Current Rulings Archive August 2012 - December 2015

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following rules updates and errata are effective immediately, and in the case of specific cards, is applicable to any format where the card in question is legal. Added text is underlined and removed text is in strikethrough.

Chapter 1

The following is a change to the Leaves Table entry on page 1-2:
Leaves Table
If a card leaves the table by being relocated to a deck or pile, by being placed out of play, or by being returned to hand (for example, due to cards like Master Luke, ASP-707, Revealed or As Good As Gone) then all cards deployed on, carried by, or aboard that card (as well as any inactive or supporting cards on it) must be placed in their owner's Lost Pile unless specified otherwise (i.e. Captives - Releasing rules). All the cards (including the card leaving table) leave play simultaneously, and thus can be stacked in any order in the Lost Pile. Any owner of cards being lost simultaneously chooses the order to place their cards in their Lost Pile.
The following are additions to the Empty Deck or Pile entry on page 1-2 and the Implied Target Rule on page 1-11:
Empty Deck or Pile
[original entry]
An empty deck or pile does not stop a player from placing a card or cards under that deck or pile.

Implied Target Rule
To target is to select and identify a particular thing such as a card, pile, hand, player, icon, etc. for a purpose specified by a card or rule. (It is also a synonym for the thing that is targeted.) It's important to note that a card does not have to explicitly use the word "target" to target something; this is where the implied target rule comes in.
All the items listed for an action (even the results of the action) are targeted by that action. If you cannot target every item, you cannot initiate an action. Thus:
- You cannot cancel (or lose) something that doesn't exist or that cannot be canceled.
- You cannot modify, reset, or otherwise target a value which does not exist (Droids are a specific exception; they may be targeted by cards that compare against ability; in which case their ability is treated as an unmodifiable 0).
- You cannot move a card that doesn't exist, relocate it to a stack, pile, deck, place it out of play, or take it into hand.
- You cannot move a card to a site, system, or sector that doesn't exist.
- You cannot deploy, take, exchange, or steal a card from an empty deck, pile, or stack, nor can you search it, peek at it (examine, revealing, etc.), shuffle it, or draw a card from it (An empty Reserve Deck does not prevent a player from drawing a destiny; the draw simply fails. An empty Lost Pile does not stop a player from initiating an action that retrieves Force/cards. Empty piles may still be moved.). Cards may still be placed under an empty deck or pile.
[continue original entry]
Chapter 4

The following is an addition to the All Cards/All Characters entry on page 4-4:
All Cards/All Characters
Any game text or rule that causes "all cards" (or "all characters", etc.)... continue original entry.
Chapter 6

The following is an addendum to the Attacks - Parasites Attacking entry on page 6-10:
Attacks - Parasites Attacking
Attackers: Your parasite creature
Potential Targets: Stated on the creatures card, in the form of Parasite: X. However, parasites will not attack characters that are aboard a starship or vehicle (even if that vehicle is not enclosed).
Chapter 7

The following is an addition to the Movement – move away entry on page 7-6:
If a card uses landspeed, hyperspeed, or regular sector movement when performing a “move away” action, it is considered a regular move (unless specified otherwise).


Chapter 9

The following is an addition the Cloud Sectors entry on page 9-11.
Any planet sector with “cloud” in its title is considered a cloud sector.
The following is an addition to the Starships – Pilot entry in Chapter 9:
Starships – Pilot
Aspect of characters that allows them to control and move a starship, combat vehicle or shuttle vehicle (indicated by a pilot icon on the character card). In addition, many starships, combat vehicles and shuttle vehicles have built-in permanent pilots as indicated by the pilot icon on their card. See permanent pilot.
When a pilot character is deployed or moved aboard a vehicle or starship, that character is considered to be acting as a pilot if sufficient pilot capacity is available, unless the deploying player specifies otherwise. However, pilots deploying simultaneously with an unpiloted starship, combat vehicle, or shuttle vehicle must act as a pilot, since that is a condition of deploying them simultanously with such a starship or vehicle. You may designate which characters are acting as pilots (that is, you may relocate them as an unlimited move between pilot and passenger capacity) at any time during your deploy or your move phase (if the capacity offers a choice, you may also change it between pilot and passenger as well). Any pilots aboard a starship or vehicle in excess of its pilot capacity are passengers and thus may not enhance the starship or vehicle. Any modifiers to a pilot's personal power do not increase the bonus that pilot grants to a starship or vehicle. While all characters aboard a starship or vehicle apply ability normally, on enclosed vehicles and starships only the pilot (or driver) applies their ability towards drawing battle destiny.
Appendix B

