Here is the last batch of rulings from the Rules Team before Worlds. Nearly all of them are minor housekeeping issues, and will not be relevant to any competitive decks. The main one for players preparing for Worlds to focus on is the ruling on Mercenary Slavers, which explains in detail how the "treated as" text works with each Kashyyyk site.
The following AR rulings and errata are effectively IMMEDIATELY. New text is underlined
and removed text is in strikethrough
Placing Cards In A Hand, Deck, Or Pile
When a rule or game text allows or requires a card to be placed in (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) a player's hand, deck, or pile, and that text does not specify which player's hand, deck, or pile it should be placed in, the card is placed in (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) the hand, deck, or pile belonging to its owner. Also, when an action places multiple cards into a player's hand, deck, or pile, and the card's game text does not state which player may decide the order of those cards, placing each card is considered a competing automatic action, and the order is decided by the player whose turn it is.
The preceding, already existing entry is being added to in order to explain the mechanics of how cards are placed in hands, decks, or piles when multiple cards are being moved, such as with the 7 sides of the Senate objectives.
Never – Location Restrictions
Some cards are, by rule, restricted to certain locations:
Characters may exist only at sites (unless aboard a vehicle or starship). However, characters may not deploy to the Death Star: Trench, and may only exist there aboard a starship.
[continue original entry]
The above entry is being amended in order to prevent a particularly goofy loophole whereby a character could be deployed to, and be present at, the Death Star: Trench without being aboard a starship.
Defined Destiny Values [New Entry]
When a card has a destiny value that is defined in its game text (e.g. it has an asterisk (*) instead of a printed destiny value), its actual destiny is determined whenever that value is being checked by an action (including as a destiny draw, or a supporting card, such as a card stacked on Jedi Test 5 or a race destiny). In addition, an asterisk is never considered a “printed destiny number”.
The prceding entry is being made to explain cards that use an asterisk instead of a destiny value, such as Mace Windu, Master of the Order, and how that interacts with cards that check destiny in different states, as well as cards that compare destiny numbers, such as Spice Mine Operations.
Starships - Enclosed
All starships are defined as being enclosed. Any vehicle with "enclosed" in its lore is also enclosed. Characters aboard an enclosed vehicle or starship are sheltered from the environment and thus are not present at the location, preventing them from using their personal power adding their personal power to a player's total power at that location, firing character weapons or being targeted by weapons. On an enclosed vehicle or starship, all characters may use ability, forfeit and game text (when appropriate), but only pilots and drivers –not passengers– may apply their ability toward drawing battle destiny. See Landed; Vehicles - open vehicles.
The above entry is being modified to make clear that characters aboard an enclosed starship or vehicle still have personal power that may be used when required, except that they cannot add it to total power at that location.
Weapons - Starship And Vehicle Weapons
A kind of weapon that deploys on a starship or vehicle (it may only be used by that starship or vehicle).
Your starships and vehicles may fire weapons so long as they are piloted (or driven). This counts as the starship or vehicle firing, not the characters on board (thus, a Biker Scout Trooper on a Speeder Bike may use his Imperial Blaster the same turn the Speeder Bike fires its weapon. , even if the weapon's game text mentions that a character is required in order to target with it (thus, a Nikto alone on a Skiff may use his Mos Eisley Blaster the same turn the Skiff fires an Antipersonnel Laser Cannon).
The above entry is being amended to clarify that even if a vehicle weapon says that a character aboard must target with it, the weapon is still considered to be fired by the vehicle, and the character is not considered to be using or firing that weapon.
Moving To Attack Position
Target one starfighter participating in a battle at a system or sector. For remainder of turn, starfighter may not move, is immune to attrition and, if piloted by a Corellian, is power +2.
The above entry is being added to complete a Decipher errata that was made for the unlimited print run of Dagobah, but was apparently overlooked and was never actually added to any rules document.
The following entry replaces the current Appendix B entry for Grotto in its entirety. This change is being made to correct an oversight in the previous ruling for this card, in which destinies to power or attrition that are not announced in the weapons segment were overlooked.
The two destinies drawn using this card trigger whenever the opponent's destiny adding to power or attrition is first initiated. If the opponent's additional destiny is optional (such as with Luke, Strong in the Force (v)) and is declared in the weapons segment, this card's text will also trigger during the weapons segment, just after the opponent's destiny adding action is initiated. However, if the opponent's additional destiny is mandatory (such as with Overseer), the opponent's added destiny does not need to be declared in the weapons segment and does not initiate until the power segment, and in that case, this card's text will not trigger until the opponent's destiny adding action is initiated in the power segment. The choice of which destiny is used to subtract from opponent's attrition and total power is made whenever the two destinies are drawn, and if this occurs in the Weapons Segment the value is remembered until it is required in the Power Segment. This is an exception to the normal timing of modifying total power and attrition.
The following entry is being made to explain how the rather nebulous "treated as" text on Mercenary Slavers interacts with each instance of Trandoshan on all relevant Kashyyyk sites.
Use the following rules when making use of the text that allows “Trandoshan” on dark side's sites to be treated as “slaver.”:
Kashyyyk: Forest Maze (Dark Side game text): The Dark Side player may choose to use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement on this card during their control phase. If they use this site's game text to cause the Light Side player to lose 1 force (using Mercenary Slavers' text replacement), they may not use the site's game text again that turn without the text replacement.
Kashyyyk: Slaving Camp Headquarters (Light Side game text): If the Light Side player controls this site with a Wookiee, the Light Side player may use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement to make any slaver the Dark Side attempts to deploy to Kashyyyk deploy +1. They may also choose to use the original text on the site and make any Trandoshan the Dark Side attempts to deploy to Kashyyyk deploy +1. The Light Side player may decide if they wish to apply the text replacement from Mercenary Slavers each time the Dark Side player attempts to deploy a slaver or Trandoshan to Kashyyyk.
Kashyyyk: Wookiee Slaving Camp (Dark Side game text): The Dark Side player may choose to use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement with this text when they announce their force drain at this site during their control phase. They may only use the force drain modifier game text once for each force drain there, even if they have both a Trandoshan and a slaver present.
Kashyyyk: Wookiee Slaving Camp (Light Side game text): Even though this game text is on the Light Side player's side of the site, the Dark Side player may choose to use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement with this text when they announce their force drain at this site during their control phase.
The entry below is being made to explain what happens when, say, Xizor has Mandalorian Armor (v) and hits an opponent's card with Trophy on table. Even if Xizor is later hit and Mandalorian Armor (v) is placed in lost pile to restore Xizor (thus making Xizor lose his bounty hunter characteristic), the opponent's card he hit in his ever so short career as a bounty hunter will still be stacked on Trophy once it leaves table, even if Xizor is no longer a bounty hunter when that occurs.
Trophy Of A Bounty Hunter
This card checks if your character is a bounty hunter when the opponent's card is hit, not when it leaves table, so even if your character loses the bounty hunter characteristic in the time between hitting an opponent's card and that card leaving table, the hit card will still be stacked on Trophy of a Bounty Hunter.