Current Rulings Archive August 2012 - December 2015

User avatar
Advocate
Advocate
Posts: 36604
Joined: October 29th, 2002, 5:18 pm
Location: Yardley, PA
GEMP Username: advocate

Current Rulings Archive August 2012 - December 2015

Post by Advocate »

Please note that all current rulings may be found in the main rules downloads section.

The rules advocate, Mark Peterson, will update this forum topic as needed with newer rulings until the next rules update and then this topic will be reset.

Rules Team EDIT: Rulings issued in this thread from July 2010 through early August 2012 have been published in the new Advanced Rulebook 2.0, which was released on August 10th, 2012.
Because they are now part of the AR, those rulings have been removed from this thread and placed in the Rules FAQ/Archives subforum.



User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

Well, you knew it would happen eventually. Not even a week after the latest AR revision is published, some new current rulings need to be issued.

Here we go.

The following is a revision to the Movement - carrying cards entry in Chapter 7 of the AR.

Movement - carrying cards
"Many cards can "carry" other cards, such as starships and vehicles, characters carrying weapons or devices, or even Luke carrying Yoda in Luke's Backpack. When the carrying card performs a permitted move, all carried cards are relocated with it. This is not considered to be movement for the carried card. Thus a card that cannot move is not restricted from being carried. Note that a character "carrying" another character (such as Yoda in Luke's Backpack) cannot move aboard a vehicle or starship unless there is sufficient capacity for the carrying character and the carried character. [continue original entry]
This clarification is designed to show that in no way are escorts considered to be 'carrying' captives.
-----------------------------------------------------
And the following is an errata addition to Appendix A of the AR and is effective immediately.

Vibro-Ax (both sides)
Use 3 Force to deploy on any alien warrior. Adds 1 to power. May target a character using 1 Force. Both players draw destiny. Target immediately excluded from battle if warrior's power + your destiny > target's power + opponent's destiny.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

Another week, more rulings for all.

The following errata are considered added to Appendix A of the AR effective immediately. They change these Defensive Shields so that they no longer 'define' a new total battle destiny value for you, instead they let you substitute a value of 1 for the total. Since substituted values may not be further modified or reset, this new value of 1 can not be altered in any way by cards that modify total battle destiny (like In The Hands Of The Empire) or reset it (Zuckuss In Mist Hunter).

Abyss (V)

Plays on table. Substituted battle destinies do not count against battle destiny limits. If all your battle destinies were canceled (and not redrawn) use 1 for your total battle destiny instead. Once per game, may play a Defensive Shield from under your Starting Effect.

Chasm (V)

Plays on table. Substituted battle destinies do not count against battle destiny limits. If all your battle destinies were canceled (and not redrawn) use 1 for your total battle destiny instead. Once per game, may play a Defensive Shield from under your Starting Effect.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And the Substituted Values entry in the AR is being slightly tweaked as well.
A value that you use instead of another value (either on a card, or some previously existing total). In some cases, these can be used even if the total was canceled (Abyss (V)). For example, Molator (V)......[continue original entry].
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And the following is an addition to the Leaves Table entry in Chapter 1 of the AR.

"For complex timing interactions, consider the phrase "leaving the table" to be functionally equivalent to "about to leave the table." See Actions - Before, Ch. 1.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And the following is another addition to Appendix A in the AR.

Ascension Guns (V)

USED function remains unchanged.
LOST: During any move phase, lose 2 Force to relocate up to 3 of your characters from an interior Theed Palace site to any related Throne Room (or vice versa).
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is a slight revision to Chapter 6 of the AR.

Power Segment - Totaling Power
....Occasionally a card will specify that you "add one destiny to power only" or "add a destiny to total power." [Continue original entry]
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is an addition to Appendix B in the AR.

Landing Claw
While attached, if the capital starship is lost, the attached starfighter is also lost. The capital starship is considered to be 'carrying' the attached starfighter, so if the capital starship moves away, and the attached starfighter comes along for the ride, that starfighter is being 'carried,' not moving on its own. See Movement - carrying cards.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following errata come to you courtesy of the Competitive Balance Team and a collaboration with Design/Rules.

Advantage (V)

Deploy on your battleground. Once per battle, if opponent's card is hit by a non-[PW] weapon, may make opponent's total power -4 (-2 if hit by a lightsaber).

I Want That Ship (V)

Deploy on your battleground. Once per battle, if opponent's card is hit by a non-[PW] weapon, may make opponent's total power -4 (-2 if hit by a lightsaber).