The following is an addition to the Gold Leader in Gold 1 (v) entry on page B-8:
A player may choose not to pay for each battle destiny draw they are allowed to make, in which case they are prevented from making that draw, and then proceed to the next draw (if any).
The following is a new entry in Appendix B:
Scythe 1
The game text of this card allows its owner to initiate one or both of the following actions with Scythe 1 in their move phase (they may occur in any order, and each occurs as a separate action):
- make an additional move
- fire one starship weapon aboard

The following is an addition to the Weather Vane entry in Appendix B:
When a starship or vehicle rescues a character stacked on this card, the rescued character is placed aboard that starship or vehicle (capacity permitting). If there is insufficient capacity, the rescuing action cannot be initiated by that starship or vehicle.
The following is an addition to the Lost In Space entry in Appendix B:
When a capital starship rescues a character stacked on this card, the rescued character is placed aboard that starship (capacity permitting). If there is insufficient capacity, the rescuing action cannot be initiated by that starship.


The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following rulings and errata are effective immediately.

Removed text is in strikethrough; added text is underlined.

Appendix A - Errata
Jabba The Hutt
Deploy -2 at Tatooine or Nal Hutta. To move use his landspeed requires +2 Force. May escort a captive. While at Audience Chamber, adds 1 to forfeit of all your other aliens and allows you to activate 1 Force whenever you Force drain with an alien. Immune to attrition <4.
The movement restriction on Jabba the Hutt is being changed to match the wordings of the other Jabba's and prevent a conflict with general movement rules.
Luminous
Deploys and moves like a starfighter. May add 1 pilot and 6 passengers. Permanent pilot provides ability of 2. May use Covert Landing like a shuttle or starfighter (even while landed).
The above tweak allows Luminous to use Covert Landing as intended, where previously, its gametext allowing it to use Covert Landing was technically unusable while landed.
Reflection
Deploy on Leia. Once during each of your control phases, you may use 3 Force to retrieve 1 card from your Lost Pile Force. Also, when an apprentice, adds 1 to her training destiny.
The above change is being made to ensure that reflection retrieves 1 force (eg. the top card of lost pile), and not any lost card of the light side player's choice.

Appendix B - Card Rulings
Covert Landing
The USED portion of this Interrupt may be used any time your shuttle or shuttle vehicle is participating in a battle, even if that shuttle is landed or unpiloted.

Jabba the Hutt
The entry for this card is being stricken and replaced with an errata in Appendix A.
Magnetic Suction Tube
When this device “sucks up” a character, it may only relocate that character to a sandcrawler site deployed on the sandcrawler the device is deployed on, not sites deployed on other sandcrawlers at the same system (even though those are technically related).
Appendix C - Special Rules
Sabacc
...
Each clone card must "clone" (duplicate) the value of any other non-clone card in that hand (even a value assigned to a wild card). A hand containing nothing but clone cards has a total value of zero. Players choose the values of their wild cards and clone cards (if any), then reveal their entire sabacc hands to determine the winner.
...
The above part of the Sabacc entry is receiving a small tweak to explain what occurs when multiple clone cards are drawn in the same hand of sabacc, which was previously unclear.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

I have a few new errata and rulings to post. They are effective immediately. Removed text is in strikethrough. New text is underlined.

Firstly, it was brought to our attention recently that the new Senate defensive shields (Vote of No Confidence and The Republic No Longer Functions) had an unintended interaction with Recoil in Fear and Uncertain is the Future that could possibly cause an opponent to draw their entire deck when multiple copies of the interrupts were played. This was obviously not intended, so we are issuing a re-wording of the affected interrupts to make sure they function normally, even with the Senate shields on table. ADDITIONAL EXPLANATION EDIT: For completeness' sake, I will mention that the reason I used "possibly" in the explanation above was because this was one of the first discussions we had when the issue was brought to our attention. The discussion started out as "could a player be forced to draw more cards even if they didn't put their hand back?" We also wondered if Recoil/Uncertain would be playable at all if one player was prevented from putting their hand back, or if parts of it would function and others would fail. Once we determined there was a issue with the interaction and that regardless of how we ruled it to work, the focus in the Rules Committee became "how to we make this interaction work as design intended" rather than "how do we rule it to work now" based on hypotheticals that would be moot as soon as we issued a ruling. Because of this we never really explored the fully how the interaction would function if left completely alone. Apologies for any confusion this lack of explanation may have caused. END EDIT. The normal gameplay function of the interrupts is unaffected - they still cause both players to send both their hand and used pile to reserve deck, shuffle it, and draw a new hand of the same size as the one they just had. However, due to the new wording, if an opponent is unable to place their hand in Used Pile because of the Senate shield, they simply keep the hand they already have instead of drawing an entirely new hand in in addition to keeping their old one. These errata will be placed in Appendix A of the AR along with the other Card Errata in this post.
Recoil In Fear
Use 3 Force. Each player places hand onto Reserve Deck (if possible), then places Used Pile onto Reserve Deck; reshuffle. Each player then draws cards from Reserve Deck equal to the number of cards just placed from hand onto Reserve Deck (if any).
Sense & Recoil In Fear
USED: Target your highest-ability character and one just-played interrupt. Draw destiny. If destiny < ability of target character, cancel target Interrupt. LOST: Use 3 Force. Each player places hand onto Reserve Deck (if possible), then places Used Pile onto Reserve Deck; reshuffle. Each player then draws cards from Reserve Deck equal to the number of cards just placed from hand onto Reserve Deck (if any).
Sense & Uncertain Is The Future
See Sense & Recoil In Fear.
Uncertain Is The Future
See Recoil In Fear.
Other Rulings/Errata:

