Current Rulings Archive August 2012 - December 2015

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The recent errata to Tarfful, Wookiee Insurgent/Kashyyyk Insurgent Leader and Wookiee Guide (v) have been rescinded.

It has been brought to my attention that there were a couple problematic issues caused by these errata, namely that treating cards stacked on Grrrghrrrgh as inactive did not align with the way Grrrghrrrgh has traditionally been played, and that the wording of Wookiee Guide (v) made wookiees stacked by it vulnerable to Special Delivery (v). These were oversights in the errata process and for that I apologize. The rules team is looking at ways of rectifying the issues with Grrrghrrrgh while keeping the card as it "has always been played", which we realize is especially important for those attending the upcoming Texas Mini Worlds event. Stay tuned.


The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

All right, I promised an update on the Wookiee situation, and here it is. Hopefully this ruling won't irreparably break anything else.

The following entry is an addition to the Card Rulings in Appendix B of the AR, and is effective immediately.
Grrrghrrrgh!
All cards stacked on Grrrghrrrgh! are considered supporting, regardless of what state they were in before being stacked. This is a specific exception to the Stacked Cards and Card States rules.
Note that because all cards stacked on Grrrghrrrgh are now supporting, they do not count as being on table for uniqueness purposes, so having a unique Wookiee stacked on Grrrghrrrgh will not prevent a player from deploying a copy of that persona. The original goal of this series of rulings was to make sure that Grrrghrrrgh didn't have cards in 2 different states stacked on it at the same time, in order to prevent confusion and memory issues regarding the states of such cards, and the differing effects those states had on the table. This ruling accomplishes that, but doesn't change how Wookiees stacked on Grrrghrrrgh were treated for uniqueness purposes or cause any collateral damage with Special Delivery (v) as the previous (rescinded) ruling did. The TL,DR of this ruling is that essentially, nothing has changed in how Grrrghrrrgh is played compared to how most players were playing it previously.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following is an interim ruling on Kessel Run (v). This is essentially a placeholder to ensure the card functions as design intended until a final rewording/card ruling is complete. When that happens, this ruling will be updated.

Targeting

• It may only target 1 character at a time, and it must be a Light Side character.
• If the original target leaves table, the targeting is essentially canceled and you will have to start another run with a new target.
• If the target becomes inactive, the mission does as well. If the target becomes active again, the Run becomes active again as well and picks up where it left off.
• Once the mission is completed, the targeting ends, and the character who was the target is no longer immune to set for stun.

Parsec Destinies

• "Parsec' destinies are also placed in used if the target leaves table by some other way than being lost.
• The Light Side player may choose which card they want to take into hand when removing it from Kessel Run v.
• If there are no 'parsec' destinies stacked when you complete the mission, the 'parsec' destiny total is treated as 0.
• 'Parsec' destinies can still be taken into hand using the text on the mission after it is completed. However, since the mission only checks if the total is < 12 at the time the mission is completed, taking 'parsec' destinies into hand after that point does NOT allow a player to get the destiny reduction bonus if they had 12 or more total 'parsec' destiny at the time the run was completed.

Other
• When the mission is completed, the light side player may still upload a card from reserve deck even if they are not playing Infiltration as their objective. Infiltration flipping and uploading a card are separate results that both trigger when the run is completed; one failing does not prevent the other from happening.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

This post is just some errata housekeeping to make sure some already released errata can also be found in this thread in case players are looking for them.

First off, the virtual defensive shield versions of Another Pathetic Lifeform and Wipe Them Out, All Of Them are considered blanked.

Secondly, a few card errata:
Astromech Shortage (v):
Deploy on table. During the power segment of a battle, may use X Force to reduce a starship's immunity to attrition by X for remainder of turn. Once per turn, may use 2 Force to cancel the game text of a [Maintenance] character or a non-[Theed Palace] senator for remainder of turn.
Knowledge and Defense (V)
Text: Deploy on table with up to 15 cards from outside your deck face-down under here. Four times per game, may play a Defensive Shield from here (as if from hand). Unless canceling your Interrupt, opponent may not play Recoil In Fear until the end of your first turn.
Anger, Fear, Aggression (V)
Text: Deploy on table with up to 15 cards from outside your deck face-down under here. Four times per game, may play a Defensive Shield from here (as if from hand). Unless canceling your Interrupt, opponent may not play Uncertain Is The Future until the end of your first turn.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Issuing a few errata to clear up some lingering issues.


The following is an addition to Chapter 1 of the AR:
Placing Cards In A Hand, Deck, Or Pile
When a rule or game text allows or requires a card to be placed in (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) a player's hand, deck, or pile, and that text does not specify which player's hand, deck, or pile it should be placed in, the card is placed in (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) the hand, deck, or pile belonging to its owner.
The above change was made to deal with any cards that place cards in a deck or pile but do not specify which player's deck or pile the card must be placed in, thus closing a loophole that theoretically allowed a player to "steal" their opponent's cards by placing their opponent's cards in their deck, even when that clearly would not follow the intent of the cards in question.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following is an addition to the “Regular - Using The Movement Text On A Location Card” entry found in Chapter 7:
Regular - Using The Movement Text On A Location Card
Many locations allow one or more cards to utilize special movement between specific sites. For example: Light Side Tatooine: Mos Eisley, the Cloud City: Upper Plaza Walkway or the Endor: Back Door. These are all considered regular moves (unless they are listed as a 'react'), and the cost, timing and conditions of these moves are specified on the location cards in question (for example, Mos Eisley allows the movement to occur for free and during your control phase). Unless otherwise noted, each move is a separate action for each card using such text, and if no cost is specified, each move costs 1 force.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following underlined sections are additions to "Section F. Drawing Destiny" in Chapter 1 and the “Weapons – Destiny” entry in Chapter 9:
Step 7) Add up destiny values and modifiers to total destiny
Modifiers to total destiny are different than modifiers to each destiny draw. Anything which stops destinies from being modified does not affect modifiers to your total destiny (for example, if your only destiny was a substituted destiny -which cannot be modified- you are not prevented from modifying your total now). Note that unless otherwise specified, modifiers to weapon destiny are applied during this step, to the total weapon destiny, and NOT to individual destiny draws during previous steps.
After all destiny values and modifiers are applied, if the value is below zero, it is now reset to zero. If all your draws failed and/or were canceled, you have no total. Sometimes you may have been told to draw a certain number of destinies, but then to choose among them. Make your choices before the values are added up and the total is modified. You cannot choose a value which doesn't exist.
Weapons - Destiny
Any destiny drawn when firing a weapon (different from battle destiny). Drawing weapon destiny is mandatory once you fire the weapon (meaning you may not fire the weapon if you do not have at least one card in your Reserve Deck). If the weapon specifies more than one destiny draw, you must draw the required number. See 1.F. Destiny, Ch. 1.
A weapon destiny draw is considered to be "at" the location of the weapon. Thus for any location text that says "Your weapon destinies here are +1", it refers to any weapons at that site (even if the target is at another location).
Unless otherwise specified, any modifier applied to destiny when firing a weapon is applied to the TOTAL weapon destiny, and NOT to any individual weapon destiny draw. Note that this is AFTER each individual draw has been completed (and thus after any individual weapon destinies that were negative are reset to 0). (see Section F. Drawing Destiny)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following are additions to the AR Appendices:

Appendix A - Errata:
Tempest Scout 1
May add 2 pilots or passengers. May move as a 'react' for free. When Arnet piloting, immune to attrition < 4 and adds 1 to attrition against opponent here.
Appendix B - Card Rulings:
B'omarr Monk
The Monk equalizes Force icons after all other automatic Force icon modifiers have been applied (for example, Sleens, Presence Of The Force etc). “May not use vehicles or starships” on this card means that the B'omarr Monk may not deploy to or board a vehicle or starship.
Appendix C - Special Rules:
Captives – Collecting A Bounty
Several cards use the phrase “collecting a bounty”. This phrase refers only to the use of retrieval game text on the bounty Effects themselves (that comes from the transfer of a captive to the appropriate prison listed in that bounty's game text), and not any other action related to the captive or bounty card (such as placing a bounty in Used Pile with Assassin's Blaster Rifle to retrieve force).
Appendix D - Identifying Cards:

“Clone” is considered added to the list of characteristics.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following is an addition to the section on "The Stack" in Chapter 1 of the AR.
When responding to the current action, unless otherwise noted: each automatic action triggers only once each time the triggering action occurs, and each just action may be initiated only once per occurrence of the action it is responding to. This does not prevent multiple copies of a card from responding separately to a single action, however any modifiers from such responses are still subject to the cumulative rule (see cumulatively).
For a detailed explanation of reasoning behind this ruling, as well as its major effects on gameplay, see this wonderfully written post by Gergall in the the General Discussion forum: /viewt ... =2&t=51011

(edit: fixed broken link)
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Repost of recent errata from the CBT. These have already been posted in an announcement on the forums. For more information on these errata, see the after action report in the Competitive Balance Forum.

EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY:

Imperial Atrocity (V) has been errataed to have the following gametext:
If you are about to lose Force during opponent's control phase, deploy on table to reduce loss by 2. Whenever you lose Force during opponent's control phase (except from a Force drain at a battleground or your card) that loss is cumulatively -1 (to a minimum of 1). Non-[Virtual] Imperial Atrocity is canceled.
Imperial Propaganda (V) has been errataed to have the following gametext:
If you are about to lose Force during opponent's control phase, deploy on table to reduce loss by 2. Whenever you lose Force during opponent's control phase (except from a Force drain at a battleground or your card) that loss is cumulatively -1 (to a minimum of 1). Non-[Virtual] Imperial Propaganda is canceled.
Eject! Eject! & Imperial Atrocity has been errataed and renamed Eject! Eject! (V). Its gametext remains unchanged.

He Is Not Ready & Imperial Propaganda has been errataed and renamed He Is Not Ready (V). Its gametext remains unchanged.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following is an addition to Appendix A - Errata in the AR.
Do Or Do Not (Dagobah)
This effect is now unique (•) and should read as "•Do Or Do Not".
The following is an addition to Appendix B - Card Rulings in the AR.
Obi-Wan's Journal
The "lost if about to be stolen" text on this device will trigger any time the device is about to be stolen, even if the Journal is not in an active state. This is an exception to the normal rules of card states.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

This is an update to the cloud sector rules due the new Vehicle in the recently released 9.1 preview.

The following are addenda to the appropriate entries in the AR. Additions are underlined and bolded.

From Chapter 1: The Basics - Force, Actions, States, etc.
AR, Page 1-13 wrote:Never - Location Restrictions
Some cards are, by rule, restricted to certain locations:
• Characters may exist only at sites (unless aboard a vehicle or starship)
• Vehicles may exist only at exterior sites (unless aboard a starship). The exceptions are Cloud Cars, Patrol Craft, Republic Gunships, and Shuttle Vehicles, which may also exist at cloud sectors. Life Tubes are also a special exception in that they can exist only at interior mobile sites. [original entry continues]
From Chapter 7: Move Phase & Movement
AR, Page 7-2 wrote:Regular - Sector Movement
Starships may move to and from asteroid sectors. Starfighters and certain vehicles (patrol craft, shuttle vehicles, cloud cars, and republic gunships) with landspeed > 0 may move to cloud sectors. [original entry continues]
From Chapter 9: The Cards - Attributes, Types & Icons
AR, Page 9-11 wrote:Cloud Sectors
Cloud sectors deploy to any planet system. They are placed between the system location and its related sites, and represent various "altitudes" of airspace above the planet's surface. Cloud sectors are related to the planet system where they are deployed and to that planet's sites. They are part of the planet and thus take on its name (i.e., cloud sectors at Tatooine are Tatooine locations, effectively becoming "Tatooine: Clouds"). If the planet is "blown away," cloud sectors there are destroyed (lost).
Shuttle vehicles, cloud cars, patrol craft, republic gunships, squadrons, and starfighters (or any starship that moves like a starfighter) may deploy, battle and move at cloud sectors.
AR, Page 9-11 wrote:Sector Cheat Sheet – What Can I Deploy There?
Asteroid Sector – No restrictions. (Starships can deploy, move, and battle there as if it was a system).
Cloud Sector – Only shuttle vehicles, cloud cars, patrol craft, republic gunships, squadrons, and starfighters may deploy there. Of course starships that may 'deploy like a starfighter' or 'move like a starfighter' are also eligible.
Death Star II Sector – No cards may deploy here! They must move in from the Death Star II system itself.
AR, Page 9-18 wrote:Vehicles - Deployment
Vehicles deploy only to locations where you have presence or at least one Force icon on your side of that location. Vehicles may deploy to exterior sites, or to the "cargo hold" of a starship if sufficient capacity exists.
In addition, shuttle vehicles, vehicles with the subtype "Cloud Car", Patrol Craft, and Republic Gunships may also deploy to a cloud sector where you have presence or at least one Force icon on your side of the location. If the vehicle does not have a permanent pilot (or driver), it must be deployed simultaneously with a pilot/driver character (as one action) or it may not deploy to the sector. This follows the same rules as deploying an unpiloted starship.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22985
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata are effective immediately:

From CBT:
Wars Not Make One Great (v)
Deploy on table. During battles where your Jedi is present, players may not draw more than two battle destiny. Once during your turn, may take Inner Strength into hand from Reserve Deck; reshuffle. (Immune to Alter.)
Closing a potential NPE loophole.