Imperial Occupation (V)

Text: Deploy Hoth system, [Virtual Block 6] Ice Plains and [Virtual Block 8] Main Power Generators. May deploy Imperial Decree.
For remainder of game, Walker Garrison is an Out of Play Interrupt and [Immune to Sense]. AT-ATs are deploy -1 to marker sites. Non-[Virtual] You May Start Your Landing is canceled.
While this side up, Revolution is canceled. Once during your turn, may /\ AT-AT Cannon, Hoth Blockade, Electro-Rangefinder, or a [Hoth] Epic Event.
Flip this card if Main Power Generators 'blown away' and Hoth Blockade on Hoth.

Imperial Control (V)
Text: While this side up, Revolution is canceled. Rebels are deploy +1 to Hoth sites. Your total battle destiny at Hoth system is +1 for each Imperial there. Unless opponent controls a Hoth location, your Force drain bonuses may not be canceled. Once per turn, when you deploy an AT-AT, may retrieve any one card (except an Interrupt or vehicle) into hand. During your deploy phase, may \/ a marker site.
Flip this card if Hoth Blockade not on Hoth.

Merc Sunlet (V)

This card has been 'blanked' effective immediately but may be re-virtualized and re-released at a later date.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following errata are considered added to Appendix A of the AR effective immediately.

There Is No Try & Oppressive Enforcement (V)

The 5th sentence on this card should read:

"While present here, each Imperial Council Member adds one [DS icon]."

This was certainly not intended to be a global effect.

Darth Vader, Betrayer Of The Jedi

"P3. The Circle Is Now Complete is canceled. While present with [Ref III] Obi-Wan or a Jedi Council Member, may add one battle destiny, lightsabers here may not be 'swung' twice, and their immunity to attrition is canceled. Immune to attrition < 5."

Vader's text has been clarified to be more consistent with other cards that add battle destinies, showing clearly that his ability to add one is not intended to be a global effect.

The Shield Is Down! (V) (replaces all previous errata for this card)

"If [V7] Rebel Strike Team on table, deploy on table. Your [Endor] Epic Event total is +1 for each of your non-Jedi scouts at Bunker. For each of your non-Jedi scouts in battle, attrition against opponent is +1. While opponent's [Endor] objective on table, Bunker may not be converted. Once per turn may /\ Bunker."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following is an addition to Appendix B of the AR.

Motion Supported

The battle destiny substitution portion of this card counts as 'canceling' the original destiny for the purposes of cards that prevent such cancellations. If your battle destinies are prevented from being canceled by other rules or cards, you may not initiate this text.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following is a revision to an entry in Appendix C of the AR and is effective immediately.

Undercover Spy Rules - Deploy as Undercover Spy
.....Deploying a card as an undercover spy still counts as deploying a character, a card with ability (if applicable), a card of that card type, etc. or even that particular persona before going undercover. For timing purposes, 'just' responses to the deployment of the spy (Blaster Rack (V) for example) may also take place before the spy becomes inactive (this is a specific exception to the normal timing rules in Chapter 1 of the AR).
This clarification is meant to show that deploying undercover spies still allows them to be targeted by cards that target various 'just deployed' characters, such as I Must Be Allowed To Speak (V) or Guild Of Assassins, and you may also deploy weapons on them via Blaster Rack (V) or Sai'torr Kal Fas (V).
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is an errata to Floating Refinery (V) and is effective immediately. Note the name change.
*Tibanna Floating Refinery

Deploy on a cloud sector. Your Force generation is +1 at cloud sectors you occupy. Once during your control phase, if you occupy this sector and a battleground site, may draw destiny. If destiny > 2, retrieve 1 Force. If lost from table, place this Device in Used Pile.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following entry is an addition to Appendix B of the AR and is effective immediately.

Space Slug

When this creature is deployed, its mouth begins in an 'open' state.
----------------------------------------------
And the following is a slight revision to the "Burying Mines" entry in Appendix C of the AR.
If your mining droid is present at an exterior planet site, it may ‘bury’ (place face down) mines there to simulate creation of a minefield. You may bury any number of cards from your hand face down underneath that site, but only during your deploy phase.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The Out Of Play Interrupt subtype is hereby and forevermore considered removed from Star Wars CCG, effective immediately. Any references to such a subtype in the AR are to be ignored.