Chapter 9
Devices - Using Devices
Unless specified otherwise, each character, vehicle or starfighter may use only one device per turn. Squadron-class starships may use three different devices per turn. Capital starships may use any number of devices per turn. Using a device means to initiate an optional action, mandatory action, or just action using its game text. Employing any other game text of the device (for example, a continuous modifier like the power and immunity bonus of Luke's Bionic Hand) is NOT considered using the device. A device may be used any number of times per turn (subject to the One Rule). However, see Portable Fusion Generator, Ap. B for explanations on this device.
The Using Devices entry is a receiving an addition to explicitly clarify that employing any game text on a device that is not an optional action, mandatory action, or just action does not count as “using the device”. This is not a change, merely a clarification of the rule already in place.

Devices - Tractor Beams
Tractor Beams may be used any number of times per turn, though only once per battle using their own game text (other uses allowed during battle (such as with In Range) do not use up the once per battle use from Tractor Beam's game text). It may only be used when a card allows it (e.g., Captain Lennox or its own game text).


The tractor beam entry is receivng an addition to make clear that other cards allowing a tractor beam to be used during battle do not use up its once per battle use from its own game text.

Appendix A - Errata:
Feltipern Trevagg
While no droid present with Trevagg, to initiate battles at same location as Trevagg, player must use X Force, where X = total number of [DS Force icon] and [LS Force icon] present with him.
Trevagg is receiving a minor addition to ensure his text functions as intended given his Appendix B entry.
Laser Gate
Deploy between any two interior mobile sites. To pass, a character must have (power + ability) > 4 or use a Lift Tube (all other vehicles are blocked). Laser Gate defense value = 3; may be targeted (as if a character) by a character weapon from either site.
Rogue Asteroid
Deploy on an asteroid sector and specify starting direction. Every move phase, moves to next adjacent asteroid sector (reversing direction as necessary). Where present, adds 2 to asteroid destiny. May be targeted by starship weapons (armor defense value= 3).
The previous 2 errata deal with a minor issue but one that has needed to be done for a while now. There are a few cards that deploy to or among locations that allow themselves to be targeted by weapons so the opponent can remove them (e.g., Laser Gate, Rogue Asteroid, and Lost in Space). A couple of these cards are receiving minor errata to make their “may be targeted” effects consistent and more clear in how they function.
Slave 1
This card was erroneously printed with “hyperdrive” instead of hyperspeed - such text is considered a misprint. The card should read “hyperspeed 4” and has hyperspeed for all gameplay purposes (e.g., adding to hyperspeed with Dark Maneuvers).
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

I have a few errata/rulings to post. All are effective immediately.