From D&D:
Underworld Contacts & Uncharted Settlements
Deploy on [Virtual Block 4] Hidden Base; you must choose alien/[Independent] starship. You may not deploy Ellors Madak, Revolution or operatives. Your Destiny is cancelled. Opponent generates no Force at Hidden Landing Site. [Virtual Block 1] Yerka Mig may deploy on a Rebel Cell Site, may be placed in Used Pile if it was just canceled lost, and you may retrieve Force with it only once per turn. While Systems Will Slip Through Your Fingers on table, attrition against opponent is +1 for each Rebel Cell site you occupy with an alien. (Immune to Alter.)
Changed so a player can place Mig in used when Mig was lost due to its own game text when the opponent controls the site where it's deployed, and not only when Mig is actually "canceled".

Insidious Prisoner
If A Stunning Move on table, deploy on Palpatine's Quarters (if [Virtual Block 5] We Have A Plan on table, this card always relocates to Palpatine if possible (even if a captive)); before drawing a starting hand opponent may deploy a Jedi and/or a lightsaber here from Reserve deck; reshuffle.
Evil is Everywhere: Opponent may not Force drain here. Adds one [Dark Side Icon] at same site. If just lost, relocate to Blockade Flagship: Prison. Once per turn, it a player controls this site, they may have this card (unless on Palpatine) follow their first character to move from here using landspeed or docking bay transit to a non-shielded site.
The timing was tweaked slightly so the WHAPv/ASM matchup doesn't have issues with the order of deployment on starting cards. Now The Jedi starts at the prison with Palpatine per design intent without any goofy timing issues.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here is the promised ruling regarding Weather Vane, Into the Ventilation Shaft, Lefty et al:

This was a difficult ruling to decide on, as both sides of the issue made very valid points, and there seemed to be no clear majority on 'how it's always been played' and little to no rules precedents. In this case we also had to deal with the dilemma of a ruling affecting players' decks at a time so close to worlds (especially when a previous ruling encouraged them to make a deck with such a combo), but at the same time not compromising rules for the sake of a single deck or group of players. I also did quite a bit of digging on the interwebs to try and divine the intent or some kind of precedent for this issue, since Weather Vane and Into the Ventilation Shaft, Lefty have been around for over 15 years, but there was none to be found regarding Into the Ventilation Shaft, Lefty. There is some evidence that the dark side mirror, Slip Sliding Away v, was intended to work with hit characters and also some game evidence to back this up. After weighing all the evidence, I have decided to allow this interaction to occur by way of errata to both Into The Ventilation Shaft, Lefty and Slip Sliding Away (v). While this may not please everyone, the rules team feels that this is best course of action given the circumstances and the evidence presented. Thank you everyone for your patience while we deliberated on this, and thank you to all for voicing your concerns and your feedback on this issue.

The following errata are effective immediately. New text is underlined.

Into The Ventilation Shaft, Lefty
Relocate one of your characters from a Cloud City site to Weather Vane (if “hit,” character is first restored to normal). May be played even after a battle has just been initiated.
Slip Sliding Away (v)
Cancel Path Of Least Resistance. (Immune to Sense.) OR During your move phase, target opponent's character at an interior Cloud City site. Draw destiny. Relocate target to Weather Vane if destiny > target's ability. OR Relocate your character at an interior Cloud City site to Weather Vane (if 'hit,' character is first restored to normal).


Both cards will now restore a hit character before relocating them to the Weather Vane, preventing them from being lost when stacked. Due to the wording, a hit character is restored before being relocated to the Weather Vane, preventing any issues with competing automatic actions between the character being restored and being lost due to being hit outside of battle. Note also that the "restored to normal" works the same as other such cards (like Talz) and restores the 'hit' status as well as any other effects caused by a weapon hit (such as forfeit = 0).
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22985
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following erratum is effective immediately:

From the CBT:
I'm Sorry (v)
"Deploy on table. Floating Refinery is suspended during opponent's turn. During your deploy phase, may deploy a Floating Refinery, a cloud sector (to Bespin), or an Obsidian squadron TIE on table from Reserve Deck; reshuffle. During your turn, if you control 2 cloud sectors with TIEs, opponent loses 1 Force. (Immune to Alter.)"
The Competitive Balance Team wrote:Problem: Despite several attempts to correct it, Spice Ties continues to pose a problem in the meta as a non-interactive NPE deck

Discussion:
The SWCCG community is nothing if it isn't creative. Despite previous attempts by design (Corellian Slip (V)) and by the CBT (errata to floating refinery), spice ties continues to make a measurable presence in the meta. With each attempt at correction, the community finds a new and unique way to combine these to concepts which inevitably results in a deck which is highly resilient, non-interactive and is widely regarded as an NPE. The CBT debated several possible responses including blanking I'm Sorry (V), shielding damage and drains in the clouds or restricting clouds to the Bespin system.

Blanking I'm Sorry (V) would completely remove clouds from the game at this point in time. This was regarded as a drastic step, but a necessary one if no other solution could be found.

Shielding cloud damage and drains (or I'm Sorry itself) was considered via errata to the simple tricks shield. This step was seen as a defacto ban on I'm Sorry (V) or was ineffective at having the desired result.

Restricting clouds to the Bespin system provided a thematic and logical outlet for clouds with minimal errata to other cards. It was seen as the least restrictive solution for clouds while having a suitable effect on the variety of NPE cloud decks in existence.

Conclusion:
I'm Sorry (V) was errata'ed to have the text shown above.

Note that it also now pulls unique cloud sectors to Bespin as well (Bespin: Cloud City), due to text constraints.

The Advocates and CBT recognize that this is close to the SDGP and apologize to those who have spent time preparing for it (or with it), but felt it was more important to deal with this as soon as possible and have it not affect the meta at the SDGP.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Now that the San Diego Grand Prix is in the books, here are a bunch of new card errata and rulings, some of which I have been dragging my heels on for too long. Apologies if you asked a question about one of the following cards and have been waiting patiently for a resolution. While it looks like a lot of stuff, most of these rulings are clarifying intent or changing cards to work the way they are already played, and will not have any major gameplay impact. All of these rulings are effective immediately.

