Oooph, Wooof

SWCCG Rules Q&A only.
Post Reply
Wokling
Member
Posts: 502
Joined: February 8th, 2019, 11:26 am
GEMP Username: ototoi

Oooph, Wooof

Post by Wokling »

Wooof v and Combat Response v - how do these work together?
Wooof v says, "May deploy with any cruiser using Combat Response."
CR says, "Once per turn may reveal an unpiloted starfighter from hand to upload its matching pilot character (or vice versa) and deploy both simultaneously."

In a game, my opponent revealed Wooof v then deployed him with Jabba's Space Cruiser v, which is neither a starfighter or unpiloted. Is that correct? I had always assumed that Wooof v could only pull the non-v Cruiser (because it was unpiloted). Or does his "any cruiser" text override not just "starfighter" but also "unpiloted."

Assuming that works, can it be confirmed for me that you cannot flash Jabba's Space Cruiser v and find Wooof because it's not an unpiloted starfighter? That is, you can flash Wooof v to get the Cruiser v because he's a matching pilot character, but you cannot flash the Cruiser v to get Wooof because it is not an unpiloted starfighter.

Thanks!



DutchVader
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: July 28th, 2011, 10:54 am
Location: Haarlem, The Netherlands

Re: Oooph, Wooof

Post by DutchVader »


User avatar
Gergall
Rules Advocate
Posts: 21068
Joined: December 9th, 2002, 1:14 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Oooph, Wooof

Post by Gergall »

Thanks for posting the link. Here is the text:
After a brief rules team discussion, it looks like you may reveal Wooof (V) to match with ANY cruiser, even Dreadnaught which has a permanent pilot. Naturally, you cannot reveal a Dreadnaught to find Wooof (V).

By the way, please note that you actually cannot reveal Jabba's Space Cruiser. "Deploys and moves like a starfighter" isn't good enough to reveal it with combat response. You can compare against Hound's Tooth (V) which says "Deploys (even using Combat Response) and moves like a starfighter".
Greg Zinn
Image

Wokling
Member
Posts: 502
Joined: February 8th, 2019, 11:26 am
GEMP Username: ototoi

Re: Oooph, Wooof

Post by Wokling »

Gergall wrote:
January 6th, 2021, 8:35 am
Thanks for posting the link. Here is the text:
After a brief rules team discussion, it looks like you may reveal Wooof (V) to match with ANY cruiser, even Dreadnaught which has a permanent pilot. Naturally, you cannot reveal a Dreadnaught to find Wooof (V).

By the way, please note that you actually cannot reveal Jabba's Space Cruiser. "Deploys and moves like a starfighter" isn't good enough to reveal it with combat response. You can compare against Hound's Tooth (V) which says "Deploys (even using Combat Response) and moves like a starfighter".
Thank you both.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”