The following is a new entry in Chapter 6:
Battle Just Ended
Any action that refers to a battle “just ended” takes place immediately after a battle ends, as the battle action is leaving the stack (See Responding To Coming Off The Stack). Thus such actions are no longer considered to be during battle and any modifiers or effects that last until the end of battle have already expired. This is distinct from actions that take place at the “end of a battle” or at the “end of battle”.
Below is a small tweak to the Participating in Battle entry on 6-7:
Participating in Battle
Participating In Battle
All characters, starships, vehicles, weapons, or devices at the location where a battle takes place (whether present or not) is participating in that battle (unless they are excluded). A card is considered to be participating in a battle as soon as the battle has been initiated, or as soon as that card is introduced to the battle location as long as that card is introduced before the power segment begins. Any card introduced after the power segment has begun may never participate in that battle.
[continue original entry]
The following is an addition to the list of examples for Squadrons on page 9-14:
Squadron Class Examples
Dark Maneuvers & Tallon Roll may be played on a TIE squadron, but the power and maneuver bonus only applies once (not 3 times) because the Interrupt only affects a single TIE.
We are altering the unpiloted entry on page 9-17 to align with how it has always been treated. Previously, the entry suggested that an unpiloted starship or vehicle literally has NO power, maneuver, etc., which was not intended. The underlined section replaces the text for the first bullet point in the current entry.
Starships - Unpiloted
A starship or vehicle that is not piloted.
Conceptually, any starship or vehicle that isn't actively being piloted (or driven) has been "powered down," and is useful for little more than something to hide in or behind. An unpiloted starship or vehicle:
-has power, maneuver (if applicable), and hyperspeed (if a starship) or landspeed (if a vehicle) equal to an unmodifiable zero (if it has armor, armor = 2)
[remaining entry unchanged]
Appendix A (Errata)
Combined Attack
During a battle, target opponent's starship present with two (or more) of your starship weapons. Add all weapon destiny draws together. Apply that total separately for each weapon in an order of your choosing.
The below errata is not really an errata for most versions of the card, as the black border versions already have the same text. However, the white border preview version from the First Anthology used the old "adds 2 to power of any starship he pilots" wording, and was never updated along with most other pilots at the time Special Edition was released.
Commander Wedge Antilles
Adds 3 to power of anything he pilots. When piloting Rogue 3, also adds 2 to maneuver and draws one battle destiny if not able to otherwise. May use 2 Force to take one One More Pass into hand from Reserve Deck; reshuffle.
It was brought to our attention that the text on this epic event was actually not limited to once per turn, nor was it even optional to attempt. The card text has been altered to fix both of those issues - attempting it is now an optional action that may be initiated only once during each Light Side control phase.
Deactivate The Shield Generator
Deploy on Bunker. Once during your control phase, if you control Bunker with a Rebel, you may attempt to “blow away” Bunker as follows:
Charges! Come On, Come On!: Draw two destiny. Add 3 to total for each Explosive Charge on Bunker.
Move! Move! Move!: If total destiny > 12, your characters here may relocate to Back Door for free, Bunker and Landing Platform (if on table) are “blown away,” opponent loses 8 Force and this card is lost.
Precise Attack
During a battle, target opponent's character or vehicle present with two (or more) of your weapons. Add all weapon destiny draws together. Apply that total separately for each weapon in an order of your choosing.
Appendix B (Card Rulings)
A Useless Gesture
The game text that prevents Ketwol from exchanging a docking bay more than once per game does not count any exchange(s) that took place before A Useless Gesture was on table. Thus, after A Useless Gesture is played, Ketwol may exchange one more docking bay before further exchanges are prevented, even if Ketwol was already used before A Useless Gesture was played.
M-HYD 'Binary' Droid
When this droid is turned 'off' and is face down, it is considered inactive and NOT supporting. This is an exception to the normal rules of card states.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here are a few small errata and an update for V Set 1. No major gameplay changes here – just a few minor clarifications and wording clean up for a few cards and rulings. The main new thing to note is that there is a new starship attribute of 'snub fighter' which can be found on the Set 1 card Green Leader in Green Squadron 1. Check the Appendix D section at the very bottom of this post for info on this new keyword.

Appendix A – Errata

All of the new errata in this section are clarifying wordings for cards that may have previously been unclear, or worded in such a way as to appear to be different than the original intent.
5D6-RA-7 (Fivedesix)
Power +1 if at same site as Motti or Yularen. Adds 1 to deploy cost of each opponent's droid (and your 'mouse' droids) when deploying to same location. Immune to attrition during “nighttime conditions.”
5d6 adds to the deploy cost of other applicable droids, NOT his own.
Chewbacca
Power +1 at same location as Han. Adds 2 to power of anything he pilots. When piloting Falcon, also adds 1 to maneuver. Your vehicles, starships, and droids at same site that are 'hit' and about to be lost go to Used Pile instead.
Black 4
May add 1 pilot. May deploy with a pilot as a 'react' to a battle initiated against where you have a TIE (for free if TIE is Black 2 or 3).
Saber 4
May deploy with a pilot as a 'react' to a battle initiated against where you have a TIE (for free if TIE is in Saber Squadron). May add 1 pilot. Immune to attrition < 4 when DS-181-4 piloting.


Both Black 4 and Saber 4 have been reworded slightly to clarify a timing issue with their react text. Previously it was unclear if the react text on these cards could be used if the Dark player added a TIE to the battle during the response step to the battle's initiation, but did not have a TIE in the battle when it was first initiated. Now the new wording only checks if you have another TIE in the battle when you are about to react with either of these 2 cards, and not when the battle was first initiated.

Tatooine: Hutt Trade Route (Desert)
Your characters here aboard vehicles here are each power +1.
Previously it was unclear whether or not the text on Hutt Trade Route also applied to characters at vehicle sites of a vehicle at the Trade Route or just to characters at the Trade Route. This has been clarified to apply only to characters that are at the Hutt Trade Route. Any characters at a vehicle site of a vehicle which is at the Trade Route are unaffected.
The Emperor's Prize
If Luke was just 'frozen,' deploy on Emperor or Detention Block Corridor. Target Luke and Vader. When reached by targets, place Utinni Effect on Luke and opponent must lose Force (from Life Force) equal to half their Life Force (round down). If Luke released, lose Utinni Effect. (Immune to Alter.)
The above clarification is being made to make explicit that when The Emperor's Prize is completed, the loss of cards from Life Force is considered force loss, and the amount can be modified or affected by cards that affect force loss.