CHAPTER 1

The following is a change to the “Leaves Table” entry in Chapter 1 of the AR. Removed text is in strikethrough.
Leaves Table
If a card leaves the table by being relocated to a deck or pile, by being placed out of play, or by being returned to hand (for example, due to cards like Master Luke, ASP-707, Revealed or As Good As Gone) then all cards deployed on, carried by, or aboard that card (as well as any inactive or supporting cards on it) must be placed in their owner's Lost Pile unless specified otherwise (i.e. Captives - Releasing rules). All the cards (including the card leaving table) leave play simultaneously, and thus can be stacked in any order in the Lost Pile.
This change is being made to prevent any confusion with the releasing captive rules, as captives are no longer “carried”. The “unless otherwise specified (i.e. Captives - Releasing rules)” was originally part of this entry to prevent captives carried by their escort from going lost instead of being allowed to escape when their escort left table. However, since captives are no longer considered carried, that exception is no longer necessary, and the wording could have been interpreted to mean that cards carried by captives were exempt from the Leaves Table rules, which is not the case. Cards deployed on or carried by captives are lost when the captive leaves table, just like cards on any other character, unless otherwise specified.



The following is an alteration to the duration rules (both currently found in different sections of Chapter 1) in order to combine 2 entries into one and make the rules regarding duration more concise.

The Duration entry on page 1-19 of the AR has been changed to the following:
Duration (How Long a Change Lasts)
See Actions - Duration
and the Actions – Duration entry on page 1-6 is being amended to the following (added text is underlined):
Actions - Duration
Some actions result in an effect that will persist for a certain period of time (e.g., is power +2 until end of turn). Once such an action resolves, that effect will continue -regardless of what happens to the card that caused it- until that duration is complete. For example, if Maul's Sith Infiltrator uses its game text to "cloak," then even if its game text is canceled, it will remain cloaked until the stated duration ends.
Most of the time when a value (or other aspect of a card) is changed by an Interrupt or some other non-continuous action a duration will be given (e.g., until end of turn). For instances where it is not stated, follow this guideline:
- If it happens during a battle, it lasts until the end of the battle.
- If it happens outside of battle, it lasts until the card leaves play.
- If it was caused by a weapon (even during battle), it lasts until the card leaves play.
For example, if Dark Jedi Presence doubles the power of Imperials, Power Pivot resets a starships power, or Lando Calrissian, Scoundrel increases his power by a card's destiny, those changes will last only until the end of the battle, because no duration is specified and they're performed during a battle. However, if someone is shot with Amidala's Blaster or a starship is hit by an ion cannon, those changes will last until the card leaves play (or something restores it to normal) because weapons always last indefinitely, even when fired during a battle.
In essence, the entirety of the “Duration (How Long a Change Lasts)” entry is being moved and added to the “Actions – Duration” entry so that all the general duration rules are in the same place, instead of having several different but related entries in different places.




CHAPTER 9

The following entries for Admiral's Orders and Missions are being amended to remove some extraneous text that the rules team felt is not necessary, and given the text of some of these cards, could actually cause more confusion than they help with. Just as any other card type, a card's owner is the only one who can initiate actions with it (unless otherwise noted). Text that applies to both players is made obvious by the context of the card (for example, on Capital Support, the text “Each pilot deploys -1 (or -2 if an admiral) aboard a capital starship.” clearly applies to both players).

From the “Admiral's Orders” entry on page 9-4 of the AR (removed text is in strikethrough):
Admiral's Orders
Type of card which represents tactical and strategic planning. Admiral's Orders deploy on table for free, but only during your deploy phase and only if you occupy a battleground system. There can be only one Admiral's Order on table at any time; when a new one is deployed, the previous one (no matter which player it belongs to) is placed in its owner's Used Pile. Note that you may not deploy an Admiral's Order if a unique (•) one of the same name is already on table. Many functions listed in the game text of Admiral's Order cards apply to both players, instead of just to you or your opponent; if a particular sentence does not specifically apply to one player, then it applies to both.
From the “Mission” on page 9-13 of the AR (removed text is in strikethrough):
Missions
Type of card which represents tactical and strategic long-term planning. Missions deploy on table for free, but only during your deploy phase. There are two types of Missions: 'normal' Missions and Critical Missions. Critical Missions are so important that you may only have one on the table per game and you may not play one if you started the game with an Objective. Some functions listed in the game text of Missions cards apply to both players, instead of just to you or your opponent; if a particular sentence does not specifically apply to one player, then it applies to both.


The following entry is an addition to the Weapons – Using Weapons entry on page 9-20 in Chapter 9 of the AR:
Weapons - Using Weapons
If a character, vehicle, or starship has game text that refers to using or firing a weapon, that text applies only to that character, vehicle, or starship card unless otherwise specified. For example, the game text of Weequay Marksman (“May fire one weapon during your control phase (at double use of Force).”) applies only to a weapon deployed on that Weequay Marksman, and not to any weapon on table.
This change is being made to prevent any confusion on whether text on characters, starships, or vehicles applies to only the weapons that character, starship, or vehicle is using, or if they apply to weapons everywhere on table.




Appendix A

The following are additions to Appendix A - Errata in the AR.
Frustration
During your control phase, peek at opponent's hand and target one non-Interrupt card you find there that has a deploy cost < total number of [Light Side] icons on table. Opponent must deploy a card of that title by the end of your next turn, or lose a card of that title from hand (if possible).
This erratum is being made to deal with several issues with trying to have the game state (and players) keep track of the card in hand targeted by Frustration. Also worth noting is that the Verification rule does not allow a player to look at their opponent's hand. Therefore, if the light side player does not deploy a valid card by the end of the time frame given by Frustration and the dark side player wishes to make sure that there is no such card in their opponent's hand, they should call a judge to verify.


Imperial War Machine
Deploy on table. Imperial pilots are not restricted (•••). Once per turn, may reveal a non-unique Imperial pilot from hand to /\ a non-unique: AT-AT (of armor > 6), Victory-class Star Destroyer, or Dreadnaught (or vice versa), and deploy both simultaneously. [Immune to Alter.]
Republic Logistics
Deploy on table. If A Jedi's Plans not on table, may \/ it. Once per turn, you may place a non-unique card with ability from your Lost Pile out of play to retrieve any one unique (•): character (of ability < 5), starship, or vehicle (except one with a [Maintenance] or [Permanent Weapon]). [Immune to Alter.]
The only change being made to each of these cards is the addition of a colon just before "AT-AT" on Imperial War Machine and a colon just before "character (of ability < 5)" on Republic Logistics. Both of the errata are being made to clarify the intent of these cards, which allow a player upload or retrieve certain types or subtypes of cards. In both cases, when a number of card types or subtypes are listed after a colon, the qualifier just before the colon applies to ALL of the card types or subtypes in the list that follows it. For example, when using Imperial War Machine to reveal a non-unique Imperial pilot from hand and upload a “non-unique: AT-AT (of armor > 6), Victory-class Star Destroyer, or Dreadnaught from reserve deck”, the “non-unique” requirement just before the list applies to all three of those types - AT-AT, Star Destroyer, and Dreadnaught. Similarly, when using Republic Logistics to retrieve “any one unique (•): character (of ability < 5), starship, or vehicle (except one with a [Maintenance] or [Permanent Weapon])”, any possible retrieval target must not only be non-maintenance and non-permanent weapon, it must also be unique.