On the heels of this change, the following errata have been added to Appendix A of the AR.

Local Uprising (V)

Deploy Hoth system and [V6] Main Power Generators. May deploy Echo Base Garrison and/or Maneuvering Flaps.
For remainder of game, you may not deploy Hoth Sentry or non-Hoth locations (except Rendezvous Point). T-47 Battle Formation may only be played once per game and is [Immune to Sense].
While this side up, during your deploy phase, may \/ an exterior Hoth site or a non-unique Rebel to Hoth.
Flip this card during your move phase if you control three exterior Hoth sites with T-47s and/or non-unique Rebels.
Place out of play if Main Power Generators 'blown away.'

Imperial Occupation (V) (obsoletes all previous errata to this card)

Deploy Hoth system, [Virtual Block 6] Ice Plains and [Virtual Block 8] Main Power Generators. May deploy Imperial Decree.
For remainder of game, AT-ATs deploy -1 to marker sites. Walker Garrison may only be played once per game and is [Immune to Sense]. Non-[Virtual] You May Start Your Landing is canceled.
While this side up, Revolution is canceled. Once during your turn, may /\ AT-AT Cannon, Hoth Blockade, Electro-Rangefinder, or a [Hoth] Epic Event.
Flip this card if Main Power Generators 'blown away' and Hoth Blockade on Hoth.

Force Push (V)

LOST INTERRUPT
Once per game, choose: during battle, use 2 Force to target your Dark Jedi and opponent's character of equal or lesser ability present. Both targets are excluded from battle. OR Exchange two cards from hand with any one card from Force Pile; reshuffle.

Through The Force Things You Will See (V)

LOST INTERRUPT
Once per game, choose: if you are about to recirculate at the end of your turn, and you have fewer cards in Used Pile than Force Pile, place your Used Pile under your Force Pile instead. OR Place the top card of your Used Pile on top of your Force Pile.

Wookiee Strangle (V)

LOST INTERRUPT
Once per game, during your move phase, target opponent's character present with your Wookiee. Both players draw destiny. Add Wookiee's power; opponent adds target's defense value. Target lost if your total destiny +2 > opponent's total destiny.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is an addition to Appendix B of the AR and is effective immediately. It is an addition to the previous ruling on Imperial Stockpile and of course also applies to its LS counterpart, Rebel Gunrunner.

Imperial Stockpile

This card may be used to deploy a non-unique weapon more than once on the same turn and it may thus participate in more than one battle per turn. This is an exception to the normal rules that address participating in battle.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

And now some rulings that have been backed up on my desk for far too long, are finally ready to be released. I'll start a thread on the Discussion board for people to help further explain them.

#1 - Coming down on weapons firing

The following are slight revisions / additions to the Weapons section in Chapter 9 of the AR.

Weapons - Firing

The act of using a weapon against an opponent's target, including swinging a lightsaber, ax, or Gaderffii Stick. [continue original entry].

Also, insert a reference to 'see Weapons - just fired' after the end of the first paragraph.

(new entry)

Weapons - Just Fired

A weapon is considered to have been 'just fired' after the firing action has completed all 3 steps successfully (Initiation, Responses, and Result). If a weapon firing action is canceled or prevented from resolving throughout this process, then that weapon cannot be considered to have been 'just fired.'

And the following is an addition (new entry) to Chapter 1 of the AR, under Steps Of An Action - 2: Responses

Actions - Just Targeted

One card is considered to have 'just targeted' another for 'response action' purposes during this second step of action resolution. This means that a player must wait for his opponent to completely finish the Initiation of the first action (including Meeting Conditions, Specifying Targets, and Paying Costs) before he can play a response action, even if that action uses the phrase 'just targeted.'
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

One more ruling for today.

#2 - Responding to Just Drawn Destiny Draws with more Destiny Draws

The following are additions changes to Chapter 1 in the AR.

Page 1-1, Section A

Life Force

Your Reserve Deck, Force Pile, and Used Pile. If these three piles are totally depleted, you lose the game! Note that Unresolved Destiny Draws (see entry, Ch. 1) are also considered to be a part of your Life Force, as well as your sabacc hand (see Appendix C). [continue original entry]

Page 1-2, Section A

Losing Force

You may choose cards to be lost from your hand, from the top of your Reserve Deck, Force Pile, or Used Pile, as well as from your sabacc hand or your most recent Unresolved Destiny Draw. [continue original entry]

Page 1-20, Section F

Changes to "Step 1: Drawing the destiny"

Reveal the top card of your Reserve Deck and move it to the table. It is now an unresolved destiny draw (see Unresolved Destiny Draws, Ch. 1).

