Current Rulings Archive August 2012 - December 2015

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

One minor note, not really an errata or a ruling, but something that is probably worth pointing out:

Shortly after the release of the Virtual Set 9.1 PDF, the new AT-RT card received a slight text modification so that its text interacts with Dual Laser Cannon as intended. The current version of the 9.1 PDF has the correct text; I have also posted it below. Please ensure that your v-slips have the correct text.
AT-RT
May add 1 pilot (suspends permanent pilot). May
move as a 'react.’ Permanent pilot provides ability of
2. "T-47" on [Hoth] weapons may be treated as "AT-RT".
When deployed, may \/ Dual Laser Cannon aboard.


The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following is an addition to the Damage Segment entry in Chapter 6 of the AR:

New text is underlined.

Damage Segment
In this segment, players typically lose and/or forfeit cards because of three factors: weapon 'hits,' attrition and battle damage.
Actions taken to satisfy weapon 'hits,' attrition and battle damage, as well as any other top level actions allowed in the damage segment, alternate between the players, beginning with the player who initiated the battle. [entry continues]


This isn't really a change per se, just a slight altering of the rules to account for cards that reduce or otherwise affect battle damage during the damage segment without actually satisfying it. Such actions now properly count as a Damage Segment action, meaning if a player uses a card like It Could Be Worse or Gundark to reduce battle damage, once that action resolves it would then be their opponent's turn to take a damage segment action.


EDIT:
This ruling is out of date, and has been superseded by the "Damage Segment" ruling posted here.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata from the Competitive Balance Team is effective immediately:
Han's Toolkit(v) wrote:Deploy on Falcon or Han. While Han piloting aboard Falcon
at a battleground, non-[A] Effects (except Emperor's
Power, Presence Of The Force, and Search And
Destroy) are suspended.
This change is implemented to close a loophole with Hiding in the Garbage (v) that let you switch Han to passenger during deploy phase to un-suspend Hiding in the Garbage (v), letting you deploy a guy from Lost Pile, then switching Han back to pilot so the Effect is suspended and your guys don't get pooped when lost.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following are additions to the AR and are effective immediately. Added text is underlined. Removed text is in strikethrough.

Chapter 8
Unique, Restricted, & Non-Unique
A card may have dots (•) or diamond symbols <>) next to their title. This is a reflection of a card's uniqueness.
If a card is unique (•) or restricted (e.g., •••), the number of dots restricts: (a) the number of cards of that title that are allowed on table at any given time, and (b) the number of cards of that title and persona that may be played or deployed each turn (even if one is canceled, returned to hand, if it has already resolved and been placed in the Used Pile or Lost Pile, etc).
The above addition is being made to prevent players from deploying another version of a unique persona if the deployment of another version has already been attempted that turn.

Chapter 9
Interrupts - Playing Interrupts In Different Ways
Cards like Epic Duel allow Interrupts to play in ways other than those listed in their game text. When cards state that an Interrupt may be played “as follows,” you must state what text you intend to use before you begin the initiation. That is the only applicable text, and others are disregarded. Cards that have a function that replaces text on the Interrupt (such as “treated as”) work only on the Interrupt itself, not on any alternate text on an “as follows” card.
The above entry is replacing the Duels - Playing Interrupts In Different Ways entry in Appendix C, and applies to any card allowing an interrupt to play in an alternate way using "as follows" text.
Starships – Imperial
A Dark Side starship without an Independent icon, Republic icon, or Trade Federation icon, or Separatist icon.
Updating the definition of Imperial Starships so that Seperatist starships are not also considered Imperial Starships.
Weapons - When Can I Fire?
You may fire a weapon only when a card or rule permits you to fire. Simply follow the rules of firing listed under Firing (and anything the card or rule might add).
For example, you are permitted by rule to use a weapon during battle. When you do this, you must obey the normal rules of firing; in addition, there are two special rules for firing during battle: you must also only target a card that is participating in the battle and each weapon may be fired only once per battle you may attempt to fire each weapon only once per battle.
The above change is being made to make clear that a player may ATTEMPT to fire each weapon once per battle, while the old text could have been interpreted to mean that a player could re-fire a weapon if the firing action was somehow prevented from resolving (for example, by having the targeting canceled).

Appendix A
Attack Run
Z = highest ability of TIE pilots in trench just before Pull Up!.
The above change is being made to prevent "rules lawyering" arguing that the Dark player never gets to subtract from the Attack Run total because any TIEs they had in the trench technically moved away before Z was calculated.

Appendix B
Agents Of Black Sun / Vengeance Of The Dark Prince
When this Objective card is (or has been) in play, Dark Side cards in the following categories all have the characteristic Black Sun agent: all cards with 'Black Sun agent' in lore. (such as Guri); all aliens with 'Black Sun' in lore. (such as Makurth); all information brokers (such as Labria); all bounty hunters (such as Boba Fett).
The above change is being made to make clear that only Dark Side cards are Black Sun Agents, and NOT both players' characters.

Appendix C
The entire Dueling - Playing Interrupts In Different Ways is considered stricken. It is being replaced by the Interrupts - Playing Interrupts In Different Ways entry being added to Chapter 9.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata is issued by the CBT, and is effective immediately.
Corellian Engineering Corporation (V) wrote:Deploy on table if [V4] Watch Your Step on table.
X = number of your spaceport sites controlled by your
Corellians. While you control Corellia, your total battle
destiny is +X, and once per turn, if you are about to lose
Force (except from your card), may reduce loss by X. [A]
CBT after-action report to follow shortly.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following rulings and errata are effective immediately. New text is underlined.