Phylo Gandish (v)
[P]2. If opponent's [V6] or [V4] card just added a destiny to total power or attrition here (except battle destiny), draw two destiny, choose one, and subtract it from their attrition and total power. Your characters here are immune to You Are Beaten and attrition < 3.
This erratum (adding "V4" to the cards her text works against) allows Phylo to counter the text on Galen's Lightsaber, Vader's Gift, as was originally intended.




Appendix B

The following are additions to Appendix B - Card Rulings.

The interim Kessel Run (v) ruling found in this thread is being made into a permanent ruling that will be added to Appendix B. This was not the original intent for the ruling when it was posted, but due to card space issues and the small volume of questions regarding this card at major events, the Rules Team has decided that the current ruling was the best option available. The ruling can be found here: /viewt ... 47#p803647

Well Guarded (v)
The game text that makes non-unique aliens immune to deployment costs on Watch Your Step applies even when the Watch Your Step objective has flipped to the 7 side, This Place Can Be A Little Rough.



Appendix E

The Generic Sites in Appendix E – Location Deployment has been replaced with the following:
Generic Sites
See “Generic Sites” entry in Chapter 9.
This change is being made to combine all of the information on Generic sites into one entry; previously there were 2 entries with similar text - one in Chapter 9 and one in Appendix E. However, some information was repeated in both entries, while some was only discussed in the entry in Chapter 9. Now all of the Generic site information is found solely in the Chapter 9 entry.


Also, the Deploying Locations While There Are Special Conditions has been amended to the following (new text is underlined):
Deploying Locations While There Are Special Conditions
When deploying locations -regardless of how it is done- the deployment action can only be performed if the end result will be that the card will obey all deployment rules, meet any conditions for any other cards on table, meet its own deployment conditions, and -if deployed by another card- meets that card's deployment condition. However, that does not allow cards that deploy sites of a specific system name to deploy generic sites, as such sites only take on that system's name after deployment. See “Generic Sites” entry in Chapter 9.

This change is being made to address a small discrepancy between the Generic Sites entry and this one that made it unclear if generic sites could be deployed with cards that deploy locations of a certain system name. They cannot, and this addendum should make that more clear.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here are a few small errata. There are still a several other pending errata/rulings that I hope to have out in plenty of time before the MPC, ideally within the next couple weeks.

The following is an addition the Failed Destiny Draws entry in Chapter 1 of the AR (new text is underlined):
Failed Destiny Draws
Whenever a destiny draw fails (meaning that the player had no destiny total, not that the action itself failed to have its desired result), the result is resolved in favor of the opponent. This does not mean that the opponent may decide how to resolve it; rather, it means that the result is whatever is in the opponent's immediate favor for that action. For example, if the light side has no Reserve Deck, and the dark side has Vader duel Luke using Take Your Father's Place, the light destiny will fail, and be resolved in favor of the dark side. It would be preferable for Dark to lose this duel, because then they can try to convert Luke; however, the immediate resolution in favor of the dark side would have Luke lose, so that must happen.

An action that depends on matching a destiny draw cannot match with a failed destiny draw. Unlike normal failed destiny draws, when a destiny draw involving such an action fails, the action is not resolved in favor of the opponent, but continues without the failed draw if possible; otherwise, the action ends with no result.
The following is an addition to Appendix A - Errata of the AR:
Bothawui
Your spies deploy -1 here and at related sites. If you control, characters targeted by Undercover are immune to Hutt Smooch.

The following is an addition to the Senate/Imperial Council entry in Appendix C of the AR (new text is underlined):
Senate/Imperial Council
The Galactic Senate was the center of government in the Old Republic, where conflicts were resolved with words rather than weapons. Battles may still take place there, but as is indicated by the site itself, during battles there a character's politics is treated as that character's power (for anything that checks power). Any card which modifies or resets a character's power at the Galactic Senate is ignored during battle (though you may still modify total power as normal).
The Imperial Council were those who sought to dissolve the senate and seize central control. While the two forces were opposed to one another, there are many similarities as far as game mechanics are concerned.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

I hope everyone is having a wonderful holiday season. In the spirit of holiday giving, I would like to post a few rulings for you all. ;) It may seem like a lot, but most of it simply covers a few new cards and mechanics that are upcoming in 9.1.