Page 1-21, Section F

New entry

Unresolved Destiny Draws

These are destiny draws that have been drawn from the Reserve Deck but are not yet 'completed' (see Step 5 of How To Draw Destiny, Ch. 1). They are still subject to modifers and may be targeted by automatic or "Response" actions. They are still Units of Force and are not considered to be 'on table' for any purposes.

Your unresolved destiny draws are considered part of your Life Force. As such, cards you have drawn for destiny but not yet resolved may be lost to satisfy required Force losses that might occur during that time frame (such as from an 'insert' card). Remember that the destiny value and the card itself are separate entities, so if you lose an unresolved destiny draw card to satisfy force loss, the destiny value still exists.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following is an addition to Appendix B in the AR and is effective immediately.

Lord Vader (V)

When this character takes an opponent's just lost lightsaber using his gametext, it is considered a 'stolen' card for gameplay purposes.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following are additions/revisions to the AR and are effective immediately.

Chapter 9

Icons - Shorthand Icons

(V) - A virtual card
------------------------------------

Appendix C

Undercover Spy Rules
Certain cards can make your character into an "undercover spy", such as the Effect card Undercover or the Immediate Effect A Gift. When your spy goes undercover, place it on your opponent's side of the site (even if spy was on an enclosed vehicle).
Your undercover spy is considered inactive. However, the following exceptions apply:
-Their game text remains active
-You may still deploy Effects, weapons, and devices on them (they are not inactive).
-Except during battle, they are still targeted by Interrupts, as well as cards that target spies (or ISB Agents), and anything that would cause them to be dueled, hit, or lost.
-They may not participate in battle, and thus are
considered ‘excluded from battle’ upon its initiation.
The net result of this change is that undercover spies are no longer 'excluded from battle' when a battle starts, they remain inactive the entire time. But the original three exceptions from the original AR remain the same, and are just slightly clarified to show that they are mandatory, and that undercover spies are basically untouchable during battle (but are still subject to 'all cards' situations of course).
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19349
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The following rulings are considered added to the AR and are effective immediately.

Weapons - Using Weapons, Ch. 9
Unless specified otherwise, each character, vehicle or starfighter may use (as in using its game text) only one weapon per turn (but see Characters - Warrior for a specific exception). Also, a player may not use or fire an opponent's weapon unless specifically directed otherwise.[continue original entry]
Should be self-explanatory I hope. This was issued in response to questions about rules-lawyering with Defensive Fire (V).
---------------------------------------------------------------
Calculating Attrition, Ch. 6
If you draw battle destiny, that total is your attrition (determined immediately upon the completion of all your battle destinies). Sometimes an action may modify or reset attrition; perform that action after battle destiny is drawn but before the winner is decided (unless the timing is specifically stated to be different). This is distinct from actions that satisfy or cancel attrition; perform those actions in the damage segment. For information on attrition, see Damage Segment - Attrition.
Meant to make it more clear with cards like Chevin (V) or Self-Destruct Mechanism as far as what is the appropriate timing to use them.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Characteristics - The Rule Of Three, Appendix D
In order to have a characteristic, a card must meet three criteria:
-It must be a character;
-It must have the word appear in the lore of the card (and, of course, the standard rules of name, subtype, and game text apply). It must appear in its entirety, by itself (or as a plural or possessive) as printed in the list of characteristics;
-The context must indicate that it is referring to that card. For the purposes of nonunique cards, any context that refers to the image (oftentimes a unique member example of someone from the group named by the card) pictured on the card, also applies to the card itself. This applies for all characteristics, including species. In addition, a non-unique card is considered to possess a certain characteristic if it is a member of a group and its lore states that many members of said group possess that characteristic.
Meant to benefit cards like Kitonak and Rodian.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

My first official ruling. :?? Here goes nothing...

