Has anyone dabbled in Bitcoin?

shawnd1984
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold
GEMP Username: Shawnd1984

Has anyone dabbled in Bitcoin?

Post by shawnd1984 »

I've been doing some research about Crytocurrencies, and am in the middle of reading "The Age of Cryptocurrency: How Bitcoin, and Digital Money are Challenging the Global Economic Order". I'm not really a techie, but am curious if anyone has dabbled in acquiring bitcoin? There's actually a convenience store down the road that has a bitcoin ATM. Not finished with the book yet, but I can anticipate wanting to acquire some.

3MW0J8 wrote: "B-but... Muh Force drain bonuses!".

Gergall

Re: Has anyone dabbled in Bitcoin?

Post by Gergall »

Could be a fun hobby of sorts, definitely not a substitute for a more reliable retirement plan :)
Greg Zinn

shawnd1984
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold

Post by shawnd1984 »

Gergall wrote:Could be a fun hobby of sorts, definitely not a substitute for a more reliable retirement plan :)
Yeah, I wouldn't treat it as an "investment" per se...but I'm only 1/3rd away from the book. I already work in finance, and it is baffling how fragile everything is, it's all just based on trust...take it away, and it's worthless.

puck71
GEMP Username: puck71

Post by puck71 »

shawnd1984 wrote:it's all just based on trust...take it away, and it's worthless.
Isn't that true of all currency?
John Anderson
Proofing, Tournament Committee, GEMP Team

caldred

Post by caldred »

puck71 wrote:
shawnd1984 wrote:it's all just based on trust...take it away, and it's worthless.
All currency except bitcoin and other crypto currencies

Gergall

Post by Gergall »

Please explain what value bitcoin has if no one cares about it.

At least gold and platinum have practical engineering uses.
Greg Zinn

shawnd1984
Reflections Gold
Reflections Gold

Post by shawnd1984 »

caldred wrote:
puck71 wrote:
All currency except bitcoin and other crypto currencies