The following entry replaces the current Weapons - Permanent Weapons entry on page 9-22 of the AR:
Weapons - Permanent Weapons
A weapon "built-into" a character, vehicle, or starship card.
A permanent weapon on a character, vehicle, or starship is considered to be a "character weapon", "vehicle weapon", or "starship weapon", respectively. Permanent weapons may not be separated from a vehicle or starship, and may not be separated from a character (lost, stolen, transferred, retrieved etc.) except by cards that disarm. If a character is no longer disarmed, the weapon is restored. Game text that relocates weapons (e.g., to or from a pile) may not be used to relocate a card with a permanent weapon unless that action also relocates the character, vehicle, or starship.
If the game text of a card with a permanent weapon is canceled or suspended, that card is still considered to be in possession of the weapon that is specified within its game text; the uniqueness of that weapon still applies, but that character, vehicle, or starship is incapable of utilizing the weapon's text. 'Scanning' or copying the game text of a card with a permanent weapon does not enable the scanning card to use that weapon, and the scanning card is not considered to possess that weapon.
The following are additions to AR Appendix A – Errata (new or added text is underlined):
Lord Vader (v)
May steal (and then use) an opponent's lightsaber just lost from same site; may then use two weapons. While The Quick And Easy Path on table, Jedi Escape and What Was It? may not cancel duels. Immune to attrition < 5.
Twilight Is Upon Me
Deploy on table. Once per turn, may take one The Force Is Strong With This One or [Death Star II Expansion Icon] Anakin Skywalker into hand from Reserve Deck, reshuffle. May use 2 Force to cancel You Are Beaten (unless canceling Uncontrollable Fury) or Dark Jedi Presence. (Immune to Alter.)
The following are additions to AR Appendix B - Card Rulings:
Count Dooku
“May be targeted by Force Lightning” in this card's game text functions just like Galen Marek, Starkiller (eg. if Force Lightning is played using Dooku's game text, each instance of “Emperor” on Force Lightning is treated as “Dooku”). See Galen Marek, Starkiller
Foul Moudama
Carrying a character with this card works just like Luke's Backpack. See Luke's Backpack and Ch. 7, Movement - Carrying Cards
Galen Marek, Starkiller
When using this card's game text allowing it to be targeted by Force Lightning, each instance of “Emperor” on Force Lightning is treated as “Galen”. Thus, if the Dark Side player plays the LOST portion of Force Lightning in conjunction with Galen's game text, the opponent's character would need to be present with Galen (not the Emperor), and Galen would lose immunity to attrition and become defense value -2 for the remainder of turn (not the Emperor).
The following is an addition to the Captives – Releasing entry found on pages C-4 and C-5 in Appendix C of the AR (added text is underlined):
Captives – Releasing
When your characters are captives, you may release them using cards such as 8D8, Arc Welder, Captive Pursuit, Cell 2187, Detention Block Control Room, I'm Here To Rescue You, Jedi Mind Trick and Someone Who Loves You, as well as the Light Side game text of your opponent's Cloud City: Security Tower or Jabba's Palace: Dungeon. Besides special cards, an escorted captive can also be released by removing the escort. Causing the escort to be forfeited, lost, missing, or Leaves Table will all release the captive. An exception to this is when an escort and a captive are both to be lost by the same action, that is, any action or rule that affects "all cards" or "all characters" such as blowing away the system, setting off a Thermal Detonator or Program Trap etc. In this case, the escort and the captive both suffer the effects of the action (both of them are lost). Whenever a non-frozen captive is released from an escort, the Light Side player may choose whether the released character:
• Escape — be placed in the Light Side player's Used Pile or
• Rally — if released at a site, be moved to the Light Side of the site location (even aboard a vehicle or starship there)
Imprisoned characters are not escorted, and can only be released using a card that allows you to free a captive, such as I'm Here To Rescue You or the light side game text on Jabba's Palace: Dungeon (simply controlling the location of the prison is not sufficient to release a captive). If a site loses prison status, any captives imprisoned there are immediately released. A captive released from a prison must Rally.
For information on a captive released during a battle, see Participating In Battle, Ch. 6. See Captives – Frozen – Releasing.
The following are additions to AR Appendix D – Identifying Cards:

'Padawan' is being added to the list of characteristics found on AR page D-3.

The family name of Solo is being added to the list of persona names on AR page D-4 with the following entry:
Solo (refers to any version of Han, Jacen, Jaina, or Anakin Solo)
Personas - Anakin Skywalker and Darth Vader
For game purposes, Anakin and Darth Vader are treated as two distinct people, and both may be on table at the same time. However, if both of them are on table at the same time and one of them crosses over, the player who now owns both must immediately choose one of them to be lost. For example, if the Light Side player uses the Anakin Skywalker Interrupt to cross Darth Vader to the Light Side while Anakin Skywalker, Padawan Learner is also on table, the Light Side player must immediately choose one of them to be lost.
Any reference to “Anakin” refers only to the persona of Anakin Skywalker, not to Anakin Solo. Anakin Solo will only be referred to using his full name, “Anakin Solo”.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Hi there everyone, I have a few more errata to post that didn't quite make it into the last wave. The first one should be the final new rules entry dealing with V set 9.1, and the other is a clarification on Bail Organa that I wanted to make sure was posted well in advance of the MPC.


The following is an addition to the Missions entry found in Chapter 9 of the AR:
Some missions contain the keywords Reward and Turn the Tide in their game text. Each such mission includes a main section followed by 2 keyword sections.
The main section of text (from the beginning of the card's game text up until the word Reward), is always active. This section provides the player with a task to accomplish, such as winning a duel or releasing a captive, in order to make the Mission complete. Once the Mission is complete, the text in the first section remains active and, depending on the Mission, may be worded in such a way that it can be used again multiple times (e.g. the text on Rescue On Geonosis can be reused later to release additional captives).
The text in the Reward and Turn the Tide sections is ignored when the Mission is first deployed. Once the Mission is complete, these two additional sections become active and remain active until the Mission leaves play.
•The Reward section typically gives the player some type of bonus for completing the mission. Sometimes the Reward section of a Mission may allow the owner of the Mission card to perform a specific action "immediately". This action may only be performed as a response to the Mission changing from incomplete to complete.
•The Turn the Tide section typically gives the opponent an opportunity to remove the Mission from the table.


The following is an addition to AR Appendix A – Errata (new text is underlined):
Bail Organa
Agenda: Rebellion. Adds one battle destiny with Leia. Your [Coruscant] senators and [Coruscant] Political Effects are lost. While at Senate: unique (•) Rebels of ability <4 are power +2, and, if you just Force drained with a Rebel, may retrieve 1 Force.
The errata is to clarify that the Light Side player may only retrieve 1 force for each force drain, NOT 1 force for each force lost to a force drain.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Hey guys, only one ruling here, but it's a rather important one I think... This issue has been brewing for a while, and I wanted to make sure all the options were looked at and all the bases were covered before I made a decision on it. There were few enough cards that use this mechanic that hopefully it will not present a major balance issue before the MPC. Normally the Rules Team prefers to err on the side of "how it's always been played" but the whole process of formalizing this mechanic was a bit difficult due to the lack of much of solid precedent in this case. In an effort to come up with the best option based on the scant little card and rule info we had, I also solicited feedback from the players on how they thought it should work. While this ruling won't satisfy or please everyone, it was made with careful consideration of both the possible design intent as best it could be divined as well as all the player input that was given.

The following is an addition to Chapter 1 of the AR, under Section F. Drawing Destiny and is effective immediately:
Draw X Choose Y
When a card instructs you to draw x destiny and choose y, perform the following steps:
Step 1) Draw a destiny. This draw can be modified, canceled, reset, or otherwise responded to normally just after it is drawn; however, after being drawn, unless canceled, it remains an Unresolved Destiny Draw and is not yet placed in Used Pile. The draw is considered a weapon destiny, battle destiny, etc. where appropriate, and counts against any applicable limits. If a limit prevents a player from drawing more than x destinies, they instead draw a number of destinies equal to the limit. Repeat this step until x destinies have been drawn.
Step 2) Once x destines have been drawn, choose a destiny from among the Unresolved Destiny Draws and resolve it normally. Repeat this step until an appropriate number of destinies have been chosen as specified by y.
Step 3) Place any remaining unresolved draws in used pile (unless otherwise instructed) in the order they were drawn (if possible).
Note that this means any just action responding to a just drawn destiny in a Draw X Choose Y situation must do so when it is DRAWN (in step 1) and not when it is CHOSEN (in step 2). Once the process has moved on to Step 2, with the player who drew choosing which destinies to use, the draws can no longer be responded to as just drawn.

