Maneuver substitution and modification

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
Post Reply
User avatar
Munchanka
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: May 22nd, 2014, 10:30 pm
Location: Oakland, CA
GEMP Username: munchanka
Contact:

Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Munchanka »

When you have cards like Legacy's Jedi Starfighter where the maneuver = *, and game text says * = pilot's ability, is this the only maneuver the starfighter can have or is this the base maneuver value that can be modified?


Austin Madison
Game Designer, Ameritrash Games

User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 21052
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Gergall »

It can be modified. It is not a "reset".
Reset
The changing of a value to a specific new value (such as power=0). When a value is reset (e.g., ion cannons, crashed vehicles, weapons that set forfeit = 0, Lateral Damage), that value is unmodifiable until restored to normal (or until the affected card leaves play). Some cards define their value in their game text, such as Jawa or Brainiac. This is not resetting and may be modified.
Greg Zinn
Image

Karrdeshark
World Champion
World Champion
Posts: 2646
Joined: February 1st, 2003, 3:50 pm

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Karrdeshark »

Gergall wrote:It can be modified. It is not a "reset".
Reset
The changing of a value to a specific new value (such as power=0). When a value is reset (e.g., ion cannons, crashed vehicles, weapons that set forfeit = 0, Lateral Damage), that value is unmodifiable until restored to normal (or until the affected card leaves play). Some cards define their value in their game text, such as Jawa or Brainiac. This is not resetting and may be modified.
Does the bolded text only apply to cards with a '*'?
Image

User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 21052
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Gergall »

Karrdeshark wrote:
Gergall wrote:It can be modified. It is not a "reset".
Reset
The changing of a value to a specific new value (such as power=0). When a value is reset (e.g., ion cannons, crashed vehicles, weapons that set forfeit = 0, Lateral Damage), that value is unmodifiable until restored to normal (or until the affected card leaves play). Some cards define their value in their game text, such as Jawa or Brainiac. This is not resetting and may be modified.
Does the bolded text only apply to cards with a '*'?
Do you have any specific examples you want to look at?

At the very least, it could be some other symbol. For example, Brainiac famously uses X and Y instead of *
Greg Zinn
Image

arebelspy
World Champion
World Champion
Posts: 17325
Joined: July 14th, 2005, 4:45 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by arebelspy »

The Falcon with Rey piloting? (On phone so don't have text, sorry!)

Karrdeshark
World Champion
World Champion
Posts: 2646
Joined: February 1st, 2003, 3:50 pm

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Karrdeshark »

That's correct, I was thinking of the Falcon:
The Falcon wrote:While [Episode VII] Chewie, [Episode VII] Han, or Rey piloting manuver = 6 and immune to attrition < 5."
In proofing, we assumed that meant that its maneuver could no longer be modified because it had been reset. Is that correct?
Image

User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 21052
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Gergall »

Yeah that's a reset to 6, no modification possible.

Another example of a reset is Like My Father Before Me resetting Luke's deploy to 6. No modification possible, from Luke's own text or anywhere else.
Greg Zinn
Image

User avatar
puck71
Member
Posts: 12897
Joined: February 17th, 2008, 8:59 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN
GEMP Username: puck71

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by puck71 »

Based on that ar entry, it does seem the falcon is defining its value in its game text and thus would not be a reset.
John Anderson
Proofing, Tournament Committee, GEMP Team

arebelspy
World Champion
World Champion
Posts: 17325
Joined: July 14th, 2005, 4:45 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by arebelspy »

puck71 wrote:Based on that ar entry, it does seem the falcon is defining its value in its game text and thus would not be a reset.
I thought that for a minute, but I don't think so.

If the printed maneuver was *, And the gametext said "* = 6 if han or rey piloting, 3 otherwise" or somethign to that effect, it would be defining in the game text, and would be modifiable.

Since the printed maneuver is 4 and the gametext says it = 6 when rey/han piloting, then it's a reset. Because it's already defined (in the printed part) and then the gametext resets it. It doesn't define it. Therefore it isn't modifiable.

That's how I see it.

Hopefully gergall can confirm.

User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 21052
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Gergall »

Falcon is not "defining" the value in its game text. It more closely resembles the first line of that same quoted AR entry.
Reset
The changing of a value to a specific new value (such as power=0).
The examples of defining are Jawa and Brainiac, cards that have variables (asterisk, X, Y) and you have to read the text to find out what it means.
Greg Zinn
Image

Karrdeshark
World Champion
World Champion
Posts: 2646
Joined: February 1st, 2003, 3:50 pm

Re: Maneuver substitution and modification

Post by Karrdeshark »

Great, thanks! Glad that works the way we thought.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”