Chapter 1
Once Per Game
Actions that are limited by their game text to "once per game" may never be initiated more than once per game
(even if it fails or is canceled). Once initiated, a card's "once per game" function may not be initiated again by either player, whether with that card or any other card with the same title, regardless of card back (for example, if the Light Side Boonta Eve Podrace begins a podrace, the Dark Side Boonta Eve may not be used to start a podrace because they have the same card title). Actions that allow you to deploy "once per game" are still limited to the owner's deploy phase (unless specifically stated otherwise).
This rule applies similarly to cards and actions that are limited to a certain number of uses in excess of once per game. For example, if a player uses Padmé Naberrie's deployment text twice, they cannot use it again that game, even if Padmé leaves table and another copy of her is deployed.
The above entry is being altered to cover actions limited to a certain number of times per game in excess of one, since such actions were not technically covered by the above rules before now.


Chapter 6
Damage Segment
In this segment, players typically lose and/or forfeit cards because of three factors: weapon 'hits,' attrition and battle damage.
Actions taken to satisfy weapon 'hits,' attrition and battle damage, as well as actions that modify or cancel battle damage, alternate between the players, beginning with the player who initiated the battle. [entry continues]
Even though there was a similar change made a few months ago, we are tweaking the Damage Segment entry again to better cover actions that reduce or cancel battle damage, so that they are both considered using a player's 'turn' during the segment.
Attacks
Creatures do not participate in battles (and thus weapons cannot normally target a creature during a battle); instead, they participate in attacks. Attacks are like battles in some ways:
• You attack only during your battle phase
• You follow the steps of a battle (weapon segment, power segment, damage segment)
• Participating cards may fire weapons at the participating creature as if the attack were a battle
• Hit cards are lost during the damage segment
• No action that is forbidden during a battle may occur during an attack (e.g., no Elis Helrot)

There are some important differences:
• It is not a battle, so any action or condition related to battles does not apply
• Attacks do not create battle damage or attrition, and there is no forfeiting
• Actions that add destinies to power cannot be used unless allowed during an attack
• Attacks are free and do not require presence
• You may attack your own cards (in fact, you might be required to)
The above addition is being made to make clear that cards like Luke Skywalker, Strong in the Force cannot use their text to add destinies to power during an attack.

Chapter 9
Interrupts
Type of card representing a sudden short term change (such as the surprise attack by the Ewok army or Luke blinding Vader with carbonite gas). Interrupts may be played during any player's turn, and once it has its effect is then discarded. An Interrupt may play at any time between other actions, or as a response to an action that the Interrupt specifically cancels or modifies. The exact conditions required are listed in the interrupt's game text. If no condition is stated, then the interrupt is a legal card play whenever a "top level" action is possible for that player (i.e. no other actions are resolving). To play one, say, "Interrupt!" and bring out the card. Interrupt cards play, have their result and then go to the Used Pile or the Lost Pile; they are not considered to be "on table" while they are executing. Interrupts play, they do not deploy. If an Interrupt instructs you to place it somewhere other than where that subtype of interrupt would normally be placed after resolving (for example, a Used Interrupt that tells you to place it back in your hand), follow the instruction on the interrupt (unless canceled).
This change is being made to make clear that Interrupts that have an alternate function which places them somewhere other than Used Pile or Lost Pile as part of their resolution will override the normal rules of interrupt resolution (unless they are canceled).
Weapons - Deploying And Carrying
Each weapon (and device) specifies who or what it may be deployed on and what the deploy cost is (if any). Although many character weapons specify that they deploy only on warriors, other character weapons deploy on bounty hunters, Jawas, Han etc. and thus do not require a warrior. You may not deploy weapons or devices on your opponent's character, vehicle, or starship (unless specifically allowed to by the card itself).
The above entry is being modified slightly so that it applies to deploying weapons and devices on all of the opponent's characters, vehicles, or starships, not just characters.

Appendix A - Errata
4-LOM With Concussion Rifle (v)
Permanent weapon is •4-LOM's Concussion Rifle (may target a character for free; target is power -1 until end of turn). Once per turn, may place a card from hand on bottom of Used Pile to draw top card from Reserve Deck.
"Until end of turn" has been added to the power -1 text in order to prevent a duration issue.
Rycar Ryjerd (v)
Deploy on table. If your character is about to be lost from table, each player may place all their devices and Effects on that character in their Used Pile. Twice per game, may /\ a device (or Effect) that deploys on a character. (Immune to Alter.)
Rycar is being altered so that sending Effects and devices to used pile is now an optional action, thus preventing the unfortunate interaction with Our Most Desperate Hour (v). Now OMDH (v), being an automatic action, will trigger before Rycar (v), allowing Leia to go to Used Pile as intended. Now each player has an opportunity to save any effects or devices they have on a particular character when it is about to be lost from table. Similar to other response actions when a card is leaving table, who gets the chance to place their effects and devices in used pile first depends on who is causing the character to be lost. If the Light Side player forfeits a character, the dark side player would get to place any effects and devices of theirs on that character into used first, followed by the light side player. If the dark side plays force lightning to make a light side character lost, light side would get the first chance to place their effects and devices on that character into their used pile.
EDIT: I wanted to add a quick note about why this card changed to allow both players to save their effects and devices on a Light Side character about to be lost. This was done to preserve the slight drawback on the original version of this card - that if the Dark player had devices or effects on a Light character, having this card on table would save the Dark Side's cards as well as the Light Side's. Making Rycar v optional without allowing both players to save their effects and devices could lead to situations where the Light player could choose not to use Rycar v when one of their characters is lost in order to make a Dark Side effect or device go lost.
Tatooine: Mos Eisley (v) (Dark Side)
The Interior icon on both sides of this location is considered stricken.
This change was made to prevent any issues with cards that interact with interior sites only, since all other versions of this location are exterior only.