Also worth noting is that all destinies drawn with a Draw X Choose Y card count against applicable limits or other cards that count the number of destinies, even if they are not chosen. That is to say, limits count the number of destinies drawn, not the number of destinies chosen. To illustrate, here are a few examples:

Example 1: Dash in Rogue 10 (applicable text: During battle, if with another T-47 and about to draw a battle destiny, may draw two and choose one.) is in a battle with another T-47, and the Light Side player is limited to ONE battle destiny. In this situation Dash in Rogue 10's “draw 2 and choose 1” text cannot be used because both destinies drawn with Dash count as battle destiny draws.

Example 2: If a similar situation played out, but the Light Side player was limited 2 battle destinies instead of 1, the Light Side player using Dash in Rogue 10's text on 1 destiny would reach the limit of two battle destinies on its own, because even though only one such destiny would be chosen, two destinies were still drawn. If the light side player had a way to add a battle destiny in this example, they would be better off NOT using Dash in Rogue 10's text and simply drawing 2 normal destinies, because using Dash in Rogue 10's text on the first destiny would cause them to reach the limit of 2, preventing them from drawing the added battle destiny after.

Example 3: Dash in Rogue 10 is in a battle with Commander Luke Skywalker v piloting Rogue 1 (so that Luke draws 2 battle destiny if unable to otherwise). Luke's text will be usable because when it checks how many destinies Light Side is scheduled to draw at the beginning of the power segment, it will only see 1. (Luke's text only counts one destiny able to be drawn because Dash in Rogue 10's text has not triggered yet - it is only usable when the Light Side is about to draw a battle destiny) While the Light Side may theoretically use Dash in Rogue 10's text to draw 2 and choose 1 on the first destiny drawn, they would no longer be able to draw the 2nd destiny with Luke's text, because players may never combine multiple destiny drawing to draw more than the “if unable to otherwise” text allows (see "Battle Destiny - Draws X Battle Destiny If Unable To Otherwise" on AR page 6-6). In this case, drawing 2 and choosing 1 on the first destiny and attempting to draw the second would mean the Light Side would be drawing 3 battle destinies, which would be prevented by “if unable to otherwise” rules. If the first destiny with Luke's text is drawn normally, the Light Side player may not use Dash in Rogue 10's text on the second destiny from Luke's text, because again, that would result in the Light Side player drawing 3 destinies and would be prevented. In short, like example 2, the Light Side player would be better off simply drawing 2 normal battle destinies rather than using Dash in Rogue 10's text in this situation.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here is one final big batch of errata before the MPC. Most of these are extremely minor things that should not have much gameplay impact.

There are still a couple more outstanding issues that the rules team is working on and planning to address before the MPC, but they have already been ruled on and simply need to be formalized. For more information, see the following rulings on:
when searches that deploy from reserve deck can and cannot be initiated: /viewt ... =5&t=53299
when cards add destinies during battle work only at their location or globally: /viewt ... =5&t=53087

The following errata/rulings are broken down by AR Chapter/Appendix. Additions are underlined and removed sections are marked with strikethrough.


Chapter 1
Actions - For Each/For Every
Any time game text permits you to use, lose or retrieve Force "for each" (or "every") of a certain card, characteristic, etc., that action is performed as one action for the full calculated amount. For example, if you occupy 3 Tatooine battleground sites, then Tatooine Celebration will permit you to initiate an action to retrieve 3 Force during your control phase (not three retrieval actions of one Force each).
In addition,Whenever something happens "for each" or "for every" of X, and there are no X's that qualify, the value is treated as an unmodifiable zero. For instance, the Force loss from Vengeance Of The Dark Prince is based on "opponent loses 1 Force for each battleground location occupied by Xizor or Emperor." If there are no battleground sites occupied by Xizor or Emperor, then that Force loss is 0 and cannot be modified.
This was a minor tweak intended to show that the two sections of this entry are separate. The part after the strikethrough text is not dependent on the text before it, so anytime anything happens "for each"/"for every" of x, even if it does not involve using, losing, or retrieving force, the text after the stricken section will still apply. For example, if a Mon Calamari Star Cruiser (v) is deployed when there are no Imperial starships on table, the cruiser will deploy for -0, which still triggers the deploy cost limit "to a minimum of 3."


Never
The word "never" is used on cards and in rules for anything that cannot be circumvented. For example, since shielded sites are never battlegrounds, then Establish Control (V) cannot make a shielded Hoth: Echo Docking Bay a battleground. Likewise, since inactive cards never provide presence, an undercover Probe Droid (V) cannot provide presence regardless of its game text.
A card with a deployment restriction using the word "never" cannot be circumvented by cards such as Quarren and Cane Adiss.
A character with a movement restriction of "never" cannot use any form of movement if it would violate the stated restriction (though it may be carried, unless this is also prohibited), and cannot be relocated from a pile, card, etc. that would violate that restriction (as if it were moving there).
A 'never' limitation is always applied, even if the card's game text is canceled or the card is in a non-active state.
This addition was made to clarify that 'never' restrictions apply at all times, even if a character is not on table (or on table but not active). For example, Darth Vader, More Machine Than Man may not deploy if Rise of the Dark Lord is not on table, as the 'never' restriction in his game text will still function while he is not on table (such as in a player's hand or reserve deck).


Free
Any action that is "free" ignores any cost, regardless of whether or not the value is being modified or reset. Keep in mind that this only affects that action; separate costs related to the action still apply.
If a condition states that a card must be able to deploy for free (such as Prepared Defenses) it means the card must have no deploy cost listed in its game text.
This addition is clarifying that the underlined text (previously found in the Starting the Game section of the AR) applies at all times during the game, not just during the start of the game.