The following is a revision to the Force Drain entry in Chapter 4 - Control Phase, Presence, & Force Draining of the AR, found on page 4-1. Changes are underlined.
Force Drain
Causing opponent to lose Force based on their icons at locations you control. (See Control Of A Location). Conceptually, if the Dark Side dominates a portion of a planet or an area of space, the Light Side Force in that area is diminished, and vice versa. Accordingly, at each location you control during your control phase, once during your control phase you may choose to cause your opponent to lose Life Force. [entry continues]
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following revision replaces the current “Exchange” entry found in Chapter 1 of the AR. This change is being made to clarify the process and timing for exchanging cards. Previously, this process was not well defined, and cards could sometimes be exchanged with themselves using such actions; this is no longer the case.
Exchange
An action that requires you to Exchange one or more card(s) with one or more card(s) in a different location. When a card instructs you to exchange one or more cards with a card (or cards) from another location, perform that exchange during the result step of the action. During the result step, select the appropriate number of cards from one of the decks, piles, or stacks targeted and set them aside, then select the appropriate number of cards from the other deck, pile, or stack targeted and set them aside. Once all target cards have been identified, perform the exchange and replace each deck, pile, or stack without shuffling, unless otherwise instructed. If you are exchanging cards in a deck, pile, or stack, the card(s) going into the deck, pile, or stack should be placed in the same order of the deck, pile, or stack as the card(s) coming out.
---------------------------------------------------------------

The following is an addition to the “Limited” entry in Chapter 1 of the AR. This addition clarifies how to handle limits and modifiers. Additions are underlined.
Limited
Things are "limited" if you are not permitted all of what you are otherwise entitled to. For instance, if you can normally generate 3 Force for your Force icons at the Death Star, and This Place Can Be A Little Rough only allows you to generate 1 there, your Force generation has been limited to 1. However, if you generate 1 Force at the Death Star: Detention Block Corridor under the same conditions, your Force generation has not been limited, because you are generating what would be the 'normal' amount. Likewise, if you can draw two battle destinies, and Imperial Command says you may only draw one, your battle destiny has been limited to one. However, if you were only entitled to draw one battle destiny, your battle destiny has not been limited, because you are drawing what you are otherwise allowed to. Anything which cancels modifiers is NOT limiting. Never apply a modifier directly to a value that's been limited. Instead, recalculate the entire value with all modifiers (in their original order) and then apply the limit at the end.
---------------------------------------------------------------

The following is an addition to the "Damage Segment" entry in Chapter 6 of the AR. This clarification ensures that cards satisfying, reducing, or canceling battle damage AND attrition (such as Ephant Mon) can be used on one such value even when the other is not pending. Additions are underlined.
Damage Segment
In this segment, players typically lose and/or forfeit cards because of three factors: weapon 'hits,' attrition and battle damage.
Actions taken to satisfy weapon 'hits,' attrition and battle damage alternate between the players, beginning with the player who initiated the battle. You may forfeit your cards and/or lose Force in any sequence, but the order you choose sometimes has strategic importance. Once you have forfeited all of your cards that were hit and satisfied all your attrition and battle damage, you may not voluntarily forfeit any additional cards. After both players have forfeited all hit cards and have satisfied all attrition and battle damage, the battle ends. Cards that allow you to satisfy, reduce, or cancel battle damage AND attrition in the damage segment may be used even if only one of those (battle damage OR attrition) is pending. This is a specific exception to the implied target rule.
---------------------------------------------------------------

The following are revisions to the “Attacks - Parasites Attacking” entry in Chapter 6 of the AR and the “Undercover Spy Rules” entry in Appendix C. These changes are being made to allow parasites to function in the same way as other creature types when attacking inactive characters (including undercover spies), as well as allowing attached parasites to remain active and continue to function on a host that goes undercover, similar to other cards carried by such a character. Additions are underlined.
Attacks - Parasites Attacking
Attackers: Your parasite creature
Potential Targets: Stated on the creatures card, in the form of Parasite: X.
Parasites will attack inactive cards, such as captives or missing characters (inactive cards are active during the attack, then return to their inactive state afterwards, if they're still on the table). If the attack reaches the power segment, the parasite automatically wins. At the beginning of the damage segment, it attaches to the target (now called the "host") with whatever result is listed in its game text. If the creature was hit, it will be lost after it has attached.
Undercover Spy Rules
Certain cards can make your character into an "undercover spy", such as the Effect card Undercover or the Immediate Effect A Gift. When your spy goes undercover, place it on your opponent's side of the site (even if spy was on an enclosed vehicle).
Your undercover spy is considered inactive. However, the following exceptions apply:
•Their game text remains active
•You may still deploy Effects, weapons, and devices on them (they are not inactive).
•Except during battle, they are still targeted by Interrupts, as well as cards that target spies (or ISB Agents), and anything that would cause them to be dueled, hit, or lost.
•Undercover spies may still be attacked by creatures, and any creature attached to an undercover spy will remain active.
[entry continues]
---------------------------------------------------------------