Appendix D
The following is an addition to the Specific Rulings section in Appendix D:
Shawn Valdez is an Echo Base Trooper.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata is issued by the Competitive Balance Team, and is effective immediately:
*Protocol Failure wrote:Deploy on a site to cancel a Force drain there. Vader is deploy -1 here. At end of your turn If you control this site, place this Effect in Lost Pile. OR At any time, target a unique (*) [Episode I] droid. Opponent chooses: deploy on droid (its game text is canceled), or place this Effect in Lost Pile (you may take any one card into hand from Reserve Deck; reshuffle). (Immune to Control.)
*Return of the Jedi wrote:Text: Deploy on a site to cancel a Force drain there. Skywalkers are power +1 here. At end of your turn If you control this site, place this Effect in Lost Pile. OR At any time, deploy on Sidious or [Virtual Block 3] Emperor. Opponent's Interrupts with 'Emperor' in game text are canceled and Sidious may not place Jedi out of play. (Immune to Control.)
NOTE: it is also unique now.


See the CBT forum for an After-Action Report on this subject.

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following ruling is an addition to Interrupts - Starting entry in the AR, and is effective immediately. New text is underlined.
Interrupts - Starting
Starting Interrupts are identified by their interrupt icon in the upper-left corner of their card, and "Starting Interrupt" in their subtype box. Starting interrupts (or interrupts with a Starting function) are played after both players' starting locations (or objective and objective starting cards) have been deployed, and before Reserve Decks have been shuffled to draw opening hands, each player may play one starting Interrupt. See Starting the game, Ch. 2. Both players reveal their starting interrupt simultaneously. If both players choose to use a starting interrupt, the player who goes first in the game must resolve his starting interrupt first, then the opponent must resolve his starting interrupt. The player going second thus has an opportunity to view the cards his opponent has chosen before searching for her own. Where the Starting interrupt is placed after it resolves is stated on the actual interrupt card. A 'Starting' function on an Interrupt may never be altered in a way so that it might play as any other subtype of Interrupt (Used, Lost, etc).
This change is being made to prevent an interaction between Look Sir Droids v and Trooper Davin Felth where the Dark Side player could play Look Sir Droids v multiple times in a row to deploy as many always immune to alter effects as they liked.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here is a batch of new errata and card rulings, effective immediately. Text changes or additions to already existing entries or card texts are underlined.


Found Someone You Have & Higher Ground
The first part of this combo card title (as well as the physical card necessary under the V slip) is being changed from Found Someone You Have to A Step Backward.

Begin Landing Your Troops & The Dark Path
The second card title in this combo card is being changed from The Dark Path to Dark Forces. The physical card underneath the V slip remains Begin Landing Your Troops.

The reason for both of the above two card title changes is to pre-empt any issues with card uniqueness and combo cards. The rules team wanted to make sure that there is no confusion on how one half of a combo card's uniqueness affects the other half, and how that interacts with non-combo versions of those cards. Because the above 2 cards were the only combo cards that had different uniqueness between the two card names in their titles, we decided that the best way to deal with this issue would be to change the card titles so that the two parts had consistent uniqueness. Now each card title in these cards is unique.


The following is an addition to Chapter 4 - Control Phase, Presence, & Force Draining in the AR.
Timing Of Responses To Force Drains
Cards use somewhat different phrasing when stating when they can be played in response to a force drain. To standardize the timing of such actions, use the timing indicated below for the following phrases.
• When a card uses the wording “whenever you/opponent force drain(s)” OR “if you/opponent just initiated a force drain”, perform that action during the Response step to the force drain action, after the force drain is initiated but before it resolves.
• When a card uses the wording “if you/opponent just force drained”, perform that action just after the force drain action has resolved, as the force drain action is coming off the stack (see Responding To Coming Off The Stack).

Appendix A - Errata
Firefight
During a battle, if you have weapons at at least 2 sites adjacent to that battle, add 3 to your total power and add one battle destiny. OR For remainder of turn, your scout at an exterior site is power +1 and adds 1 to each of that character's weapon destiny draws.
Outflank
During a battle, if you have weapons at at least 2 sites adjacent to that battle, add 3 to your total power and add one battle destiny. OR For remainder of turn, your biker scout at an exterior site is power +1 and adds 1 to each of that character's weapon destiny draws.
You Do Have Your Moments
At the start of the damage segment during a battle, before any cards have been forfeited, cause all attrition for both sides to be reduced to zero.
Yoda Stew & You Do Have Your Moments
USED: During opponent's turn, take up to four cards from your hand and place them on top of your Force Pile.
LOST: At the start of the damage segment during a battle, before any cards have been forfeited, cause all attrition for both sides to be reduced to zero.


Appendix B - Card Rulings
Master Qui-Gon (v)
The text on this card that triggers “if you just lost Force from an opponent's Effect” may only be used once for each action causing Force loss, regardless of how many units of force are lost to it. For example, if the Light Side player must lose 3 force to Tatooine Occupation, and Master Qui-Gon (v) is active, that player may only upload a non-Control Episode I Interrupt (or place a card from their hand under Credits Will Do Fine) once, not 3 times.
A Few Maneuvers
The phrase “Interrupt may even affect the result immediately after a destiny draw targeting the starfighter's maneuver” means that this card can be played immediately after any destiny draw that is to be used in a comparison (greater than, less than, or equal to) with the starfighter's maneuver (or a calculation that involves said maneuver).
Dark Maneuvers
See A Few Maneuvers.
Dark Maneuvers & Tallon Roll
See A Few Maneuvers.
I Have A Bad Feeling About This
This Interrupt's first function may be played either as a response to a just played Interrupt or Utinni Effect or as a top level action targeting a Utinni Effect already on table. It may re-target only one of the targets of an Interrupt or Utinni Effect. For example, Elis Helrot specifies two targets: a group of characters and a destination site. Thus, you may select either a different destination of the same side of the Force as the original, or a different group of Dark Side characters together at any site (which may not include any of those originally targeted), but not both. An "appropriate" target or location is one which meets the targeting or deployment requirements of the card being retargeted or relocated. Only targets that have already been defined when this interrupt is played may be changed. For example, this card cannot be used to retarget a just played Twi'lek Advisor, because Twi'lek Advisor does not target until its result step when the player searches their Reserve Deck for an Effect. (see Implied Target Rule.)
The second function of this Interrupt does not relocate Utinni Effects, Mobile Effects or Immediate Effects.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

I have a few rulings to post before the weekend. All of them are effective immediately, but none are too earth shattering, so they shouldn't have any effect on planning for this weekend's events. Most are small clarifications or AR proofing issues.