Appendix B – Card Rulings
A Few Maneuvers
The phrase “Interrupt may even affect the result immediately after a destiny draw targeting the starfighter's maneuver” means that this card can be played immediately after any destiny draw that is to be used in a comparison (greater than, less than, or equal to) with the starfighter's maneuver or defense value (or a calculation that involves said maneuver or defense value).
This is another slight modification to a recent ruling, making clear that A Few Maneuvers (and similar cards) still work when the calculation involves the target's defense value, not just when targeting their maneuver.
Accelerate
The phrase “Interrupt may even affect the result immediately after a destiny draw targeting the vehicle's maneuver” means that this card can be played immediately after any destiny draw that is to be used in a comparison (greater than, less than, or equal to) with the vehicle's maneuver or defense value (or a calculation that involves said maneuver or defense value).
This above entry is being added due to its similarity to the "maneuvers" cards, as it was missed when we first issued the ruling on those cards.
Hero Of A Thousand Devices
You may only use this Effect to forfeit devices that you own, not any device deployed on the droid. For example, you cannot use this Effect to forfeit a Restraining Bolt owned by the opponent deployed on the droid.
Appendix C – Special Rules
Captives – Releasing
When your characters are captives, you may release them using cards such as 8D8, Arc Welder, Captive Pursuit, Cell 2187, Detention Block Control Room, I'm Here To Rescue You, Jedi Mind Trick and Someone Who Loves You, as well as the Light Side game text of your opponent's Cloud City: Security Tower or Jabba's Palace: Dungeon. Besides special cards, an escorted captive can also be released by removing the escort. Causing the escort to be forfeited, lost, missing, or Leaves Table will all release the captive. An exception to this is when an escort and a captive are both to be lost or made missing by the same action, that is, any action or rule that affects "all cards" or "all characters" such as blowing away the system, setting off a Thermal Detonator or Program Trap etc. In this case, the escort and the captive both suffer the effects of the action as appropriate - both of them are lost, or missing (in this case the captive is released before going missing and cannot escape or rally). Whenever a non-frozen captive is released from an escort, the Light Side player may choose whether the released character:
• Escape — be placed in the Light Side player's Used Pile or
• Rally — if released at a site, be moved to the Light Side of the site location (even aboard a vehicle or starship there)
Imprisoned characters are not escorted, and can only be released using a card that allows you to free a captive, such as I'm Here To Rescue You or the light side game text on Jabba's Palace: Dungeon (simply controlling the location of the prison is not sufficient to release a captive). If a site loses prison status, any captives imprisoned there are immediately released. A captive released from a prison must Rally.
For information on a captive released during a battle, see Participating In Battle, Ch. 6. See Captives – Frozen – Releasing.

The above entry was previously clarified to explain what occurs when both an escort and the captive are made missing by an all cards situation, but we felt that this needed further clarification to explain that the captive is first released before going missing, and does not stay as an escorted captive, nor may they escape to used pile.


Appendix D – Indentifying Cards

The following is added to the Defined Attributes & Loaded Keywords section of Appendix D to define the new 'snub fighter' attribute found in V Set 1:
Snub Fighter
A snub fighter is any starship with the subtype of A-Wing, B-Wing, X-Wing, Y-Wing, or Z-95.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here's a new rules entry and an errata. Both are effective immediately. The new text on the errata is underlined.

Chapter 9 - The Cards - Attributes, Types & Icons
An icon in a card's game text does not give that card any characteristics or attributes associated with the icon when the icon is used in the context of referring to other cards.
Appendix A - Errata
Human Shield
Used: If an opponent's weapon just 'hit' an Imperial present with a captive being escorted, the captive is 'hit' instead.
Lost: During a battle at a site, you may forfeit any or all captives present (once per battle per captive).
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here's a big ruling dump from a few things that have piled up. Most of these are minor issues or fixing inconsistencies. For changes to already existing entries, removed text is in strikethrough and new text is underlined.

Rulings are organized by the Chapter/Appendix of the AR that they appear in.

Chapter 1

Section B. Taking Cards From A Deck/Pile
If your search fails to find any card matching the criteria given, your opponent is permitted to check to see look through that deck, pile, or stack in order to prove that no candidate could have been taken; this is called "verifying." An exception to this is that an opponent may not verify your hand; however, they may call a judge to verify your hand for them. In addition, when the card or card type you searched for was not found and your opponent has verified this, you may not use that search function (even if on a card with the same name) to search or look through the same deck, pile, or stack again this turn.
After searching, you should replace the deck, pile, or stack without shuffling, unless otherwise instructed.