Chapter 2
Starting The Game - General Rules
Any cards deployed at the start of the game deploy for free (so you may deploy Visage Of The Emperor without losing Force or Obi-Wan using Krayt Dragon Howl (V) without using Force). However, they must still obey all deployment conditions and rules. For example, you cannot deploy Tatooine Occupation if you do not occupy two Tatooine sites (since it has a deployment condition), you cannot deploy Captain Han Solo aboard the Outrider (since Han has a deployment restriction), and you cannot start with Han, Chewie, And The Falcon at the Audience Chamber (since starships may not deploy to interior sites by rule).
If a condition states that a card must be able to deploy for free (such as Prepared Defenses) it means the card must have no deploy cost listed in its game text.
During the start of game, any card that is not on table or in your hand is considered part of your Reserve Deck.
Any optional or mandatory actions that are responses to a card being deployed are valid (e.g., If Chall Bekan is deployed using You Can Either Profit By This..., then Dark may ▲a non-unique alien into hand from his Reserve Deck).
During the start of game, no player can activate, use, or
lose Force. That part of any action is ignored.
The above text is being removed from this entry and moved to the "Free" entry (seen above in the Chapter 1 section) to show that it is in effect during the entire game, and not just at the start of the game. This rule is still in effect at the start of the game even though the text will no longer be found in this section.


Appendix A
Obi-Wan Kenobi (v)
Obi-Wan's game text may not be canceled and he may never be targeted by cards that capture. [Previous text continues.]
This change is being made to make clear that Obi-Wan's text functions in any state (meaning no matter what card state he is in, he cannot be targeted for capture).


Appendix B

The following entry replaces the previous Appendix B entry for Takeel in its entirety.
Takeel
This Interrupt may be initiated only after both players have completed one battle destiny draw, after both players have completed Step 8 of drawing battle destiny (see Ch. 1, Drawing Destiny), but before total battle destiny is applied. Thus, this action requires that both players draw exactly one battle destiny each. For all intents and purposes, the two destiny numbers trade places. Any modifiers to the individual destiny draws switch along with the draws, but any modifiers to total battle destiny do not switch, and remain with their original owner.
This entry was tweaked a bit to make the timing of when it is played clear, as well as clarifying what destiny modifiers switch and which ones do not.


Appendix C
React
This is a special form of deployment or movement (granted by cards that say 'react') that may occur during your opponent's turn. A react occurs just after your opponent initiates a battle or Force drain, and allows you to deploy or move one or more cards to the location of the battle or Force drain (at normal use of the Force).
All Force costs required to move or deploy as a react are considered to be part of the initiation of the react action, and thus cannot be recovered even if the react is canceled. Cards such as CZ-3 are not intended to imply that all of the movements or deployments are one big 'react.' Thus, each opponent's Sense card may cancel only one card's deployment or movement.
Reacting to a Force drain cancels the Force drain if you bring presence to the location (even if a card states that the Force drain "cannot be canceled). All cards involved in a react (including cards deployed as a react, or that embarked on or disembarked from a card moving as a react) are prevented from being involved in another react during the same turn (even if it was canceled). Additionally, when a non-unique card is deployed as a react, and that react is canceled, no copy of that card title may be deployed as a react during the same turn.
This change is being made to address a possible judging issue that could occur with reacts and non-unique cards. Previously a "card" that was part of a react (even a canceled one) was not allowed to react again that turn, creating an issue where the validity of an action (trying to deploy a copy of a card that was either already part of a react that was canceled or was returned to where it was deployed from after being deployed as a react) would only be legally verifiable by calling a judge to check the opponent's hand (or in some cases, their reserve deck or other piles). Note that movement reacts are still handled the same way they were previously, and unique cards could (and still can) only be part of one deployment react per turn (even if canceled) due to uniqueness rules.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here are the rulings that were noted as pending in the previous post (as well as one addition small unrelated addition):

EDIT: Note that the "Deploying/Playing from a Deck or Pile" ruling has been modified slightly from the original posting. Please see the edit further down for more information.


The following is an addition to the Battle Destiny - Modifying The Number Of Destinies entry in Chapter 6 of the AR:
For a character, starship, vehicle, weapon, or device to add battle destiny (or destiny to power or attrition), that card must be participating in battle (unless specified otherwise). For other card types, simply follow the conditions on the cards themselves.


The following is an addition to Appendix B - Card Errata in the AR (change is underlined):
Bantha Herd
Deploy on an exterior Tatooine site. Specify starting direction. During your control phase, moves to next adjacent exterior site (reversing direction as necessary). During battle here, if your Tusken Raider or bantha here, may add one battle destiny.
The first of the above rulings covers any offending "noun" cards that don't have "during battle, when in battle, here, at same location, etc." in their text so that their destiny adding text only works while they themselves are in a battle, as intended. Due to the this ruling Bantha Herd needed a small tweak to ensure that it only works at its site and not globally.




The following is an addition to the Deploying/Playing from a Deck or Pile entry in Chapter 1 of the AR:

EDIT: This entry was modified slightly after its original posting. The sentence starting with "The one exception" now accounts for restricted cards as well as allowing location conversion, which was overlooked in the previous version of this post. Other than that sentence, the rest of the the ruling remains the same.
Any action that searches a deck or pile to deploy a card may be initiated as long as the conditions of the card allowing the search are met (even when there may not be a valid target to deploy, or a valid target to deploy on or to). If such an action is initiated, and upon searching the deck or pile no valid target is found, the normal rules of verification apply (see Taking Cards From A Deck/Pile). The one exception to this is when all possible targets listed for such an action are unique (•) or restricted (••, •••) and would violate uniqueness rules by being deployed (see page 9-1); in such cases, the search action may not be initiated.


The following is an addition to Vehicles section of Chapter 9 in the AR:
Vehicles - capacity - lost capacity
See Starships - capacity - lost capacity
This entry was made to mirror the already existing entry for starships, as well as to deal with situations involving Luke's Backpack and Foul Moudama, since those 2 cards both allow characters to be carried "as if riding a creature vehicle."
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here are a few more minor errata and a ruling. I think the only one of note for those planning for the MPC would be the first ruling, which clearly codifies how re-drawn destinies work, something that was not explicitly discussed in the rules previously.

The following is an addition to Section F. Drawing Destiny in Chapter 1 of the AR.
Canceled And Redrawn Destiny Draws
A canceled destiny draw counts towards the number of destinies able to be drawn, counts against limits, and counts for any other cards or rules that check the number of draws made during a particular time frame, unless it is redrawn. In such cases, the redrawn destiny is counted instead of the canceled destiny.
The following are additions to Appendix A - Errata in the AR.
Observation Holocam
Deploy on a site. Adds 1 to the total weapon destiny of each of your automated weapons at same and adjacent sites. During battle, may add the power of one of your characters at an adjacent site you control to your total.
Hyper Escape
If a battle was just initiated at any system or sector, move all your starships and vehicles there away.
Narrow Escape
If opponent just initiated battle at a site where you have a Rebel of ability > 2 present, move all of your cards with ability there away (using their landspeed).
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

Locked

Return to “Rules FAQ/Archives”