New text is underlined. Removed text is in strikethrough.

Chapter 1
Actions - Before
In certain rare instances, an action will indicate it is a response to an attempt to initiate an action (often by saying it happens "before" the action takes place). When such a "before" action takes place, it occurs before the other action is even initiated. Once the "before" action is completed, the player who had been attempting to initiate the original action may choose to again initiate it, or not to (unless, of course, the action is mandatory).
If you are using a "before" action to preempt one of your opponent's actions, it may require backing up (because this happens outside the normal order of play). You may not back up when you are preempting one of your own actions; you state that you are about to do something, and then play the "before" action.
For example, Dark's first action of the Damage Segment is to forfeit Vader, but Light wants to play You Do Have Your Moments (it plays "before any cards have been forfeited) to reduce all attrition to zero. Play backs up to before Vader was forfeited (he's still on table and no responses were triggered by it). Once the interrupt resolves, Dark again has the choice of forfeiting Vader or performing some other action; he is not required to forfeit Vader (and since it's no longer mandatory to forfeit him, Dark chooses not to).
For example, Dark's first action of the Power Segment is to draw battle destiny, but Light wants to use Zutton's game text (“just before opponent draws battle destiny”) to reduce opponent's total battle destiny by 1. Play backs up to before dark side draws their destiny (no responses to the destiny draw have triggered). Once Zutton's text has resolved, Dark Side may then draw their battle destiny.
[continue original entry]
The above entry is being tweaked with a new example, as You Do Have Your Moments was recently errataed to have a slightly different timing (see my previous post in this thread) such that it is no longer a good example for this sort of action timing.

Chapter 7
Movement - move away
For a character to "move away" (by cards such as Obi-Wan Kenobi, Move Along..., Neb Dulo, Dodge), that character must use personal landspeed (although that character must disembark from a vehicle or landed starship first).
For a vehicle to move away (Keep Your Eyes Open, Hyper Escape), that vehicle must move using landspeed, or any regular sector movement.
For a starship to move away (Keep Your Eyes Open, Hit And Run, Hyper Escape), that starship must move away using hyperspeed, any regular sector movement, or movement to or from a system a Death Star is orbiting.
Appendix B
Grotto Werribee (v)
The two destinies drawn using this card are triggered during the weapons segment when the opponent declares their destiny adding to power or attrition. The destiny that is chosen to subtract from the opponent's total power and attrition is also chosen at this time, and the value is remembered until it is required in the power segment. This is an exception to the normal timing of modifying total power and attrition.
Phylo Gandish (v)
See Grotto Werribee (v)

Dark Forces
When this Effect is deployed, and Alter is played as a response to cancel it, Dark Forces has not had its result yet and thus will not affect that Alter. (See actions.) When this card is used to exclude characters from being the highest-ability character in response to Sense or Alter, the player playing Sense or Alter must immediately choose a new target for their highest-ability character, if possible, otherwise the Interrupt will fail.
Appendix C
Sabacc - Timing & Mechanics
Each hand of sabacc is a single action initiated by the play of the appropriate Interrupt card. Sabacc may not be initiated during battle. Sabacc draws are not destiny draws, and thus do not trigger the game text of cards such as R2-D2 or Tauntaun Bones. Apply all continuous modifiers to the destiny numbers of cards drawn during sabacc. For example, conditions at Kiffex could cause the Tonnika Sisters card to have a sabacc value of four.
Your sabacc hand is considered part of your Life Force. As such, cards from your sabacc hand may be lost to satisfy required Force losses that might occur during sabacc (such as from an 'insert' card). When the Light Side player wins an Imperial starship as a stake in sabacc, that starship becomes a Rebel starship (and vice versa).
When a game of Sabacc has already been initiated and a player is unable to draw the 2 cards necessary to begin the hand, the Sabacc game will immediately end with no result (see Empty Deck Or Pile) and any Sabacc cards already drawn are placed in their owner's Used Pile.
Ruling Explanation Edit: The above entry might seem unnecessary, given the rule in the "Sabacc - Playing sabacc" entry that states Sabacc cannot be initiated unless both players have at least 2 cards in their Reserve deck. However, in rare cases, a Sabacc Interrupt can reach the result step with a player having fewer than 2 cards in reserve while still having been legally initiated, and the rules team decided it was necessary to have a small addedum to the current Sabacc rules in order to explain what happens in such a situation.

For example, Player A plays a Sabacc interrupt while they have at least 2 cards in reserve and their opponent, Player B, has exactly 2 cards in their reserve deck. Sabacc is successfully initiated because both players have the required 2 cards in reserve. Player B doesn't wish to Sabacc with only 2 cards and, after the Sabacc interrupt has been initiated and is considered "just played", decides to play Sense in an attempt to cancel it. Unfortunately for Player B, their Sense destiny draw is too high, and the Sense attempt fails. After Player B passes any further responses to the Sabacc interrupt, it will attempt to resolve normally, even though Player B now has only 1 card in Reserve Deck. Because of the Empty Deck or Pile Rule, once Player B attempts to draw the second card for their Sabacc hand and fails, the Sabacc game will immediately end with no result, and any cards drawn as part of the Sabacc game will go to their owner's Used Pile.

I have also slightly edited the original wording of the new ruling from "the sabacc game will immediately fail" to "the sabacc game will immediately end with no result", as this is more in line with the wording of the Empty Deck or Pile rule and is less likely to be construed as one player winning or losing the hand of Sabacc.