The following is an addition to "I Have A Bad Feeling About This" entry in Appendix B of the AR. The purpose of this addition is to clarify when the first function of this card may be played, which was never properly defined. Note that this clarification also applies to the dark side equivalent, Surprise. Additions are underlined.
I Have A Bad Feeling About This
This Interrupt's first function may be played either as a response to a just played Interrupt or Utinni Effect or as a top level action targeting a Utinni Effect already on table. It may re-target only one of the targets of an Interrupt or Utinni Effect. For example, Elis Helrot specifies two targets: a group of characters and a destination site. Thus, you may select either a different destination of the same side of the Force as the original, or a different group of Dark Side characters together at any site (which may not include any of those originally targeted), but not both. An "appropriate" target or location is one which meets the targeting or deployment requirements of the card being retargeted or relocated. The second function of this Interrupt does not relocate Utinni Effects, Mobile Effects or Immediate Effects.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

There are quite a few minor errata that I wanted to get out of the way ahead of Texas Mini Worlds. There are a few more beyond these that are still being finalized, and I hope to also post those in the next few days.

The following is a change to the "For Each/For Every" entry in Chapter 1 of the AR. Changes are underlined.
Actions - For Each/For Every
Any time game text permits you to use, lose or retrieve Force "for each" (or "every") of a certain card, characteristic, etc., that action is performed as one action for the full calculated amount. For example, if you occupy 3 Tatooine battleground sites, then Tatooine Celebration will permit you to initiate an action to retrieve 3 Force during your control phase (not three retrieval actions of one Force each). Whenever something happens "for each" or "for every" of X, and there are no X's that qualify, then that value does not exist, so it cannot be modified. For instance, the Force loss from Vengeance Of The Dark Prince is based on "opponent loses 1 Force for each battleground location occupied by Xizor or Emperor." If there are no battleground sites occupied by Xizor or Emperor, then that Force loss does not exist and cannot be modified. (See Implied Target Rule.)
Previously, if a “for each/for every” action was checking for something (such as Xizor or Emperor occupying a battle ground with Vengeance of the Dark Prince) and there was nothing that fit that requirement, the value for that action was an unmodifiable 0. However, that caused an issue with some cards that triggered once per game “for each/for every” actions even when there was no such card to trigger them (for example J'quille (v) causing a force loss of 0 when deployed to an empty site. Now in such a case, the value is no longer 0, it simply does not exist. Because of that, it is still unmodifiable, since non-existent values cannot be modified due to the Implied Target Rule. In the case of Vengance of the Dark Prince, a card like Shada cannot add 1 to the damage if there is no damage done (there is no damage value to modify) and J'Quille (v) will no longer trigger for 0 and use up his once per game text if the opponent has no characters present where he is deployed (there are no characters to target).

---------------------------------------------------------------------

The following are additions to the “Battle” and “Participating In Battle - Excluded From Battle” entries in Chapter 6 of the AR. Additions are underlined.