Chapter 6

Damage Segment – Attrition
If you have no cards left to forfeit, any remaining attrition against you is may be ignored. [rest of entry unchanged]

Participating In Battle
All characters, starships, vehicles, weapons, or devices at the location where a battle takes place (whether present or not) is participating in that battle (unless they are excluded). A card is considered to be participating in a battle as soon as the battle has been initiated, or as soon as that card is introduced to the battle location as long as that card is introduced before the power segment begins. Any card introduced after the power segment has begun is not participating.
Even if the battle ends prematurely (or is canceled) the cards have still participated in a battle. Cards which participate in one battle may not normally participate in another battle again during the same turn.

Chapter 9

Starhips – Unpiloted
An unpiloted vehicle at a site may be shuttled to a starship at the related system and may use docking bay transit. Likewise an unpiloted vehicle in the "cargo hold" of a starship may be shuttled to a related site, may be transferred between docked starships, and may use docking bay transit (these are specific exception to the "may not move" rule).

Weapons - May Not Be Targeted By Weapons [new entry]
This phrase does not prevent a player from deploying weapons. Furthermore, a card that "may not be targeted by weapons" may still carry, use, fire, etc weapons normally. These are exceptions to normal targeting rules.

Appendix A

Blaster Scope
Deploy on your non-[permanent weapon] blaster. Scope allows that weapon to target at an adjacent site.

EG-6 (Eegee-Six) [new entry]
Adds 1 to power of each of your droids present, except power droids. * Destiny equals zero, but if drawn as a battle destiny where you have less power than opponent, your total power present is doubled (once per battle).

Appendix B

All Wrapped Up
When capturing a just forfeited character using this Dark Side Effect, that character is captured after applying forfeit value but before being placed on the Lost Pile. When captured, the character's values that would normally be restored upon leaving table (e.g., forfeit being reduced by 2, power being reduced to 0) has those values reset. In this way, cards deployed on that character (for example, Bounty or a weapon) are not placed in the Lost Pile. Additionally, if the card was 'hit', it is no longer 'hit'. However, if any responses to the character being lost remove a card (or cards) on that character prior to this card being used to capture them, any removed card(s) would not return to the character and would stay where they were placed when removed. This is a specific exception to the just lost ruling.
This card merely requires that the bounty hunter be present at the location. He need not be present with the forfeited character.

Antilles Maneuver (v) [new entry]
The first function of this Interrupt may still be used if the opponent does not have a weapon on table. See Implied Target Rule – Unknown Targets.

EG-6 (Eegee-Six) The content of this entry is being removed and replaced with the EG-6 errata entry found above. The function of the card itself is unchanged.
This droid works just like EG-4, adding 1 to power of each of your droids present. See EG-4.

He Hasn't Come Back Yet
This Interrupt targets one of "your" exterior planet sites, and thus may play at a site only if you deployed that site card. Additionally, this Interrupt may target characters aboard starships or vehicles (even those that are enclosed) as long as the character is at the site targeted by the Interrupt (and not, for example, below decks at a related vehicle site). If the destiny draw is successful when targeting such a character, they are conceptually swept off the vehicle and then made missing.

I Can't Shake Him (v) [new entry]
See Antilles Maneuver (v).

Imperial Domination [new entry]
This effect triggers as an automatic action if at any point during the Dark Side player's control phase they control the location it is deployed on and have not force drained there that turn. However, if they force drain at that location later during that control phase, the effects of the trigger would be canceled and Light Side would activate there normally during their next turn.

Sergeant Irol
Irol adds 2 to the destiny draw for either function of High-speed Tactics. Irol only adds 2 to the destiny draw for the first function of High-speed Tactics.

Take This! [new entry]
The second function of this Interrupt may only be used if the Blockade Flagship is on table. See Implied Target Rule.

We Have A Prisoner
When capturing a just forfeited character using this Dark Side Interrupt, that character is captured after applying forfeit value but before being placed on the Lost Pile. When captured, the characters values that would normally be restored upon leaving table (e.g., forfeit being reduced by 2, power being reduced to 0) has those values reset. In this way, cards deployed on that character (for example, Bounty or a weapon) are not placed in the Lost Pile. Additionally, if the card was 'hit', it is no longer 'hit'. However, if any responses to the character being lost remove a card (or cards) on that character prior to this card being played to capture them, any removed card(s) would not return to the character and would stay where they were placed when removed. This is a specific exception to the just lost ruling.
This Interrupt's first function may capture a character lost or forfeited from a system or sector, if you have a potential escort available aboard a vehicle or starship at that location.

Weapon Of A Fallen Mentor [new entry]
If lightsaber targeted by this card later leaves table, this Immediate Effect is lost. Likewise, if the targeted lightsaber becomes inactive, this card will also be inactive until the lightsaber is active again.