Appendix D
Characteristics – Padawan
A character with printed ability of 6 or higher (or who has completed Jedi Test 6) may never be considered a Padawan.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here are a few extremely minor errata. All are effectively immediately. Removed text is in strikethrough, and new text is underlined.

Appendix A
Geonosis: Separatist Council Room
Light Side Game Text: [unchanged]
Dark Side Game Text: May \/ Gunray. While two senators here, they may use their game text as if in a senate majority.
The above change is being made to make sure the card functions in line with the design intent, and prevents any issues of confusion that could have arisen when players used senators with non-optional continuous effects in tandem with this card's text.
Hoth: Echo Med Lab
Light Side Game Text: [OLD TEXT]: Once per turn, one of your medical droids is deploy -2.
[NEW TEXT]: Once per turn, when you deploy a medical droid, it is deploy -2.
Dark Side Game Text: [unchanged]
The change to the Echo Med Lab is a small text tweak to clarify the function of the site's text. The old text was worded in such a way that it was unclear when and how the modifier was applied - whether the timing of its use was chosen by the light side player or automatic whenever they played a medical droid. The new text makes clear that this is an automatic modifier that triggers the first time a medical droid is deployed by the Light Side player each turn.
Rogue Squadron X-Wing
[OLD GAME TEXT]: While Rebel Aces on table, pilot is forfeit +2 and this starship may not be lost before the damage segment of battle.
[NEW GAME TEXT]: While Rebel Aces on table, pilot is forfeit +2 and, if in battle, this card may not be lost before the damage segment.
This is not a gameplay change, merely a clarification to ensure that the "may not be lost before the damage segment" text clearly functions ONLY during battle.

Appendix C
Captives – Releasing
When your characters are captives, you may release them using cards such as 8D8, Arc Welder, Captive Pursuit, Cell 2187, Detention Block Control Room, I'm Here To Rescue You, Jedi Mind Trick and Someone Who Loves You, as well as the Light Side game text of your opponent's Cloud City: Security Tower or Jabba's Palace: Dungeon. Besides special cards, an escorted captive can also be released by removing the escort. Causing the escort to be forfeited, lost, missing, or Leaves Table will all release the captive. An exception to this is when an escort and a captive are both to be lost or made missing by the same action, that is, any action or rule that affects "all cards" or "all characters" such as blowing away the system, setting off a Thermal Detonator or Program Trap etc. In this case, the escort and the captive both suffer the effects of the action (both of them are lost). Whenever a non-frozen captive is released from an escort, the Light Side player may choose whether the released character:
• Escape — be placed in the Light Side player's Used Pile or
• Rally — if released at a site, be moved to the Light Side of the site location (even aboard a vehicle or starship there)
Imprisoned characters are not escorted, and can only be released using a card that allows you to free a captive, such as I'm Here To Rescue You or the light side game text on Jabba's Palace: Dungeon (simply controlling the location of the prison is not sufficient to release a captive). If a site loses prison status, any captives imprisoned there are immediately released. A captive released from a prison must Rally.
For information on a captive released during a battle, see Participating In Battle, Ch. 6. See Captives – Frozen – Releasing.
The above change is closing a rules loophole - if an escort and captive are both made missing by the same action, they will both go missing, and the added underlined text ensures this is clear in the rules. This clarification is consistent with the previous ruling already made on this subject.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata is issued by the Competitive Balance Team, and is effective immediately:
Hiding In The Garbage(v) wrote:Deploy on table. Place your just lost characters out of play. Once per turn, may deploy a character from Lost Pile. (Immune to your Alter.)
You Will Go To The Dagobah System(v) wrote:Deploy a character, device, starship, vehicle, or weapon to a Dagobah site (regardless of Dagobah deployment restrictions) from Reserve Deck; reshuffle. OR During your control phase, relocate your character to a Dagobah site.

These two cards have been blanked, and are no longer legal for play.


Writeup from the CBT:
Regarding 'You will go to the dagobah system': As the community is aware, this card has been used to create multiple NPE decktypes. This card has been the common denominator in these decks; we therefore felt that the simplest solution was to target this card rather than issue errata to each of the decktypes that it has created.

Regarding 'Hiding in the Garbage': While the spirit of the card is arguably balanced, it is easily circumvented through loops with merely by waiting until late in the game to deploy it. Given this fact, hiding in the garbage has been cited by numerous players as 'NPE'.

In an effort to preserve the world's meta and create an enjoyable playing experience for those in attendance, the CBT has voted to blank these cards. As a reset is impending, we felt that blanking these cards was the most elegant solution available at this time.

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata are issued by the Competitive Balance Team, and are effective immediately:
AT-RT wrote: Power: 3 1 Maneuver: 3 Landspeed: 3
Deploy: 2 Forfeit: 3

May add 1 pilot (suspends permanent pilot). May
move as a 'react.' Permanent pilot provides ability of
2 and adds 2 to power. Dual Laser Cannon
may deploy aboard. When deployed, may \/ Dual Laser
Cannon aboard.


[Clone Army], [Permanent Pilot], [Episode 1]
(wookiee Slaving Operation) / [u]Indentured to the Empire[/u] wrote: {While} this side up, whenever you 'enslave' a character,
opponent must choose to use 2 Force or lose 1 Force.
Once per turn, during battle may add or subtract up to X
from your just drawn destiny, where X = the number of
Kashyyyk locations you control with a slaver. Once per
turn, if you just retrieved Force during battle, may take a
slaver, starship, or vehicle retrieved into hand.

{Flip} this card if opponent controls two Kashyyyk
battlegrounds locations.

After-action reports are forth-coming, but we wanted to get these posted as soon as possible. No further errata are expected before Worlds/ECs.