Also, an outdated reference to undercover spies being excluded from battle has also been stricken from the “Participating In Battle - Excluded From Battle” entry. The removed text is marked by strikethrough.
Battle
A conflict you initiate during your battle phase in an effort to deplete your opponent's Life Force. Battles can occur at a location only if both players occupy that location - i.e., they both have presence there. (But note that if all presence is completely removed from either side before the battle's power segment, the battle ends. This happens instantly, not as an action, so there is no time between the exclusion and the end of the battle for anything to take place. Events that occur at the end of battle -or last until end of battle- happen at this point, so long as they do not depend on the battle successfully completing. If all presence is removed during or after the power segment, the battle will continue as normal; however, see Explosive Charge, Ap B.) Although weapon cards are useful during battle, weapons are not required for a battle to take place. Weapons simply allow you to target specific characters, vehicles, starships etc. (Conceptually, weapons represent a character, vehicle, or starship's skill with a weapon.) You may battle more than once during a turn, but not at the same location. Each of your characters, vehicles and starships may battle only once per turn, and those cards are considered to have participated in a battle from the moment it is initiated; even if they are somehow moved away from the battle or the battle is canceled, those cards may not participate in another battle that turn. Also, game text that prevents a character, vehicle, or starship from being excluded from battle may not be used to allow that card to participate in more than one battle per turn. Other cards such as devices, artillery weapons, automated weapons, Interrupts and Effects may be used in more than one battle per turn (if applicable and subject to the rules on unique and restricted cards).
Participating In Battle - Excluded From Battle
Excluding a card from battle removes a card from participating in the current battle in progress. Cards that are excluded from battle are considered inactive for the duration of the battle (remember that when a card is inactive, then all cards deployed on and aboard it are inactive as well); however, being excluded will not cause objectives to flip or other cards to be canceled or otherwise removed from table (these are specific exceptions to the rules). Inactive pilots and passengers will still occupy pilot/passenger capacity slots. Only a card currently participating in a battle is a suitable target for an exclusion action (except for cards subjected to a "may not participate" condition). Inactive cards do not participate in battle (since they are not on table for such purposes); however, simply making a card inactive does not count as excluding it for the purposes of actions that prevent or are triggered by exclusion. [strikethrough]Undercover spies are the only exception to this rule (see Appendix C) and are excluded from battle by rule upon its initiation.[/strikethrough] Likewise, leaving table does not count as exclusion. Thus, while Obi-Wan's Cape (V) prevents him from being excluded, he can still be captured, missing, lost, taken into hand, or sent to the Used Pile. However, game text that prevents a card from being excluded from battle may not be used to allow that card to participate in more than one battle per turn.
This change is to prevent game text on cards like Coruscant: Night Club and Obi Wan's Cape (v) from allowing the same card to battle multiple times per turn. Now the exclusion from battle that triggers when a card that has previously battled in a turn enters another battle cannot be prevented by cards that stop exclusion.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

The following are additions to list of Errata in Appendix A of the AR.
Nevar Yalnal
If both players have a spy at same site, draw destiny. Add 2 if opponent's spy is Undercover. Opponent's spy is lost if destiny > 2.
Nevar Yalnal's function is not being changed, but its text is being made identical to the Light Side counterpart, Double Agent (minus the additional Tonnika Sisters function found on that card), so that it is clear which player's spy the undercover bonus is referring to.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

The following 3 cards are being clarified (also in Appendix A of the AR) as to what kind of movement they allow (all 3 are now considered regular moves). Changes have been underlined.
Comscan Detection
If opponent just moved a character, vehicle or starship as a 'react' to a location, you may immediately move one vehicle or starship, if within range, to that location (as a regular move).
Shawn Valdez
Whenever you just initiated a battle at same site as Shawn, your troopers at adjacent sites who have not already battled this turn may immediately move to same site (as a regular move).
Run Luke, Run!
At any time, move Luke as a regular move (for free) to a battle just initiated at an adjacent site. Luke is power +2 during that battle, unless Vader is present or adjacent to the battle site. OR You may cancel Vader's Obsession.
---------------------------------------------------------------------

The following is an addition to the Card Rulings entry for Human Shield found in Appendix B of the AR to clarify the how its Used function operates. Additions are underlined.
Human Shield
When the Used function of this Interrupt is played to make a captive 'hit' instead of an Imperial, any other effects from being 'hit' (such as forfeit=0 or “may not be used to satisfy attrition”) will affect the captive instead of the Imperial.
The lost function of this Interrupt allows you to take advantage of the full forfeit value of characters you have captured to satisfy attrition and battle damage, including forfeit modifiers from cards such as Lieutenant Sheckil.
---------------------------------------------------------------------

The following is a modification of the “Podracing - Race Destiny And Race Total” entry found in Appendix C of the AR. Changes are underlined.
Podracing - Race Destiny And Race Total
The Epic Event indicates when you may draw race destiny. Race destiny draws that you decide to use are stacked face-up on your Podracer (or on the Podrace Arena if you have no Podracer there) in the order they are drawn, and your race total is the sum of all race destiny stacked on a particular Podracer (as well as any modifiers). Either player may look through any race destiny stack at any time (being careful not to change the order of the cards there). Once used (or "stacked"), a race destiny is no longer considered to be a destiny draw, and as such is unaffected by anything that would cancel, modify or replace a destiny draw. If you draw a card with multiple possible destiny values (such as R2-D2) you must declare the value you are using for that card if you decide to use that card as part of your race total (stacking it). This value cannot change while this card is stacked on your podracer (or on the Arena). Since race destinies are stacked from Life Force, they are in a Supporting state. If a race total does not exist, it is still targeted normally, and is treated as an unmodifiable 0. This is a specific exception to the normal rules of undefined values. "Here" on a podracer refers to a race destiny stacked on that podracer, not any other. For example, when Dud Bolt's Podracer is lost, only the race destinies stacked on that podracer are placed in Used Pile.
This change clarifies that a player's race total for a given podracer is considered 0 even if a podrace has not been started, or if a race has been started but no cards are stacked on a racer. Previously the entry accounted for the race total before the race had started, but did not account for it while a race was in progress but no cards were stacked on a racer. This change was made to allow cards that target a specific race total (such as Watto's Box) to deploy even if a race has not been started or no race destinies have been stacked on a racer after a race has begun.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here's another batch of errata before Texas Mini-Worlds. These changes are effective immediately, and should also be added to the Master PDF and Errata PDF in the near future.