Appendix C

Captives - Releasing
When your characters are captives, you may release them using cards such as 8D8, Arc Welder, Captive Pursuit, Cell 2187, Detention Block Control Room, I'm Here To Rescue You, Jedi Mind Trick and Someone Who Loves You, as well as the Light Side game text of your opponent's Cloud City: Security Tower or Jabba's Palace: Dungeon. Besides special cards, an escorted captive can also be released by removing the escort. Causing the escort to be forfeited, lost, missing, stolen, crossed over, converted, or Leaves Table will all release the captive...

Dueling
4) Duel has its result, as stated on the duel card. However, if one or both participants leave table before this step, the duel immediately ends with no result. [remaining entry unchanged]

Lightsaber Combat [addition to current entry]
If one or both participants leave table before the winner and loser are determined, the combat immediately ends with no result.

Politics
Some characters have a numerical value entitled Politics, whether it is printed (such as on Aks Moe) or provided by another card (such as the Objective My Lord, Is That Legal). This indicates their relative political power when 'voting' (battling) at the Galactic Senate. Politics functions differently than the normal rules of values. A character whose politics is 0 (even if temporarily reduced) is a character without politics. Also, a character without politics can have his politics added to by other game actions (though if a value is reset the normal reset rules will still apply). Whenever a player has no characters with politics at the Galactic Senate, their total politics is considered an unmodifiable zero.

Undercover Spy Rules
Note that these exceptions apply only towards the spy's state as an undercover spy, anything else (such as going missingor being excluded from battle) overrides these exceptions (thus an excluded undercover spy cannot be choked by Vader). Also, when an undercover spy goes missing, the character remains undercover, but missing rules will override the undercover spy rules until they are found (thus while missing, they cannot use their game text, cannot have Effects, weapons, or devices deployed on them, they no longer prevent force drains from being initiated at their location, etc.).
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The Players Committee would like to announce the Errata of Imperial Decree (v) to the following text effective immediately:

Imperial Decree (V)
[Virtual Set 0 – Cloud City – U]
EFFECT
Text: Deploy on table. Whenever you lose Force (except from Force drains, battle damage, or your card), may reduce loss (to a minimum of 1) by the number of battlegrounds you occupy. During battle, may place this Effect out of play to draw one battle destiny if unable to otherwise. [Immune to Alter]
Set Icon 0

A full explanation and reasoning for the errata can be found here on the SWCCGPC main page here: http://www.starwarsccg.org/wp/errata-to ... -decree-v/
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here is a ruling dump for some pending issues. They are sorted by the order of their where they would appear in the AR.

Chapter 1

The following is a new entry in Chapter 1:
Removing Cards From A Hand, Deck, Pile, or Stack
When a card removes any card(s) from a hand, deck, pile, or stack, do not reveal the card(s) unless instructed to do so. If the card(s) being removed was face up, it may be seen by both players. If the card was face down or hidden (e.g. a card in hand), it may be seen by its owner if they were allowed to look at the card(s) normally. However, if the removing card uses the word “unseen,” then neither player may view the card(s) being removed.
The following is an addition to the Unit of Force entry in Chapter 1:
Unit of Force
When a card in a hand, deck, or pile has game text that allows itself to be targeted by another card, that game text is considered active and will function normally if the targeting card is searching through that hand, deck, or pile. Likewise, when a card in a hand, deck or pile has game text that says it is immune to another card, that game text is considered active and will function normally if that other card is searching through that hand, deck, or pile.
Chapter 4

The following is a new entry in Chapter 4:
Where Present
When a card uses the phrase “where present,” that means that card must be present at its location. For example, “Where present, cancels game text of C-3PO or R2-D2” on Commander Praji means that if Praji is present at a location, he cancels the game text of C-3PO or R2-D2 at that location (C-3PO or R2-D2 do not need to be present there, only Praji).


Chapter 5

The following is an addition to the Persona entry in Chapter 5:
Persona
If a unique persona that is part of another card is suspended or removed (or the game text of that card is canceled or suspended), that persona's uniqueness still applies, unless the card that persona is part of is a starship or vehicle that was stolen, or a permanent weapon card that has been disarmed.