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

darkjediknight11 wrote:The following errata are issued by the Competitive Balance Team, and are effective immediately:
AT-RT wrote: Power: 3 1 Maneuver: 3 Landspeed: 3
Deploy: 2 Forfeit: 3

May add 1 pilot (suspends permanent pilot). May
move as a 'react.' Permanent pilot provides ability of
2 and adds 2 to power. Dual Laser Cannon
may deploy aboard. When deployed, may \/ Dual Laser
Cannon aboard.


[Clone Army], [Permanent Pilot], [Episode 1]
Sorry about this, there was a an error in carrying over some text for the change. The functionality of the Dual Laser Cannon to deploy and fire on the AT-RT should not have changed. The correct errata text is:
AT-RT wrote:Power: 1 Maneuver: 3 Landspeed: 3
Deploy: 2 Forfeit: 3

May add 1 pilot (suspends permanent pilot). May
move as a 'react.' Permanent pilot provides ability of
2 and adds 2 to power. "T-47" on [Hoth] weapons may be
treated as "AT-RT".

[Clone Army], [Permanent Pilot], [Episode 1]

Sorry for the confusion!

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

changed this announcement thread to global so it's not quite so buried

User avatar
darkjediknight11
Communications Advocate
Posts: 22983
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 5:26 pm
Location: Chicago
GEMP Username: djk11

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by darkjediknight11 »

The following errata comes from the Advocate Council, and is effective IMMEDIATELY.
Aggressive Negotiations (7)

Objective [C]

Set: Virtual Block 9

Icons: Episode I

{Immediately} place X (limit 3) cards from hand on bottom of Force Used Pile then draw up to X+1 cards from Reserve Deck once per game.

{While} this side up, opponent's battle destiny draws are -1. During your control phase, may use 2 Force to take into hand a [Clone Army] character, starship or vehicle from Reserve Deck; reshuffle. Your total power in battles is +Y, and whenever you win a battle, retrieve up to Y Force, where Y = the number of 'complete' [Clone Army] Missions on table..

{Flip} this card if you have no 'complete' [Clone Army] Missions on table.
The flip bonus has been shown to be too powerful, often giving the LS player an "extra turn" of sorts with more force and cards in hand to deploy to the table. This errata tones that down to be less powerful.

We apologize for how close this errata comes before worlds, but believe it is necessary to improve the meta at Worlds, Euros, and the Legacy Format

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

Here is the last batch of rulings from the Rules Team before Worlds. Nearly all of them are minor housekeeping issues, and will not be relevant to any competitive decks. The main one for players preparing for Worlds to focus on is the ruling on Mercenary Slavers, which explains in detail how the "treated as" text works with each Kashyyyk site.

The following AR rulings and errata are effectively IMMEDIATELY. New text is underlined and removed text is in strikethrough.

Chapter 1
Placing Cards In A Hand, Deck, Or Pile
When a rule or game text allows or requires a card to be placed in (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) a player's hand, deck, or pile, and that text does not specify which player's hand, deck, or pile it should be placed in, the card is placed in (or on, on top of, on bottom of, etc.) the hand, deck, or pile belonging to its owner. Also, when an action places multiple cards into a player's hand, deck, or pile, and the card's game text does not state which player may decide the order of those cards, placing each card is considered a competing automatic action, and the order is decided by the player whose turn it is.
The preceding, already existing entry is being added to in order to explain the mechanics of how cards are placed in hands, decks, or piles when multiple cards are being moved, such as with the 7 sides of the Senate objectives.
Never – Location Restrictions
Some cards are, by rule, restricted to certain locations:
Characters may exist only at sites (unless aboard a vehicle or starship). However, characters may not deploy to the Death Star: Trench, and may only exist there aboard a starship.
[continue original entry]
The above entry is being amended in order to prevent a particularly goofy loophole whereby a character could be deployed to, and be present at, the Death Star: Trench without being aboard a starship.
Defined Destiny Values [New Entry]
When a card has a destiny value that is defined in its game text (e.g. it has an asterisk (*) instead of a printed destiny value), its actual destiny is determined whenever that value is being checked by an action (including as a destiny draw, or a supporting card, such as a card stacked on Jedi Test 5 or a race destiny). In addition, an asterisk is never considered a “printed destiny number”.
The prceding entry is being made to explain cards that use an asterisk instead of a destiny value, such as Mace Windu, Master of the Order, and how that interacts with cards that check destiny in different states, as well as cards that compare destiny numbers, such as Spice Mine Operations.

Chapter 9
Starships - Enclosed
All starships are defined as being enclosed. Any vehicle with "enclosed" in its lore is also enclosed. Characters aboard an enclosed vehicle or starship are sheltered from the environment and thus are not present at the location, preventing them from using their personal power adding their personal power to a player's total power at that location, firing character weapons or being targeted by weapons. On an enclosed vehicle or starship, all characters may use ability, forfeit and game text (when appropriate), but only pilots and drivers –not passengers– may apply their ability toward drawing battle destiny. See Landed; Vehicles - open vehicles.
The above entry is being modified to make clear that characters aboard an enclosed starship or vehicle still have personal power that may be used when required, except that they cannot add it to total power at that location.
Weapons - Starship And Vehicle Weapons
A kind of weapon that deploys on a starship or vehicle (it may only be used by that starship or vehicle).
Your starships and vehicles may fire weapons so long as they are piloted (or driven). This counts as the starship or vehicle firing, not the characters on board (thus, a Biker Scout Trooper on a Speeder Bike may use his Imperial Blaster the same turn the Speeder Bike fires its weapon. , even if the weapon's game text mentions that a character is required in order to target with it (thus, a Nikto alone on a Skiff may use his Mos Eisley Blaster the same turn the Skiff fires an Antipersonnel Laser Cannon).
The above entry is being amended to clarify that even if a vehicle weapon says that a character aboard must target with it, the weapon is still considered to be fired by the vehicle, and the character is not considered to be using or firing that weapon.

