previous text unchanged]Until end of turn, battle destiny draws may not be canceled (unless being redrawn) or modified.
This minor change clarifies that when this card is played, battle destiny draws are never able to be modified, but they can potentially still be canceled if they're being redrawn.
Firepower (V)
Plays on table. If opponent moves from a location you occupy during your turn (unless 'moving through' the location), they lose 2 Force. [remaining text unchanged]
Just a slight revision brought up by GEMP where we don't want to create extra hardship on characters/vehicles/starships with long-range movement.
Human Shield
USED: If an opponent's weapon is about to 'hit' an Imperial present with a captive being escorted, the captive is 'hit' instead.
LOST: During the damage segment of a battle at a site, you may forfeit any or all captives present (once per battle per captive).
This clarifies when the LOST portion of the Interrupt is supposed to be played, and also makes it more clear that the Imperial with the captive is not actually 'hit.'
Gold 5
This starfighter is considered to have the [nav computer icon].
Red 2
This starfighter is considered to have the [nav computer icon].
Red 3
This starfighter is considered to have the [nav computer icon].
Red 5
This starfighter is considered to have the [nav computer icon].
Just a small fix that Decipher should've likely made long ago. These snubfighters are now no longer exceptionally worse than any other unpiloted snubfighter.

And speaking of errors made by Decipher...........here is the minor clarification that I alluded to earlier. This is an addition to Appendix B of the AR.
Short-range Fighters
This card is considered to have the same card title as the combo card Short Range Fighters & Watch Your Back!.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

Locked

Return to “Rules Questions”