Chapter 9

The following is an addition to the current "Title - Identical Cards" entry in Chapter 9:
Title - Identical Cards
When checking if two cards have the same card title, you must also check for matching uniqueness/restricted symbols. If the cards have different types of symbols (or if one card has symbols and the other card does not), then they are not considered to have identical card titles (thus <>Tatooine: Desert and ***Tatooine: Desert do not interact in any special way and are considered to have different titles).
The following is an addition to the "Weapons - Deploying and Carrying" entry in Chapter 9:
Weapons – Deploying and Carrying
If a weapon can deploy on a card, then that card may use that weapon. However, the reverse is not true – just because a character may use a particular weapon does not mean that that weapon can be deployed on them (see Aurra Sing).
Appendix A - Errata

The following are additions to the errata found in Appendix A (new text is underlined):
Ben Kenobi
Deploys only on Tatooine. When in a duel, adds 2 to your total. Once per turn, if a battle just ended here, may 'revive' (place here from Lost Pile) your character forfeited from same site this turn. Immune to attrition < 5.
Beldon's Eye
Deploy on Bespin: Cloud City. [remaining text unchanged]
Haven
Deploy on one of the following systems: Rendezvous Point, Hoth, Yavin 4, Alderaan, or Sullust. [remaining text unchanged]
Spice Mines Of Kessel
Deploy on Kessel system [remaining text unchanged]
Tarkin Doctrine
Deploy on Death Star system. [remaining text unchanged]
They're On Dantooine
Once per game, use 2 Force to deploy on Dantooine system. [remaining text unchanged]

Appendix B

The following is an modification to the Card Rulings in Appendix B (removed text is in strikethrough, new text is underlined):
Tonnika Sisters
(Errata) While the Tonnika Sisters are often referred to as "they," nevertheless, they are a single character card and are treated as such for all purposes. This card is a combo card. This is a specific exception to the combo card rules (See Combo Cards, Ap. C).
The Tonnika Sisters may destroy any weapon or device, but may steal only something they can carry (such as a character weapon). The Tonnika Sisters may steal or destroy up to two weapons present or up to two devices present — not one of each. (See Kiffex.)
Appendix C

The following is an modification to the Blown Away - Imperial Holotable entry in Appendix C (removed text is in strikethrough, new text is underlined):
Blown Away - Imperial Holotable
Transmission Terminated describes how to blow away the Imperial Holotable (this is an Interrupt destiny draw). The general rules regarding blown away do not apply here; instead place the holotable– and all card that were at the holotable – in the Lost Pile, all cards that were at the holotable, and any converted holosites that were underneath the holotable, into their owners' Lost Piles. Because the Imperial Holotable does not represent a physical location, either player may deploy another holosite as normal.
The following is an addition to the current "Captives" entry in Appendix C:
Captives
When a card looks for a specific attribute or character type when checking who a captive was captured by (e.g. Bounty looking for a character captured by a bounty hunter), a captive is considered captured by a character when:
- that character seized the captive (regardless of what caused the capturing action), or
- that character used a weapon or their own game text to capture the captive (regardless of whether or not they seized the captive)
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22985
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata is issued from the Design & Development Team, and is effective immediately:

*Ng'ok War Beast (3)
Effect
Lore: Dejarik.
Text: Deploy on table. If your character, starship, or vehicle in battle is about to be lost before the damage segment, it is instead lost at end of battle (if forfeited, forfeit for 0). (Immune to Alter.)

*K'lor'slug (3)
Effect
Text: Deploy on table. If your character, starship, or vehicle in battle is about to be lost before the damage segment, it is instead lost at end of battle (if forfeited, forfeit for 0). (Immune to Alter.)


The purpose of this errata is to include starships and vehicles in the protective text

The errata pdf on the main page has been updated to include these:
http://www.starwarsccg.org/resources/virtual-slips/

User avatar
Aglets
Rules Advocate
Posts: 19352
Joined: January 14th, 2004, 9:08 pm
Location: Bel Air, MD

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Aglets »

The rules team apologizes in the delay for getting these rulings published. Somehow they slipped through the cracks when they should have been made public with the release of the new set. These are mostly things just to ensure that the Set 3 cards all function as intended.

The following is a modifier for the Coruscant Site layout in Appendix E of the AR.

[Coruscant system][Interior Sites][Exterior Sites][Xizor's Palace][XP: Uplink Station]

The following is a replacement for the Characters - Warrior entry in Chapter 9 of the AR.
[original entry unchanged]One important note, however, is that if a character has two (or more) printed warrior icons, that character is permitted to use that number of different weapons per turn; this supersedes all other weapon use rules. However, this only applies to using multiple different weapons; you may not use the same weapon twice. Also, this rule applies only to printed warrior icons, not icons added in other ways. A character with multiple warrior icons is not considered to be multiple warriors.
And, for good measure, here is a very specific pair of rulings made for Appendix D of the AR for two very special transports.

Bright Hope is a Medium Transport.
Luminous is a Medium Transport.
Image
Rian Johnson wrote: I would be worried if everybody across the board was like "Yea, that was a good movie." It's much more exciting to me when you get a group of people who are coming up to you.....really really excited about it. And then there are other people who walk out literally saying that was the worst movie I've ever seen. Having those two extremes to me is the mark of the type of movie that I want to make.

Locked

Return to “Rules FAQ/Archives”