Appendix A
Moving To Attack Position
Target one starfighter participating in a battle at a system or sector. For remainder of turn, starfighter may not move, is immune to attrition and, if piloted by a Corellian, is power +2.
The above entry is being added to complete a Decipher errata that was made for the unlimited print run of Dagobah, but was apparently overlooked and was never actually added to any rules document.

Appendix B
The following entry replaces the current Appendix B entry for Grotto in its entirety. This change is being made to correct an oversight in the previous ruling for this card, in which destinies to power or attrition that are not announced in the weapons segment were overlooked.
Grotto Werribee
The two destinies drawn using this card trigger whenever the opponent's destiny adding to power or attrition is first initiated. If the opponent's additional destiny is optional (such as with Luke, Strong in the Force (v)) and is declared in the weapons segment, this card's text will also trigger during the weapons segment, just after the opponent's destiny adding action is initiated. However, if the opponent's additional destiny is mandatory (such as with Overseer), the opponent's added destiny does not need to be declared in the weapons segment and does not initiate until the power segment, and in that case, this card's text will not trigger until the opponent's destiny adding action is initiated in the power segment. The choice of which destiny is used to subtract from opponent's attrition and total power is made whenever the two destinies are drawn, and if this occurs in the Weapons Segment the value is remembered until it is required in the Power Segment. This is an exception to the normal timing of modifying total power and attrition.
The following entry is being made to explain how the rather nebulous "treated as" text on Mercenary Slavers interacts with each instance of Trandoshan on all relevant Kashyyyk sites.
Mercenary Slavers
Use the following rules when making use of the text that allows “Trandoshan” on dark side's sites to be treated as “slaver.”:
Kashyyyk: Forest Maze (Dark Side game text): The Dark Side player may choose to use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement on this card during their control phase. If they use this site's game text to cause the Light Side player to lose 1 force (using Mercenary Slavers' text replacement), they may not use the site's game text again that turn without the text replacement.
Kashyyyk: Slaving Camp Headquarters (Light Side game text): If the Light Side player controls this site with a Wookiee, the Light Side player may use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement to make any slaver the Dark Side attempts to deploy to Kashyyyk deploy +1. They may also choose to use the original text on the site and make any Trandoshan the Dark Side attempts to deploy to Kashyyyk deploy +1. The Light Side player may decide if they wish to apply the text replacement from Mercenary Slavers each time the Dark Side player attempts to deploy a slaver or Trandoshan to Kashyyyk.
Kashyyyk: Wookiee Slaving Camp (Dark Side game text): The Dark Side player may choose to use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement with this text when they announce their force drain at this site during their control phase. They may only use the force drain modifier game text once for each force drain there, even if they have both a Trandoshan and a slaver present.
Kashyyyk: Wookiee Slaving Camp (Light Side game text): Even though this game text is on the Light Side player's side of the site, the Dark Side player may choose to use Mercenary Slavers' text replacement with this text when they announce their force drain at this site during their control phase.
The entry below is being made to explain what happens when, say, Xizor has Mandalorian Armor (v) and hits an opponent's card with Trophy on table. Even if Xizor is later hit and Mandalorian Armor (v) is placed in lost pile to restore Xizor (thus making Xizor lose his bounty hunter characteristic), the opponent's card he hit in his ever so short career as a bounty hunter will still be stacked on Trophy once it leaves table, even if Xizor is no longer a bounty hunter when that occurs.
Trophy Of A Bounty Hunter
This card checks if your character is a bounty hunter when the opponent's card is hit, not when it leaves table, so even if your character loses the bounty hunter characteristic in the time between hitting an opponent's card and that card leaving table, the hit card will still be stacked on Trophy of a Bounty Hunter.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following is an addition to Appendix B of the AR, and is effective immediately.
Alderaan (Blown Away)
When the Light Side player deploys this card as their starting location and the Dark Side has revealed Set Your Course For Alderaan, resolve the Dark Side text on this card as follows: If Dark Side chooses to flip immediately, they deploy their objective (on the 0 side) and its associated starting cards as normal, and then immediate flip it to the 7 side. If Dark Side chooses to flip at the end of their next turn, they will deploy their objective normally and flip it at the end of their first turn. This is an exception to the Implied Target Rule.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following is a rules change for RESET FORMAT EVENTS ONLY. It is effective immediately, but ONLY for that format.

New text is underlined and removed text is in strikethough.
Substituted Destinies
A destiny you have not physically drawn. A substituted destiny value is no different than a regular destiny for purposes of the draw (i.e., it counts towards the number of draws you are allowed or required to make, is considered a "destiny draw," has been "just drawn," etc.) with the unique exception that it cannot be modified, canceled, or reset, and does NOT count towards limits. If you are using a value from a different card (such as a starfighter's maneuver with Darklighter Spin) the destiny value is determined the moment the substituted action takes place (using all existing modifiers). Remember, however, that all you are using is the destiny value, no other aspects.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

User avatar
Lukes Bionic Hand
Retired Advocate
Posts: 3196
Joined: January 26th, 2003, 2:44 pm
Location: A realm of existence so far beyond your own you cannot even imagine it
Contact:

Re: Current Rulings/Errata

Post by Lukes Bionic Hand »

The following rulings and errata are effective immediately. New text is underlined.