The following are additions to list of card errata in Appendix A of the AR.
Massassi Base Sentry
Deploy on Yavin 4; it is 'liberated.' During battles at sites related to other 'liberated' systems, may add 2 to power of each Rebel warrior (to a maximum of 4). Once per turn, if you control this system, may retrieve 1 Force when you Force drain at another 'liberated' system.
Massassi Base Sentry's text is being altered slightly to make its power modification text an optional action that can only be used during battles, so when it is used, it only lasts until the end of that battle. When used, both a modifier of +2 and a limit of 4 is applied to the power of each Rebel in the battle (note that the limit of 4 applies to the power of each individual Rebel; it is NOT a limit on the modifier or total power). If used, both the bonus and the limit affect each Rebel at that site; a player may not choose which Rebels it affects.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tarfful, Wookiee Insurgent (Kashyyyk Insurgent Leader)
"Occupy" on Forest Depths is treated as "control.” Non-unique Wookiees here are Heroic. Once per game, when deployed, may 'roar' to take one card into hand from Used Pile (reshuffle) and/or stack a Wookiee (as if just lost) from hand on Grrrghrrrgh!.

Wookiee Guide (v)
Stack a Wookiee (as if just lost) from your Lost Pile on Grrrghrrrgh!. OR Deploy a Wookiee stacked on Grrrghrrrgh! to Kashyyyk (as if from hand). OR Once per game, draw X cards from top of Reserve deck, where X = number of cards stacked on Grrrghrrrgh!.

Both of the above cards are being given errata to clarify their ability to stack Wookiees on Grrrghrrrgh. Previously, due to Stacked Card and Card State rules, Wookiees stacked on Grrrghrrrgh from table would be considered inactive, while Wookiees stacked from hand (with Tarfful) or from Lost Pile (with Wookiee Guide v) were considered supporting. Because of the possible confusion having cards in different states stacked on the same card (and the effects on the table those different card states have) both Tarfful and Wookiee Guide (v) are being changed so that the Wookiees they stack are considered inactive, by stacking them as if they were lost from table (in the same manner as Grrrghrrrgh's stacking text). (see the “Stacked Cards And Card State” and the “Exception - Just Lost” entries on page 1-17 of the AR).


These two errata have been rescinded. See this post for more information: http://www.starwarsccg.org/index.php?op ... 70#p802670

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rebel Leadership V
/\ an admiral or non-Jedi general. OR Once per game, \/ a war room. OR If your admiral or non- [Episode I] general is in battle, may add one battle destiny or prevent opponent from drawing more than one battle destiny (their battle destiny draws may not be canceled).
Danz Borin V
P 3. May add 1 to Force drains at same Nal Hutta location. Danz is a matching pilot for any [Independent] starship and while piloting one, may not draw more than one battle destiny here (your battle destinies here may not be canceled or modified by opponent).
Both Danz Borin v and Rebel Leadership v are being modified slightly to prevent any confusion that could occur when a player is limited to a certain number of battle destiny draws while also having those draws being prevented from being modified or canceled. Previously, it was unclear what draws were protected when a player was able to exceed such a limit (through the use of “if unable to otherwise” text, substituted destinies and abyss v/chasm v, etc.).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lady Valarian
Your total battle destiny here is +1. Unless Jabba on table, “Jabba” in the game text of your cards (except Hutt Bounty and Jabba's Prize) may be treated at “Lady Valarian.” Once per turn, may target a Mistryl of ability > 2 here; target is Heroic until end of turn.
Lady Valarian is receiving a errata to prevent an unintended interaction with Jabba's Prize.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

Locked

Return to “Rules FAQ/Archives”