Chapter 1
Actions - Duration
Some actions result in an effect that will persist for a certain period of time (e.g., is power +2 until end of turn). Once such an action resolves, that effect will continue -regardless of what happens to the card that caused it- until that duration is complete. For example, if Maul's Sith Infiltrator uses its game text to "cloak," then even if its game text is canceled, it will remain cloaked until the stated duration ends.
Most of the time when a value (or other aspect of a card) is changed by an Interrupt or some other non-continuous action a duration will be given (e.g., until end of turn). For instances where it is not stated, follow this guideline:
- If it happens during a battle, it lasts until the end of the battle OR until the affected card leaves play, which ever happens first.
- If it happens outside of battle, it lasts until the card leaves play.
- If it was caused by a weapon (even during battle), it lasts until the card leaves play.
For example, if Dark Jedi Presence doubles the power of Imperials, Power Pivot resets a starships power, or Lando Calrissian, Scoundrel increases his power by a card's destiny, those changes will last only until the end of the battle, because no duration is specified and they're performed during a battle. However, if someone is shot with Amidala's Blaster or a starship is hit by an ion cannon, those changes will last until the card leaves play (or something restores it to normal) because weapons always last indefinitely, even when fired during a battle.
The above change is being made to ensure that effects applied during battle which would normally be expected to persist only while a card is on table end when the card leaves table, even if the battle has not finished.


The following is an addition to the current Actions - Immune entry.
Actions - Immune
[original entry]
An Effect is considered “always immune to Alter” only if it is unconditionally immune to Alter according to its own game text. A card that is “immune to your Alter” has the condition of checking which player's Alter is targeting it, and thus is not considered “always immune to Alter,” and is also considered a “non-immune to alter” effect for purposes of cards like C-3PO (v). Also, any card that checks whether a card is immune to Alter (or conversely, non-immune to Alter) only checks whether or not that card is currently immune, unless it uses the word “always.” This applies similarly to text that checks for immunity to other cards, e.g. Sense, Control, etc.
The above addition is intended to define a few aspects of immunity that were not clear enough previously, namely cards that look for "always immune to x" or "non-immune to x".

Out of Play
Cards which are taken out of the game entirely are placed out of play. An out of play card is not on table and has no effect on game play except:
• Rules, actions, or conditions that specifically refer to its out of play state (e.g. Dannik Jerriko gaining a power bonus from cards he has placed out of play)
Any unique character, vehicle, or starship that is out of play prevents any additional copies of that card (or other versions of its persona) from being played. Unless stated otherwise, 'just placed out of play' actions are applied only to active and inactive cards. The only exception to this is when a card is placed out of play while it is just lost; in that case, treat it as having been active (or inactive) for purposes of its state when placed out of play.
The clarification above is being made to show that cards which affect a specific card placed out of play (eg. I can't believe he's gone responding to Obi-Wan being placed out of play) can only be used when such a card is lost (or just lost) from table, unless otherwise specified. Thus a card with the obi-wan persona that is placed out of play from lost pile would not be a valid target for I can't believe he's gone, unless it was just lost from table.


Chapter 9
Starships - pilot
Aspect of characters that allows them to control and move a starship, combat vehicle or shuttle vehicle (indicated by a pilot icon on the character card). In addition, many starships, combat vehicles and shuttle vehicles have built-in permanent pilots as indicated by the pilot icon on their card. See permanent pilot.
When a pilot character is deployed or moved aboard a vehicle or starship, that character is considered to be acting as a pilot if sufficient pilot capacity is available, unless the deploying player specifies otherwise. You may designate which characters are acting as pilots (that is, you may relocate them as an unlimited move between pilot and passenger capacity) at any time during your deploy or your move phase (if the capacity offers a choice, you may also change it between pilot and passenger as well). Any pilots aboard a starship or vehicle in excess of its pilot capacity are passengers and thus may not enhance the starship or vehicle. Any modifiers to a pilot's personal power do not increase the bonus that pilot grants to a starship or vehicle. While all characters aboard a starship or vehicle apply ability normally, on enclosed vehicles and starships only the pilot (or driver) applies their ability towards drawing battle destiny.
There are two small tweaks to the preceding entry. The first is a slight change allowing a pilot to deploy to either a pilot slot or a passenger slot of a starship or vehicle, even if the ship or vehicle is empty. Previously the rules required that a pilot deploying to an empty ship or vehicle had to pilot, even if there was passenger capacity, and a player might for some reason wish to intentionally deploy the pilot to a passenger slot. The rules team felt that this was an unnecessary requirement and has removed it. However, in the interest of preventing “rules blowouts” regarding pilot/passenger status, if a pilot deploys to an empty ship or vehicle with both pilot and passenger capacity and the deploying player does not specify whether that character is a pilot or a passenger, they are assumed to be piloting. The 2nd change to this entry is a minor clarification to true up this entry with the Movement – Unlimited – Moving Between Capacity Slots, so that it is clear that pilots/passengers changing between capacity slots is, in fact, movement.


Appendix A
Death Star II: Capacitors
Light Side game text: When your starship moves from here, draw movement destiny. Add maneuver (if any). If total destiny <2, starship is lost.
Death Star II: Coolant Shaft
Light Side game text: When your starship moves from here, draw movement destiny. Add maneuver (if any). If total destiny <1, starship is lost.
Both of the above errata are being made to prevent cards like Radiant VII (and other starfighters without maneuver) from being exempt from drawing movement destiny in Death Star II sectors. Such ships are now subject to Death Star II sector movement rules, but when drawing movement destiny, they do not add maneuver to their total, since they don't have any.


Appendix B
Hoth: Main Power Generators
See Hoth energy shield rules
Whenever you deploy this location (even as a starting location or using an objective), you must check to see if the 4th, 5th or 6th marker site is also on the table. If not, you must immediately deploy the 4th marker from your reserve deck (if you are unable to deploy the North Ridge, you may not deploy the Main Power Generators). If you are unable to fulfill this requirement when using the Main Power Generators as your starting location, you must temporarily set this card aside and choose a different starting location.
The above addition clarifies what happens when the Main Power Generators are deployed and no 4th marker is available to be deployed. The underlined section was actually found in the Glossary 2.0, but was missed when the energy shield rules were put in the AR.
The Smoking Gungan wrote:worf plays for canada even though that team has no honor and plays dirty
Image Image

Locked

Return to “Rules FAQ/Archives”